Expand the section navigation mobile menu
2 students working on wiring

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Welcome to the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department!

As teacher-scholars, our faculty are experts in their areas, actively engaged in research activities, and committed to mentoring students in educational and professional endeavors. At the undergraduate level, the ECE Department offers two ABET-accredited degrees, a Bachelor of Science in Engineering (B.S.E.) with a major in electrical engineering and a B.S.E. with a major in computer engineering. Our undergraduate programs emphasize the importance of hands-on experience; many courses are accompanied by laboratory sessions led by faculty and graduate students.

We also offer year-round undergraduate research experiences to introduce students to playing an important role in engineering the future, presenting papers at conferences, and publishing in academic journals.

The Department offers five advanced graduate degrees: Master of Science (M.S.) in Electrical and Computer Engineering, M.S. in Embedded Systems, M.S. in Mechatronics, a Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and a Ph.D. in Systems Engineering. Graduate students also obtain hands-on experience in laboratories created in partnership with companies and government agencies. Graduate teaching and research assistantships are available.

The department has teaching and research labs for coursework, thesis work, research, and corporate use including an Automotive Antenna Range and a Scanning Electron Microscope sponsored by the National Science Foundation’s Major Research Instrumentation Program.

Osamah Rawashdeh, Ph.D., Chair
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
School of Engineering and Computer Science
(248) 370-2866
[email protected]

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
446 Engineering Center
(248) 370-2177
Fax: (248) 370-4633
[email protected]

Advisory Board

The Electrical and Computer Engineering External Advisory and Development Board assists the department in enhancing its educational and research programs and ensuring their relevance to current and emerging technological needs.

Board members are:

Mahmoud Al-Nsour, Ph.D., Global Manager, Advanced E/E Architecture & Systems, Stellantis

Atilla Bulmus, OEM Business Development Lead Principal Field Application Engineer, Infineon Technologies North America Corp.

Dona Burkard, Consultant, Former: Research Manager, Ford Motor Company; Global Senior Manager, General Motors Company; Vice President, Burkard Industries 

Anthony D. Cooprider, Ph.D., Executive Technical Leader & Chief Architect FNV4, Ford Motor Company

Hussein Dourra, Ph.D., SAE Fellow Senior Staff Powertrain Specialist, Corporate Engineering and R&D, Magna International

Chris Van Dan Elzen, Vice President, Radar Product Area, Magna International

Mike Hichme, Executive Director, User Experience, General Motors

Greg Hudas, Ph.D., DoD Program Manager, Advanced Robotics for Manufacturing (ARM)
Senior Research Engineer, U.S. Army DEVCOM Ground Vehicle Systems Center-Ground Vehicle Robotics

Maha Sabra, Ph.D., Lead Technical Product Manager, Aptiv

Sean Simpson, Principal, Yamaha Motor Ventures

Sanjay Singh, Chief Executive Officer, New Eagle

Steve Polakowski, President, ESG Automotive Inc.

Paul VanOphem, President, CSM Products, Inc.

School of Engineering and Computer Science

Engineering Center, Room 301
115 Library Drive
Rochester , MI 48309-447
(location map)
Dean's Office (248) 370-2217
Academic Advising (248) 370-2201