School of Nursing

Human Health Building, Room 3027
433 Meadow Brook Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4452
(location map)
(248) 364-8733
nrsinfo@oakland.edu
M-F 8 a.m.-5 p.m. closed daily 12 p.m.-1 p.m.

Staff/Faculty Directory and Faculty Research

The School of Nursing faculty have the skills, experience, expertise and passion to educate the nursing students in our undergraduate and graduate programs. With the rigorous curriculum that combines didactic education with hands-on experiences including simulation.

Academic Advising Office

If you are interested in learning more about admission criteria, the application process, degree requirements and important dates, please attend one of our Program Advising Sessions. These sessions are offered regularly for each program track. The information provided at these sessions is useful for those students who want to learn more about the academic programs offered by the School of Nursing before applying to Oakland University.

Once you have been admitted, you are assigned an academic adviser who will assist you in developing academic, career and life goals and establish plans to accomplish these goals. This is a continuous process of discovery, clarification and evaluation whereby advisers assist students in identifying possibilities, assessing alternatives and weighing the consequences of decisions.

Make an appointment with an academic adviser for your specific program by calling (248) 364-8733 or email nrsinfo@oakland.edu. See a calendar of program advising/info sessions.

woman in a black and white shirt and glasses smiling at the cameraApril Thomas-Powell, PhD
Director of Advising and Student Services
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8711
thomaspo@oakland.edu
woman in a red shirt smiling at the cameraSarah Mullin, MA, LPC
Senior Adviser,
Basic-BSN track students who started at OU as freshmen
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8770
mullin@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraKatherine McMullen, MSEd., LPC
Academic Adviser,
Basic-BSN track starting at OU as transfer students
3031 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8854
mcmullen@oakland.edu
woman in a green shirt smiling at the cameraPatrina Carper, MA
Senior Adviser,
RN-BSN Degree Completion Sequence for RNs
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8766
carper@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraEmily Stepanian-Bennett MA, GCDF
Academic Adviser, Graduate programs
3026B Human Health Building
(248) 364-8782
fox2@oakland.edu
woman in a black blazer and glasses smiling at the camera

Laura Christensen Saims, MTD
Academic Adviser, Accelerated Second Degree
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8378
lmchrist@oakland.edu

Amanda Silvestri

Amanda Silvestri, M.Ed
Academic Adviser, Pre-Nursing
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8755
amandasilvestri@oakland.edu

Ben Craine
Records Coordinator, Nursing 
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8739
craine@oakland.edu

Debbie Rumley, MA
Academic Advising Assistant
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8733
drumley@oakland.edu

Staff
woman in a blue shirt and blazer smiling at the cameraKathryn Amejka Goodes
Director of Clinical Services
Human Health Building, Room 3016
(248) 364-8713
ksamejka@oakland.edu
Jill Asselin
Clinical Data and Procedure Specialist
Human Health Building, Room 3003
(248) 364-8768
jasselin@oakland.edu
Justin Ballard
Information Technology Support
Human Health Building, Room 3026A
(248) 370-4890
jjballard@oakland.edu

Jennifer Cepnick
Continuing Education Coordinator
Human Health Building
(248) 364-8704
jecepni2@oakland.edu

Nydia Chatman
Nursing Workforce Diversity Project Coordinator
Human Health Building, Room 3037
(248) 364-8709
nchatman@oakland.edu

Kristen Damiano
Marketing Coordinator
Human Health Building, Room 3021
(248) 364-8759
kdamiano@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt with colorful stripes, smiling at the cameraSusan Davis
CRNA Program Coordinator
Human Health Building, Room 3022
(248) 364-8774 
davis@oakland.edu
Gina Giannosa
Clinical Services Coordinator
Human Health Building, Room 3018
(248) 370-4992
Woman in black jacket smiling at camera
Tanya Griffith
Corporate and Foundation Relations Officer
(248) 364-6120
tgriffith@oakland.edu
Morgan Jackson
Faculty Secretary and Undergraduate Program Assistant
Human Health Building, Room 3060
(248) 364-8706
mrjackson@oakland.edu
 Kenyettera Junior
Business Manager/Financial Analyst
Human Health Building, Room 3056
(248) 364-8751
junior@oakland.edu 
Celia Knobelsdorf, MEd
Assistant to Associate Dean
Human Health Building, Room 3005
(248) 364-8716
caknobelsdorf@oakland.edu
Woman in gray sweater smilingKate Lionas
Event Coordinator
Human Health Building, Room 3057
(248) 364-8723
klionas@oakland.edu

Rob LupferRob Lupfer
Information Technology Specialist
Human Health Building, Room 2029
(248) 364-8728
rlupfer@oakland.edu
Paula McCulloch
Clinical Data and Procedure Specialist
Human Health Building, Room 3017
(248) 364-8747
pmcculloch@oakland.edu

Woman in gray suit smiling at camera

Jackie McIntosh
Director of Philanthropy
Human Health Building, Room 3058
(248) 364-8725
jmcintosh@oakland.edu

Diane Noack, MSN, RN
Director of Nursing Laboratories
Human Health Building, Room 4005A
(248) 364-8734
noack@oakland.edu

woman in a red shirt smiling at the camera

Alicia Nott
Assistant to Assistant Dean
Human Health Building, Room 3053
(248) 364-8743
nott@oakland.edu

Woman in white shirt smiling at camera

Julie Rank
Executive Secretary
Human Health Building, Room 3002
(248) 364-8787
jrank@oakland.edu

woman wearing glasses and a black sweater smiling at the camera

Michele St. Denis
Assistant Dean
Human Health Building, Room 3054
(248) 364-8717
stdenis@oakland.edu

woman in a blue patterned shirt smiling at the camera

Cortney Tokarczyk, BBA
Payroll Specialist
Human Health Building, Room 3055
(248) 364-8702
tokarczyk@oakland.edu

woman in a gray shirt smiling at the camera

Colleen Tomaszewski
Directors Assistant
Human Health Building, Room 3059
(248) 364-8666
tomaszewski@oakland.edu

NingNing Zheng
IT Manager
Human Health Building, Room 3025
(248) 364-8777
nzheng@oakland.edu

Faculty
Full Time Faculty
For all other faculty, please refer to the directory.

M. Gosha Baumann, DNP, APRN, ACNP-AC, CNOR
Visiting Assistant Professor
2020 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8749

mbaumann@oakland.edu

woman in gray jacket smiling at cameraKelly Berishaj, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, SANE-A
Special Instructor with security
Forensic Nursing Director
2019 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8750
berishaj@oakland.edu
woman with red hair smiling at the cameraAndrea C. Bittinger, DNP, CRNA
Instructor of Practice
Clinical Coordinator
Oakland University- Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia
2057 Human Health Building
(248) 370-4753 
Primary email: bitting2@oakland.edu     
Woman in blue smiling at cameraRebecca Boni, PhD, RN, ACCNS-AG, OCN
Assistant Professor

2022 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8741
rboni@oakland.edu
woman in a gray blazer smiling at the cameraCarrie Lynn Buch, PhD, RN
Associate Dean
Associate Professor
3010 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8716
buch@oakland.edu
woman in an orange shirt smiling at the cameraPatricia Cameron, PhD, MS, RN
Assistant Professor

2043 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8784
petroulias@oakland.edu
woman in a blue shirt and glasses smiling at the cameraTeresa Chahine, MSN, RN, PMHNP-BC
Instructor of Practice
2040 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8721
chahine@oakland.edu
woman in a dark patterned shirt smiling at the cameraNicole Clark, DNP, RN, APRN, FNP-BC 
Instructor of Practice
Family NP Lead Faculty
2013 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8763
clark238@oakland.edu
woman wearing a black shirt, smiling at the cameraKaren S Dunn, PhD, RN, FGSA 
Full Professor 
3041 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8746
kdunn@oakland.edu
A headshot of Olga Ehrlich.

Olga Ehrlich, PhD, RN, CHPN
Assistant Professor
2003 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8742
oehrlich@oakland.edu

Elizabeth Eisenhauer, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
2044 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8856
eisenhauer@oakland.edu

woman in a blue shirt smiling at the cameraJudi Fouladbakhsh, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, AHN-BC, CHTP
Associate Professor
2008 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8731
jmfoulad@oakland.edu
woman in a black and white shirt smiling at the cameraEllen Gajewski, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, ACNS-BC 
Assistant Professor
2030 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8735
emgajews@oakland.edu

Priscilla Garrett, MSN
Visiting Instructor 
1019 Human Health Building
(248) 370-4847
pgarrett@oakland.edu

Raji George, DNP, FNP-BC, RN
Instructor of Practice
2021 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8312
rgeorge3@oakland.edu

woman wearing a black shirt and glasses, smiling at the camera

Toni Glover, PhD, FNP-BC, GNP-BC, ACHPN
Associate Professor
2002 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8712
tglover@oakland.edu
woman in a purple shirt, smiling at the cameraMary Golinski, PhD, CRNA
Associate Professor

Assistant Director
Oakland University-Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia

3020 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8776
golinski@oakland.edu
woman in a gray shirt smiling at the camera

Claudia Grobbel, DNP, RN, CNL
Associate Professor 

MSN Clinical Nurse Leader Track Coordinator
3038 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8722
cgrobbel@oakland.edu 

woman in a blue shirt in front of a window, smiling at the camera Cheniece Harris, DNP, MSN, RN
Instructor of Practice
2033 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8779
lyons@oakland.edu
Meghan HarrisMeghan Harris, PhD, RN
Associate Professor

Lead for Transition of Graduate Program Special Projects
3048 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8762
harris23@oakland.edu 
woman in a pink shirt, smiling at the cameraDeana Hays, DNP, FNP-BC 
Assistant Professor
3052 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8765
hays@oakland.edu 
woman in a red shirt smiling at the camera

Kimberly Holka, DNP, MSN, MSA, RN, CNE, APHNC
Special Instructor
RN/BSN Completion Sequence Track Coordinator
2038 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8754
holka@oakland.edu

woman in a light blue shirt smiling at the cameraAnne Hranchook, DNP, CRNA
Associate Professor

Director
Oakland University-Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia

3024 Human Health Building
Oakland: (248) 364-8708
Beaumont: (248) 898-1270
hranchoo@oakland.edu
woman in a purple shirt, smiling at the cameraCheryl Jusela, DNP, ANP-BC, NP-C, CNE
Assistant Professor
2016 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8769
cjusela@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraZorica Kauric-Klein, PhD, RN, ANP, ACLS/BCLS
Associate Professor 
3015 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8745
zkauricklein@oakland.edu

Erin Kennedy, DNP, RN
Assistant Professor
2017 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8724
ekennedy@oakland.edu

Patrick Kennedy

Patrick Kennedy, DNP, RN, ACNPC-AG
Instructor of Practice
MSN Adult Gerontological Acute Care NP Lead Faculty
2032 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8313
pkennedy@oakland.edu

woman in a white button down shirt smiling at the cameraPeg Kennedy, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Instructor of Practice
2012 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8736
mmkenned@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt and pink sweater smiling at the cameraSuha Al-OBalli Kridli, PhD, RN 
Full Professor 
2004 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8773
kridli@oakland.edu
woman in a pink and black patterned shirt smiling at the cameraJulie Kruse, PhD, RN, CNE, MSCCN
Associate Professor 
3045 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8719
juliekruse@oakland.edu
woman in white sweater smiling at camera

Linda McDonald, DNAP, CRNA
Instructor of Practice
Clinical Coordinator
Oakland University-Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia
2055 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8715

woman in a white shirt smiling at the camera, standing outside in front of green treesCarly Miller, DNP, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Instructor of Practice
2031 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8738
crmiller23@oakland.edu
woman in a white and black jacket smiling at the camera

Renee Mirovsky, DNP, RN, ANP-BC 
Instructor of Practice
MSN Adult Gerontological Primary Care NP Lead Faculty
2014 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8767 
mirovsky@oakland.edu

kristen munyan

Kristen Munyan, DNP, RN, FNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Undergraduate Program Director

3004 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8727
kmunyan@oakland.edu

A headshot of Katie Mysen.Katie Mysen, DNP, RN, APRN, FNP-BC
Instructor of Practice 
2034 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8761
klmysen@oakland.edu
woman in a red and white shirt smiling at the cameraSarah E. Newton, PhD, RN
Associate Professor 

3040 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8771
newton@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraJulia Paul, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, NP, CCRN, CNS, CWS
Associate Professor
3044 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8796
 jcpaul@oakland.edu
woman in a black jacket and blue scarf smiling at the camera

Laura I. Pittiglio, PhD, RN  
Associate Professor
Post Masters DNP and PhD Program Coordinator
3039 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8756
pittigli@oakland.edu

Lynda Poly-Droulard

Lynda Poly-Droulard, Ed.D, M.Ed, MSN, RN, CNE
Assistant Professor of Practice
Accelerated Second Degree and Basic Tracks Coordinator
3046 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8757
polydrou@oakland.edu

Laura Rodgers DNAP CRNA v3Laura Rodgers, DNAP, CRNA, CHSE
Instructor of Practice
Simulation Coordinator
Oakland University-Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia

2063 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8758

Kelly Shakoor, DNP, MS, RN, FNP-BC
Visiting Assistant Professor

1007 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8726
kshakoor@oakland.edu

woman with blond hair and blue jacket smiling at camera

Lori Shannon, DNAP, CRNA
Instructor of Practice
Clinical Coordinator
Oakland University-Beaumont Graduate Program of Nurse Anesthesia

2061 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8707
lshannon@oakland.edu

kathleen spencerKathleen Spencer, DNP, RN, MA, ACNS-BC, CNE
Special Instructor with security

2036 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8748
kwspence@oakland.edu
woman in a black sweater smiling at the cameraCarolyn Tieppo, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, PSN 
Special Instructor with security
2042 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8714
cktieppo@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt and purple scarf smiling at the camera

Stephanie Vallie, MSN, RN 
Special Instructor with security
Simulation Coordinator 
4087 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8772
vallie@oakland.edu

Alisha Venters, DNP, RN, MSN-Ed
Visiting Assistant Professor

1008 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8804
alishaventers@oakland.edu

Special Lecturers

Karlee Bally
3019 Human Health Building
karleebally@oakland.edu

Tiffany Calderon 
3019 Human Health Building
tccalder@oakland.edu

Teresa Conerly, MSN, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
tconerly@oakland.edu

Laura Fodor 
3019 Human Health Building
lfodor@oakland.edu

Man in glasses and lab coat facing cameraRandon Jenkins, DNP, RN, AGPCNP-BC 
3019 Human Health Building
randonjenkins@oakland.edu

Penelope Kresmery, MS, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
pjkresmery@oakland.edu

Hila Levy, MSN, BA, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
hlevy@oakland.edu

Amanda Novak, MSN, RN, CPN 
3019 Human Health Building
amandanovak@oakland.edu

Carmina Pouncy, DNP, RN, AAS 
3019 Human Health Building
carminapouncy@oakland.edu

Sharon Ruthenberg, DNP, MSN, RN
3019 Human Health Building
sheskitt@oakland.edu

Leadership
woman wearing a black jacket, standing outside with green trees behind her, smiling at the cameraJudy Didion, PhD, RN
Dean
3001 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8787
jdidion@oakland.edu
woman in a gray blazer smiling at the cameraCarrie Lynn Buch, PhD, RN
Associate Dean
3010 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8716
buch@oakland.edu
woman wearing glasses and a black sweater smiling at the cameraMichele St. Denis, BA
Assistant Dean
3053 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8717
stdenis@oakland.edu
woman in a black and white shirt and glasses smiling at the cameraApril Thomas-Powell, PhD
Director of Advising and Student Services 
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8711
thomaspo@oakland.edu
Faculty Research

This Research page aims to inform faculty, colleagues, current and future students, and community members of the research expertise and activities at the Oakland University School of Nursing. Research studies and projects in progress, past research, and research interests are described in the OU SON Research Portfolio which includes Research Summaries of individual faculty and links for further information. This page also provides information and access to the Research Focus and Support Group (RFSG), highlighting the group goals, activities, and outcomes which aim to promote research-creation and collaboration. The RFSG documents offer insights into ongoing research discussion, new and continuing community research partnerships, potential funding opportunities, innovative research methodology, and collaborative opportunities.

Overview

Areas of research emphasis at the School of Nursing:

  • Pain & Symptom management: Improving Quality of Life
  • Complementary & integrative Healthcare: Yoga, Qigong & Taiji
  • Vulnerable Populations: Sexual assault, HIV, Aging, Cancer
  • Transformational leadership: Quality healthcare
  • Education Innovations: Simulation, Caring & Diversity
  • Omics: Genomics, Metabolomics & Nutrigenomics
RFSG

Mission and Goals
The Research Focus & Support Group (RFSG) was created in 2016 by Dr. Judith M. Fouladbakhsh and Dr. Julia Paul to promote dialogue about ongoing and planned research initiatives among faculty at the Oakland University School of Nursing (OU SON). The group aims to provide support and encouragement for research activities through a faculty forum for open dialogue. The RFSG promotes the sharing of research information related to study needs, designs and methodology, data analysis, funding opportunities, and potential collaborations. The meetings and dialogue also allow for interconnections among research-minded individuals, promoting involvement across studies, and increasing the potential for working together on grant submissions, manuscript preparation, and other modes of information dissemination. The overall aim is to promote and support research at the OU SON.

Activities
The RFSG meets monthly throughout the academic year and submits reports to the Oakland University School of Nursing Faculty Assembly. Various topics of interest have been discussed at the meetings, information has been shared, and a project to identify research expertise has been completed (2018). A study using Qualtrics was used during the academic year 2017-2018, followed by individual faculty discussions to identify ongoing faculty research, past studies and research interests, and has been compiled in the Research Portfolio. This resource is available to current and future students, faculty, and colleagues such as community partners through the OU SON website.

Meetings
Meetings are open to all faculty and students (by invitation). Guests may be invited to present relevant information. Meeting schedule will be posted on the Research Website.

Nursing Research Portfolio

The Oakland University Nursing Research Portfolio includes summaries of research studies currently in progress, past completed projects, and research interests of individual faculty members at the School of Nursing. This portfolio was developed using a Qualtrics survey completed by faculty during the Fall semester of 2017, with follow-up in-person and email dialogue conducted by the co-chairs of the Research Focus and Support Group (RFSG). The Portfolio will be updated yearly to reflect changes in research endeavors and development of new initiatives.

The Nursing Research Portfolio can be used to explore research expertise and experiences of faculty to guide new projects, stimulate development of collaborations, and inform current and potential students seeking faculty research mentors.

Access the Nursing Research Summaries (Fouladbahkhsh & Paul, 2020).