School of Nursing

Human Health Building, Room 3027
433 Meadow Brook Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4452
(location map)
(248) 364-8733
M-F 8 a.m.-5 p.m. closed daily 12 p.m.-1 p.m.

bronze awards shaped like women lined up on a table

2023 Nightingale Awards

With a strong history in tradition, the Oakland University Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence® has applauded the constant advancement of nursing through the work of outstanding professionals. For three decades, this has been a night to acknowledge and strengthen the Michigan nursing community.

The 2023 Nightingale Awards Nomination Period is now open and runs through January 31, 2023.

Awards will be presented at the 2023 Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence on May 10, 2023 from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. at the Oakland Center Ballrooms on Oakland University Campus in Rochester Hills.

Event Details

5:30 - 7:00 p.m. Cash Bar and Strolling Dinner

7:00 p.m. Awards Ceremony

8:00 - 8:30 p.m. Post Ceremony Coffee and Dessert

Questions? Contact us at

Nightingale FAQs Sponsorship and Ticket Purchase Make a Gift

Get Involved

Opportunities to support the continued advancement of the nursing community include Sponsorship, Advertisement in the program booklet, plus the Nightingale Legacy Scholarship.

Several sponsorship opportunities are available including, but not limited to, Premier Sponsors, Award Sponsors and Specialty Sponsors. For questions, please contact Tanya Griffith by email at or by phone at (248) 364-6120.

Program Advertising
Ad space is available for purchase in the Nightingale Awards program booklet. For questions, please contact us at


Jackie McIntosh
Director of Philanthropy, School of Nursing
433 Meadow Brook Road, 3058 HHB
Rochester, MI 48309-4452 (248) 364-8725

Nominate a Nurse


2023 Nightingale Awards Online Nomination Form

2023 Nightingale - People's Choice Award - Nomination Form

Nomination Form FAQs and TIPS


The success of the Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence® hinges on the nomination process.

Each year, Oakland University School of Nursing requests your help to identify the most qualified candidates for consideration in a variety of ten different categories. 

  • Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing
  • Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Excellence in Nurse Leadership
  • Excellence in Education
  • Excellence in Executive Administration
  • Nursing in the Community
  • Post-Acute Care & Specialty Nursing
  • Excellence in Staff Nurse Practice
  • Excellence in Nursing Research
  • People's Choice Award

The 2023 Award Nomination Cycle is open November 1, 2022 through January 31, 2023.

2022 Winners and Runners Up
Award Winners

Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing
Makenzie Thimm
Ascension Southeast Michigan East and West Regions

OU School of Nursing Distinguished Alumni
Annemarie Switchulis
Accent Care Hospice - Seasons Michigan

Excellence in Nursing Leadership
Ashton Austin
Ascension Providence Southfield

Excellence in Education
Olivia Keesee
St. Joseph Mercy Oakland

Excellence in Executive Administration
Jan Doolittle
University of Michigan Health

Nursing in the Community
Madelyn Torakis
Henry Ford Hospital

Post-Acute Care & Specialty Nursing
Karen Habte
Ascension Providence Southfield & Novi

Excellence in Nursing Research
Kechi Iheduru-Anderson
Central Michigan University

Staff Nurse Practice
Isabelle Miller
University of Michigan Health System at Michigan Medicine

People’s Choice Award
Amber Watson
Henry Ford Hospital Detroit

Runners Up

Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing
Michelle Whalen
University of Michigan Health

OU School of Nursing Distinguished Alumni
Sara Schwartz
Ascension Providence Novi 

Excellence in Nursing Leadership
Levi Launder
Beaumont Hospital, Taylor


Excellence in Education
Mary Royse
Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak

Excellence in Executive Administration
Renay Gagleard
St. Joseph Mercy Oakland

Nursing in the Community
Mary MacKinnon
Oakland County Health Division

Post-Acute Care & Specialty Nursing
Amanda Burgon
DMC - Rehabilitation Institute of Michigan

Excellence in Nursing Research
Julie Kruse
Oakland University School of Nursing

Staff Nurse Practice
Prisca Onwenu
Henry Ford West Bloomfield

People's Choice
Kelley Ryan
DMC - Children's Hospital of Michigan


Several sponsorship opportunities are available including, but not limited to, Premier Sponsors, Award Sponsors and Specialty Sponsors. 

To request sponsorship information or for any questions, please contact Jackie McIntosh by email at or by phone at (248) 364-8723.

No matter what level of involvement you choose, we thank you in advance for your support.

Thank you to the 2022 sponsors, listed below:


Ascension Michigan


Henry Ford Health


J & B Medical


Beaumont Health




Michigan Medicine


McLaren Oakland and McLaren Macomb


Priority Health


Trinity Health

Award:  People's Choice

Independent Bank

Award: Nursing in the Community

Blue Cross Blue Sheild of Michigan

Award:  Staff Nurse Practice


Award:  Post-Acute Care and Specialty Nursing


Scholarship Sponsor


Pin Sponsor


Trophy Sponsor

Kotz Sangster

Nightingale Legacy Scholarship

Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing. Nightingale rebelled against society’s belief of the role of a nurse at that time and as one of the first statisticians and health care administrators, influenced much of the way healthcare is still delivered today.

In 2020 we celebrated Florence's exceptional contribution to modern nursing by creating a brand new endowed scholarship for nursing education to commemorate what would have been her 200th year.

Funds raised in honor of The Nightingale Legacy Scholarship, will continue to create new scholarships that will be awarded to nursing students each year that embody the pioneering spirit, the intellectual foresight and passion to serve that shaped Nightingale’s legacy.

Please consider making a gift today of any size to impact the future of nursing!

Make a secure donation online by clicking HERE

Or send a check to:

OU School of Nursing
Attn: Nightingale Legacy Scholarship
433 Meadow Brook Road, 3058 HHB
Rochester, MI 48309-4452

For questions, please contact Jackie McIntosh by email at or by phone at (248) 364-8725.