Expand the section navigation mobile menu

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

An aerial photo of Oakland University, featuring Elliott Tower.

Meet the Faculty and Staff

The department of Modern Languages and Literatures has 17 full-time and 23 part-time faculty members with one administrative staff member. We maintain an active research environment and are committed to mentoring and assisting students to achieve excellence in the modern languages that we teach.

Department Chair and Staff

Department Office

Phone: (248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170
O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Oakland University
Rochester, Michigan 48309-4482

Department Chairperson

Professor Stephen Filler 
375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2070
filler@oakland.edu

Administrative Staff

Ms. Marilyn Uban
Administrative Secretary
373 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2061
uban@oakland.edu

Arabic

Faculty in Arabic

Malik Balla
Adjunct Associate professor
balla@oakland.edu
310 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4606

Dunya Mikhail
Special Lecturer
mikhail@oakland.edu
357 O'Dowd Hall

Chinese

Faculty in Chinese

Hsiang-Hua (Melanie) Chang, Ph.D. 张相华
Associate Professor
Director for "Chinese Language and Culture in Taiwan" and Partnership Program at National Dong Hwa University
Advisor for "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University, and GEO and CIEE programs in China, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan
chang23@oakland.edu
368 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4248

Mingming Liu, Ph.D. 刘明明
Assistant Professor
Director for "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University
mingmingliu@oakland.edu
354 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2050

Chensi Wang, M.A. 王晨思
Lecturer
chensiwang@oakland.edu
355 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060


Asian Professors Emeriti

Carlo Coppola
Professor Emerita of Hindi-Urdu

Munibur Rahman
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Hindi-Urdu

Amitendranath Tagore
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chinese

French

Faculty in French

Dikka Berven
Special Instructor
Advisor for GEO program in Angers, France,
and CIEE programs in Toulouse, Rennes and Paris, France
dberven@oakland.edu
353 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2043

Rebecca Josephy
Assistant Professor
rjosephy@oakland.edu
352 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2081

Jennifer Law-Sullivan
Associate Professor
Director of University of Orléans / Oakland University Exchange Program
Advisor for study abroad program in Montréal, Canada
law@oakland.edu
366 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2080


Adjunct Faculty

Bernadette Donohue
Special Lecturer
donohue@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Jamila Doppke
Special Lecturer
doppke@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Christine Mouawad-Azzi
Lecturer
cmouawadazzi@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Maissa Saker
Special Lecturer
msaker@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Emily Stow
Special Lecturer
stow@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060


Professors Emeriti

Dolores Burdick
Professor Emerita

Stacey Hahn
Professor Emerita

Don R. Iodice (in memoriam)
Professor Emeritus

David Jaymes
Professor Emeritus

German

Faculty in German

Angineh Djavadghazaryans
Assistant Professor
djavadghazaryan@oakland.edu
350 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2063

Anja Wieden
Associate Professor
Director of the Universität Oldenburg / Oakland University Student Exchange Program
Director of the Summer Study Abroad Program at Kapito in Münster
wieden@oakland.edu
358 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2071


Adjunct Faculty

Tanita Ey
Lecturer
ey@oakland.edu
133 O'Dowd Hall

Cornelia Schaible
Special Lecturer
schaible@oakalnd.edu
357 O'Dowd Hall

Ulrike Treder
Special Lecturer
treder@oakland.edu
133 O'Dowd Hall


Professors Emeriti

Jack Barthel
Professor Emeritus

Christopher Clason
Professor Emeritus

Renate Gerulatitis
Professor Emerita

Barbara Mabee
Professor Emerita

Jack R. Moeller (in memoriam)
Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Robert Simmons
Professor Emeritus

Hebrew

Faculty in Hebrew

Nira Lev
Lecturer
lev@oakland.edu
376 O'Dowd Hall

Italian

Faculty in Italian

Caterina Pieri
Special Lecturer
Advisor for Italian Study Abroad Programs
pieri@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4304

Gregory Tokarski
Special Lecturer
tokarski@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4304
122 O'Dowd Hall

Japanese

Faculty in Japanese

Robert Del Greco
Assistant Professor
delgreco@oakland.edu
359 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2066

Stephen Filler
Associate Professor
Director of Nanzan University / Oakland University Exchange Program,
Advisor for Japan Center for Michigan Universities (JCMU) and CIEE study-in-Japan programs
filler@oakland.edu
375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2070

Akiko Kashiwagi-Wood
Associate Professor
kashiwag@oakland.edu
360 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4565


Adjunct Faculty

Yukiko Arima
Special Lecturer
arima@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2732
111 O'Dowd Hall

Michele Plattenberger
Special Lecturer
plattenb@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2732
111 O'Dowd Hall

Robert Thompson
Lecturer
rethompson@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2732
111 O'Dowd Hall


Professors Emeriti

Seigo Nakao
Professor Emeritus

Spanish

Faculty in Spanish

Adolfo Campoy-Cubillo
Associate Professor
campoycu@oakland.edu
314 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2073

Mary Hartson
Associate Professor
hartson@oakland.edu
312 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2001

Daniel Lorca
Associate Professor
lorca@oakland.edu
359 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2007

Aldona Pobutsky
Professor
pobutsky@oakland.edu
356 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2069

Raquel Prieta
Assistant Professor of Foreign Language Education
rprieta@oakland.edu
373 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2153

Cecilia Saenz-Roby
Associate Professor
saenzrob@oakland.edu
364 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2072


Adjunct Faculty

Elizabeth Anderson
Lecturer
eanderso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4129

Fatima Ferreira
Special Lecturer
ferreira@oakland.edu
248) 370-2060

Tara Gardner
Special Lecturer
gardner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4258

Angela Miliken Arrieta
Special Lecturer
milliken@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Lisa Montes
Lecturer
lmontes@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Maria Ploof
Special Lecturer
ploof@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Dario Puñal
Lecturer
dpunal@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Jose Saenz
Special Lecturer
saenz@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2072

Mayra Schmalzried
Special Lecturer
schmalzr@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Emily Stow
Special Lecturer
stow@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Eyda Vaughn
Lecturer
eevaughn@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060

Holly Walker-Cote
Special Lecturer
walker2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060


Professors Emeriti

Estela Moreno-Mazolli
Professor Emerita

Frances Meuser
Professor Emerita

Ronald F. Rapin
Professor Emeritus

Carmen Urla
Professor Emerita

Julia Urla
Retired Special Instructor