Political Science

Anibal House, Room 211
630 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2352

An Oakland University professor smiling at the camera, with his hand on a chair in a classroom.

Meet the Faculty/Staff

Courses in the Political Science Department are taught by a full-time faculty of 17, many of whom are nationally or internationally recognized experts in their fields of study.

Several of our faculty, in addition to teaching in our undergraduate programs, also teach in the Master of Public Administration program.

Political Science Faculty

Shelly Appleton
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. - University of Minnesota

Cristian Cantir
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kansas
cantir@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2377
208 Anibal

Douglas Carr
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kentucky
carr@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2972
205 Anibal

David Dulio
Professor
Internship Director, Political Science & International Relations
Ph.D. - American University
ddulio@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2523
215 Anibal


Cody Eldredge 
Assistant Professor and Pi Sigma Alpha Advisor
Ph.D. - University of Colorado at Boulder
celdredge@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3660
218 Anibal

Alan Epstein
Special Instructor
Ph.D. - Cornell University
epstein@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2358
204 Anibal

Matthew Fails
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Missouri
fails@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2765
216 Anibal

Robert Goldstein
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. - University of Chicago
goldstei@oakland.edu

Diane Hartmus
Associate Professor
Internship Director, Public Administration
Juris Doctorate - Boston College Law School
hartmus@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2375
214 Anibal

Sung-eun Kim
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. - SUNY - Albany
skim4@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2628
217 Anibal


John Klemanski
Professor
Ph.D. - Wayne State University
klemansk@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2355
209 Anibal

Paul Kubicek
Professor
Ph.D. - University of Michigan
kubicek@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2363
201 Anibal

Laura Landolt
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Arizona, Tucson
landolt@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2365
213 Anibal

Roger Larocca
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Chicago
larocca@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2353
206 Anibal

Nicole Asmussen Mathew
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Rochester
nmathew@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4365
220 Anibal

Christian McDavid
Office Assistant II
cnmcdavid@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2352
211 Anibal

Claudia Petrescu
Chief Strategy Officer
Ph.D. - University of Pittsburgh
cpetrescu@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3169
520 O'Dowd Hall

J.P. (Pat) Piskulich
Associate Professor/MPA Director
Ph.D. - SUNY - Binghamton
ppiskuli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2454
219 Anibal

C. Michelle Piskulich
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. - SUNY - Binghamton

Terri Towner
Professor 
Ph.D. - Purdue University
towner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2351
202 Anibal

Peter F. Trumbore
Professor & Chair
Ph.D. - University of Connecticut
ptrumbor@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4907
212 Anibal

Julie Walters
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - George Mason University School of Public Policy
J.D. - Indiana University School of Law
walters@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2362
156 Dodge Hall

MPA Faculty
Douglas Carr
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - University of Kentucky
carr@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2972 

Diane Hartmus
Associate Professor and Internship Director
J.D. - Boston College
hartmus@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2375 

Sung-eun Kim
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. - SUNY - Albany
skim4@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2628

John S. Klemanski
Professor
Ph.D. - Wayne State University
klemansk@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2355

C. Michelle Piskulich
Associate Professor and Associate Provost Academic Affairs
Ph.D. - State University of New York (Binghamton)
piskulic@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4945

J. P. (Pat) Piskulich
Associate Professor and MPA Director
Ph.D. - State University of New York (Binghamton)
ppiskuli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2454

Julie Walters
Associate Professor
Ph.D. - George Mason University
walters@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2362

MPA Program Coordinator

TBA

(248) 370-4117

Graduate Assistants

Elliott Stepanian
estepanian@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2364

Elizabeth Scafe
escafe@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2674