Menu Menu

Oakland Symphony Orchestra

The resident professional orchestra of Oakland University traces its tradition of excellence back to 1976. Each season it provides Southeast Michigan with outstanding performances of the finest symphonic repertoire.

Gregory Cunningham, conductor

Gregory Cunningham is an Associate Professor of Music at Oakland University, where he serves as Director of Bands, conducts the Oakland University Wind Symphony, and teaches orchestral/wind conducting and literature at the graduate and undergraduate levels.

In addition to his university teaching duties, Dr. Cunningham serves as Music Director and Principal Conductor for the Warren Symphony (Warren, MI).

He is also a frequent guest conductor of honor orchestras and bands throughout the Midwest and he serves as a guest conductor and clinician for many high school and middle school ensembles throughout the United States.

Edit tab Direct link

Concert I
Sunday, October 6, 2013

Oakland University’s orchestra-in-residence kicked off the season with Four Sea Interludes from Peter Grimes, Op. 33a by Benjamin Britten; Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn, Op. 56a by Johannes Brahms; and Symphony No. 5 in D minor, Op. 47 by Dmitri Shostakovich.

Concert II
Sunday, November 24, 2013 

Oakland University’s orchestra-in-residence performed Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21 by Ludwig van Beethoven; and Duke Bluebeard’s Castle, Op. 11 by Bela Bartok; with Alta Dantzler, mezzo-soprano; Sean Cooper, bass-baritone; and lighting by Kerro Knox. 

Concert III
17th Annual David Daniels Young Artists Concert
Sunday, February 16, 2014

Oakland University’s orchestra-in-residence performed Overture to Oberon by Carl Maria von Weber; The Black Swan (after Brahms’ 6 Piano Pieces, Op. 118: No. 2. Intermezzo in A) by Bright Sheng; and All Things Majestic by Jennifer Higdon. Also, the David Daniels Young Artist Concert, an annual highlight of our season, featured solo performances by the winners of the 2013-14 Oakland University Concerto Competition.

Concert IV

Oakland Symphony Orchestra with Oakland Symphony Chorus, Measure for Measure Men's Choral Society and the Macomb Children's Chorus 
Purchase tickets

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 at 7:30 p.m.

The full majesty of Orchestra Hall will provide a fitting backdrop to the Oakland Symphony Orchestra’s final concert of the season. In collaboration with the Oakland University Symphony Chorus, Measure for Measure Men’s Choral Society and the Macomb Children's Chorus, the OSO will perform Symphonic Fantasy on Die Fraue ohne Schatten, TrV 234a by Richard Strauss; and Carmina Burana by Carl Orff. Melissa Maloney, soprano. Drake Dantzler, tenor. Stephen Lancaster, baritone. Gregory Cunningham and Michael Mitchell, conductors.

Orchestra Hall, Max M. Fisher Music Center in Detroit

Tickets available through the Varner Box Office and Star Tickets Plus.

Edit tab Direct link