School of Nursing

Human Health Building, Room 3027
433 Meadow Brook Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4452
(location map)
(248) 364-8733
nrsinfo@oakland.edu
M-F 8 a.m.-5 p.m. closed daily 12 p.m.-1 p.m.

Staff/Faculty Directory and Faculty Research

The School of Nursing faculty have the skills, experience, expertise and passion to educate the nursing students in our undergraduate and graduate programs. With the rigorous curriculum that combines didactic education with hands-on experiences including simulation.

Academic Advising Office

If you are interested in learning more about admission criteria, the application process, degree requirements and important dates, please attend one of our Program Advising Sessions. These sessions are offered regularly for each program track. The information provided at these sessions is useful for those students who want to learn more about the academic programs offered by the School of Nursing before applying to Oakland University.

Once you have been admitted, you are assigned an academic adviser who will assist you in developing academic, career and life goals and establish plans to accomplish these goals. This is a continuous process of discovery, clarification and evaluation whereby advisers assist students in identifying possibilities, assessing alternatives and weighing the consequences of decisions.

Make an appointment with an academic adviser for your specific program by calling (248) 370-4253 or email nrsinfo@oakland.edu. See a calendar of program advising/info sessions.

man in a blue button down shirt smiling at the cameraJason Bradley Pennington
Director of Advising
3036 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8733
penningt@oakland.edu
woman in a black and white shirt and glasses smiling at the cameraApril Thomas-Powell, PhD
Academic Adviser,
Accelerated Second Degree Track
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8711
thomaspo@oakland.edu
woman in a red shirt smiling at the cameraSarah Mullin, MA, LPC
Senior Adviser,
Basic-BSN track students who started at OU as freshmen
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8770
mullin@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraKatherine McMullen, MSEd., LPC
Academic Adviser,
Basic-BSN track starting at OU as transfer students
3031 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8854
mcmullen@oakland.edu
woman in a green shirt smiling at the cameraPatrina Carper, MA
Academic Adviser,
RN-BSN Degree Completion Sequence for RNs
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8766
carper@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraEmily Stepanian-Bennett
Academic Adviser, Graduate programs
3026B Human Health Building
(248) 364-8782
fox2@oakland.edu
woman in a black blazer and glasses smiling at the camera

Laura Christensen Saims, MTD
Academic Adviser, Pre-Nursing
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8378
lmchrist@oakland.edu

Benjamin Craine
Records Coordinator, Nursing 
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8739
craine@oakland.edu

Debbie Rumley

Academic Advising Assistant

Office Assistant III
3027 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8733
drumley@oakland.edu

Staff
woman in a blue shirt and blazer smiling at the cameraKathryn Amejka
Clinical Services Coordinator
3016 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8713
ksamejka@oakland.edu
Jill Asselin
Assistant to the Associate Dean
Admin III
3005 HHB
(248) 364-8716
jasselin@oakland.edu
Justin Ballard
Information Technology Support
2029 Human Health Building
(248)-364-8728
jjballard@oakland.edu
Jennifer Cepnick
Research Assistant
jecepni2@oakland.edu
Kristen Damiano
Marketing Coordinator
3026A Human Health Building
(248)-364-8759
kdamiano@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt with colorful stripes, smiling at the cameraSusan Davis
CRNA Program Coordinator
3022 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8774 
davis@oakland.edu

Steven Efthyvoulidis
NP Coordinator
Human Health Building
eefthyvoulidis@oakland.edu

Gina Giannosa
Ph.D. Program Assistant
3026A Human Health Building
Woman in black jacket smiling at camera
Tanya Griffith
Corporate and Foundation Relations Officer
(248) 364-6120
tgriffith@oakland.edu
Morgan Jackson
Faculty Secretary and Undergraduate Program Assistant
Office Assistant III
3060 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8706
mrjackson@oakland.edu
blonde woman holding a small brown and tan dogAmy Johnson
Center for Human Animal Interventions Director; Online Animal Assisted Therapy Certificate Director
3060 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8704
johnson2@oakland.edu
 Kenyettera Junior
Business Manager/Financial Analyst
3056 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8751
junior@oakland.edu 
Woman in gray sweater smilingKate Lionas
Event Coordinator
3057 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8723
klionas@oakland.edu

Woman in gray suit smiling at camera

Jackie McIntosh
Director of Philanthropy
3058 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8725
jmcintosh@oakland.edu

Diane Noack
Director of Nursing Laboratories
4005A Human Health Building
(248) 364-8734
noack@oakland.edu
woman in a red shirt smiling at the camera

Alicia Nott
Assistant to the Assistant Dean of Finance
Office Assistant III
3053 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8743
nott@oakland.edu

Woman in white shirt smiling at camera

Julie Rank
Executive Secretary to the Dean
3002 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8787
jrank@oakland.edu

woman wearing glasses and a black sweater smiling at the cameraMichele St. Denis
Assistant Dean
3053 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8717
stdenis@oakland.edu
Irene Su
Clinical Services Director
3018 Human Health Building
248-364-8849
ijsu@oakland.edu

Maryann Szalka
Clinical Services Assistant
3017 Human Health Building
248-364-8747
mszalka@oakland.edu

woman in a blue patterned shirt smiling at the cameraCortney Tokarczyk
Payroll Specialist - 
Office Assistant III
3055 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8702
tokarczyk@oakland.edu
woman in a gray shirt smiling at the camera

Colleen Tomaszewski
Graduate Program Assistant
Office Assistant III
3059 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8666
tomaszewski@oakland.edu

Zachary Walters
Information Technology Specialist
2029 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8728
zswalter@oakland.edu

NingNing Zheng
Information Technology Manager 
3025 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8777
nzheng@oakland.edu
Faculty
Full Time Faculty
For all other faculty, please refer to the directory.
woman in gray jacket smiling at cameraKelly Berishaj, DNP, RN, ACNS-BC, SANE-A
Special Instructor
Forensic Nursing Director
2019 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8750
berishaj@oakland.edu
woman with red hair smiling at the camera
Andrea C. Bittinger, DNP, CRNA
Adjunct Faculty
Clinical Coordinator
Oakland University- Beaumont Nurse Anesthesia Graduate Program
Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak
Lower Level-North Tower
(248) 898-7683 
Primary email: bitting2@oakland.edu   
Woman in blue smiling at cameraRebecca Boni, PhD, RN, AGCNS
Assistant Professor
2022 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8741
rboni@oakland.edu
woman in a gray blazer smiling at the cameraCarrie Lynn Buch, PhD, RN
Associate Dean
Associate Professor
3010 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8716
buch@oakland.edu
woman in an orange shirt smiling at the cameraPatricia Cameron, RN, PhD, CHPN
Assistant Professor
3015 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8784
petroulias@oakland.edu
woman in a blue shirt and glasses smiling at the cameraTeresa Chahine, MSN, RN, PMHNP
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2040 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8721
chahine@oakland.edu
woman in a dark patterned shirt smiling at the cameraNicole Clark, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC 
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2013 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8763
clark238@oakland.edu
woman wearing a black shirt, smiling at the cameraKaren S Dunn, PhD, RN, FGSA 
Professor 
3041 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8746
kdunn@oakland.edu
A headshot of Olga Ehrlich.

Olga Ehrlich, PhD, RN, CHPN
Assistant Professor
2003 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8742
oehrlich@oakland.edu

Elizabeth Eisenhauer, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
2044 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8856
eisenhauer@oakland.edu

woman in a blue shirt smiling at the cameraJudi Fouladbakhsh, PhD, RN, PHCNS-BC, AHN-BC,CHTP
Associate Professor
2008 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8731
jmfoulad@oakland.edu
woman in a black and white shirt smiling at the cameraEllen Gajewski, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, ACNS-BC 
Assistant Professor
2030 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8735
emgajews@oakland.edu

Raji George, DNP, FNP-BC
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2021 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8312
rgeorge3@oakland.edu

woman wearing a black shirt and glasses, smiling at the camera

Toni Glover, PhD, GNP-BC, ACHPN
Associate Professor
2002 Human Health Building
(248) 370-8712
tglover@oakland.edu
woman in a purple shirt, smiling at the cameraMary Golinski, PhD, CRNA
Associate Professor
Nurse Anesthesia Assistant Director
3020 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8776
golinski@oakland.edu
woman in a gray shirt smiling at the cameraClaudia Grobbel, DNP, RN, CNL
Associate Professor 
3038 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8722
cgrobbel@oakland.edu 
woman in a blue shirt in front of a window, smiling at the camera Cheniece Harris, DNP, RN
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2033 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8779
lyons@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraMeghan Harris, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Graduate Program Director
3003 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8762
harris23@oakland.edu 
woman in a pink shirt, smiling at the cameraDeana Hays, DNP, RN, FNP-BC 
Assistant Professor
Doctor of Nursing Practice Coordinator
3052 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8765
hays@oakland.edu 
woman in striped shirt smiling at cameraJoanna Hernandez, DNP, RN, AGACNP-BC
Assistant Professor 
3046 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8707
jhernandez@oakland.edu
woman in a red shirt smiling at the cameraKimberly Holka, DNP, MSN, MSA, RN, APHN-BC, CNE
Special Instructor
2021 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8754
holka@oakland.edu
woman in a light blue shirt smiling at the cameraAnne Hranchook, DNP, CRNA
Associate Professor
Nurse Anesthesia Director 
3024 Human Health Building
Oakland: (248) 364-8708
Beaumont: (248) 898-1270
hranchoo@oakland.edu
woman in a purple shirt, smiling at the cameraCheryl Jusela, DNP, NP-BC, ANP-C
Assistant Professor
2016 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8769
cjusela@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraZorica Kauric-Klein, PhD, RN
Interim Nurse Practitioner Program Director
Associate Professor 
3015 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8745
zkauricklein@oakland.edu

Erin Kennedy, DNP, RN
Assistant Professor
1008 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8724
ekennedy@oakland.edu

Patrick Kennedy, DNP, RN, ACNPC-AG
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2032 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8313
pkennedy@oakland.edu

woman in a white button down shirt smiling at the cameraPeg Kennedy, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Full Time Adjunct Instructor
2012 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8736
mmkenned@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt and pink sweater smiling at the cameraSuha Al-OBalli Kridli, PhD, RN 
Professor 
2004 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8773
kridli@oakland.edu
woman in a pink and black patterned shirt smiling at the cameraJulie Kruse, PhD, RN
Associate Professor 
3045 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8719
juliekruse@oakland.edu

Angelika Maly, PhD, MSN, RN, ACNP
Visiting Instructor
1007 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8726
angelikamaly@oakland.edu

Linda McDonald, DNAP, CRNA
Clinical Coordinator, Oakland University-Beaumont Nurse Anesthesia Graduate Program

woman in a white shirt smiling at the camera, standing outside in front of green treesCarly Miller, MSN, RN, FNP-BC
Full Time Adjunct Instructor 
2031 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8738
crmiller23@oakland.edu
woman in a white and black jacket smiling at the cameraRenee Mirovsky, DNP, MSN, RN, ANP-BC
Full Time Adjunct Instructor  
2014 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8767
mirovsky@oakland.edu
woman in a black and blue shirt smiling at the cameraAnne Mitchell, PhD, RN, CNM
Associate Professor 
3037 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8709
mitchell@oakland.edu
man in a black suit jacket and red tie smiling at the cameraGary Moore, PhD, RN
Associate Professor 
3048 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8715
moore@oakland.edu
woman in glasses and a black shirt with flower pattern smiling at the camera

Kristen Munyan, DNP, RN
Interim Undergraduate Program Director
Assistant Professor 
3038 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8727
kmunyan@oakland.edu

woman in a red shirt smiling at the cameraKatie Mysen, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
Full-Time Adjunct Instructor 
2034 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8761
klmysen@oakland.edu
woman in a red and white shirt smiling at the cameraSarah E. Newton, PhD, RN
Associate Professor 
3040 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8771
newton@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt smiling at the cameraJulia Paul,  PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, CCRN, CWS, NP
Associate Professor
3044 Human Health Building 
(248) 364-8796
 jcpaul@oakland.edu
woman in a black jacket and blue scarf smiling at the camera

Laura I. Pittiglio, PhD, RN  
Associate Professor
Doctoral Coordinator
3039 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8756
pittigli@oakland.edu

Lynda Poly-DroulardLynda Poly-Droulard, Ed.D, MSN, M.Ed, RN, CNE
Full-Time Adjunct Assistant Professor
2017 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8757
polydrou@oakland.edu
Laura Rodgers DNAP CRNA v3Laura Rodgers, DNAP, CRNA, CHSE
Adjunct Faculty
Simulation Coordinator, Oakland University-Beaumont Nurse Anesthesia Graduate Program  
Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak
Lower Level-North Tower
(248) 898-6234
woman in a red shirt smiling at the cameraKathleen Spencer, DNP, MSN, MA, RN ACNS-BC, CNE
Special Instructor
2036 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8748
kwspence@oakland.edu
woman in a black sweater smiling at the cameraCarolyn Tieppo, DNP, RN, CPNP-PC, PSN 
Special Instructor
3004 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8714
cktieppo@oakland.edu
woman in a black shirt and purple scarf smiling at the camera

Stephanie Vallie, MSN, RN 
Special Instructor
Simulation Coordinator 
4087 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8772
vallie@oakland.edu

Special Lecturers

Christie Buck, MSN, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
cabuck@oakland.edu

Marilyn Childers, MSN, RN, PMHN-BC 
3019 Human Health Building
mchilders@oakland.edu

Teresa Conerly, MSN, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
tconerly@oakland.edu

Margaret Jackson, BSN, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
jackson2@oakland.edu

Man in glasses and lab coat facing cameraRandon Jenkins, DNP, RN, AGPCNP-BC 
3019 Human Health Building
randonjenkins@oakland.edu

Penelope Kresmery, MS, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
pjkresmery@oakland.edu

Hila Levy, MSN, BA, RN 
3019 Human Health Building
hlevy@oakland.edu

Carmina Pouncy, DNP, RN, AAS 
3019 Human Health Building
carminapouncy@oakland.edu
Leadership
woman wearing a black jacket, standing outside with green trees behind her, smiling at the cameraJudy Didion, PhD, RN
Dean
3001 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8787
jdidion@oakland.edu
woman in a gray blazer smiling at the cameraCarrie Lynn Buch, PhD, RN
Associate Dean
3010 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8716
buch@oakland.edu
woman wearing glasses and a black sweater smiling at the cameraMichele St. Denis, BA
Assistant Dean
3053 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8717
stdenis@oakland.edu
man in a blue button down shirt smiling at the cameraJason Bradley Pennington
Director of Advising  
3036 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8733
penningt@oakland.edu
Faculty Research

This Research page aims to inform faculty, colleagues, current and future students, and community members of the research expertise and activities at the Oakland University School of Nursing. Research studies and projects in progress, past research, and research interests are described in the OU SON Research Portfolio which includes Research Summaries of individual faculty and links for further information. This page also provides information and access to the Research Focus and Support Group (RFSG), highlighting the group goals, activities, and outcomes which aim to promote research-creation and collaboration. The RFSG documents offer insights into ongoing research discussion, new and continuing community research partnerships, potential funding opportunities, innovative research methodology, and collaborative opportunities.

Overview

Areas of research emphasis at the School of Nursing:

  • Pain & Symptom management: Improving Quality of Life
  • Complementary & integrative Healthcare: Yoga, Qigong & Taiji
  • Vulnerable Populations: Sexual assault, HIV, Aging, Cancer
  • Transformational leadership: Quality healthcare
  • Education Innovations: Simulation, Caring & Diversity
  • Omics: Genomics, Metabolomics & Nutrigenomics
RFSG

Mission and Goals
The Research Focus & Support Group (RFSG) was created in 2016 by Dr. Judith M. Fouladbakhsh and Dr. Julia Paul to promote dialogue about ongoing and planned research initiatives among faculty at the Oakland University School of Nursing (OU SON). The group aims to provide support and encouragement for research activities through a faculty forum for open dialogue. The RFSG promotes the sharing of research information related to study needs, designs and methodology, data analysis, funding opportunities, and potential collaborations. The meetings and dialogue also allow for interconnections among research-minded individuals, promoting involvement across studies, and increasing the potential for working together on grant submissions, manuscript preparation, and other modes of information dissemination. The overall aim is to promote and support research at the OU SON.

Activities
The RFSG meets monthly throughout the academic year and submits reports to the Oakland University School of Nursing Faculty Assembly. Various topics of interest have been discussed at the meetings, information has been shared, and a project to identify research expertise has been completed (2018). A study using Qualtrics was used during the academic year 2017-2018, followed by individual faculty discussions to identify ongoing faculty research, past studies and research interests, and has been compiled in the Research Portfolio. This resource is available to current and future students, faculty, and colleagues such as community partners through the OU SON website.

Meetings
Meetings are open to all faculty and students (by invitation). Guests may be invited to present relevant information. Meeting schedule will be posted on the Research Website.

Nursing Research Portfolio

The Oakland University Nursing Research Portfolio includes summaries of research studies currently in progress, past completed projects, and research interests of individual faculty members at the School of Nursing. This portfolio was developed using a Qualtrics survey completed by faculty during the Fall semester of 2017, with follow-up in-person and email dialogue conducted by the co-chairs of the Research Focus and Support Group (RFSG). The Portfolio will be updated yearly to reflect changes in research endeavors and development of new initiatives.

The Nursing Research Portfolio can be used to explore research expertise and experiences of faculty to guide new projects, stimulate development of collaborations, and inform current and potential students seeking faculty research mentors.

Access the Nursing Research Summaries (Fouladbahkhsh & Paul, 2020).