Expand the section navigation mobile menu


The Oakland University Pawley Lean Institute will award the Dennis and Carlotta Pawley Endowed Professorship in Lean Learning to support research that will advance knowledge and theories of Lean learning and/or facilitate the work of University faculty to educate students about Lean principles. The faculty recipient will be given the honorary title of “Pawley Professor in Lean Studies” for three consecutive years.

Eligibility/Application Requirements
Applicants must:

  • Be a faculty member who encourages Lean learning educational activities, research and/or outreach at Oakland University
  • Submit a proposal summarizing their plans and budget requirements that involve curriculum/program development, research and/or service
  • Submit a letter of support for their proposed project(s) from the faculty’s department chair

Evaluation Criteria
Proposals will be evaluated based on the level of innovation, significance to the advancement of lean knowledge and theory, as well as practical relevance to current lean research.

Selection Process
The selection committee includes the deans of the schools of Business Administration, Education and Human Services, and Engineering and Computer Science. The selection committee will annually review a list of eligible applicants and determine the number and amount of awards each year. The award will start the following fall semester.

Submission Details
Interested applicants should send a copy of their proposal and any relevant support documentation to the mailing address below:

Dennis L. Wade
Director, Pawley Lean Institute
Oakland University, 460K Pawley Hall
2200 Squirrel Road
Rochester, MI 48309-­4401
[email protected]

Pawley Lean Institute

Pawley Hall, Room 460K
456 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-4542