School of Music, Theatre
and Dance

Varner Hall, Room 207
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
Academic Office: (248) 370-2030
Box Office: (248) 370-3013
Fax: (248) 370-2041
smtd@oakland.edu

Faculty and Staff

The School of Music, Theatre and Dance has a world-class faculty of actors, choreographers, composers, conductors, dancers, designers, directors, instrumentalists, scholars, singers and more. While the work of our faculty in the performing arts is wide-ranging, they all share a singular commitment to teaching and mentoring students. In collaboration with our faculty, students are transformed through experiences in the classroom, rehearsal space, practice room, studio and beyond.

SMTD Administration
Academic Leaders
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Interim Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Chair, Department of Music
Associate Professor of Music 
vanderlinde@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3022
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A.Associate Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Professor of Theatre
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Elizabeth Kattner, Ph.D.

Assistant Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Coordinator of Assessment and Evaluation
Associate Professor of Dance

kattneru@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2917
Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Chair, Department of Music
Associate Professor of Music
jaheisle@oakland.edu
Jeremy Barnett, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Theatre
Associate Professor of Theatre
barnett@oakland.edu
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.Chair, Department of Dance
Associate Professor of Dance
patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Office Staff
Jaime FinnOffice Assistant IIIfinn@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-2035
Manjit GillBudget Managergill@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2046
Michelle TschirhartRecruitment and Outreach Managermtschirhart@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2039
Office Assistant II(248) 370-2033
Carly UhrigMarketing Manageruhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Production Staff
Joseph BeckTechnical Directorjbeck@oakland.edu 
Katherine BoersmaProduction and Facilities Managerkeboersm@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3012
Box Office ManagerMegan Heraldsmtdboxoffice@oakland.edu
Jenna Fiorini Production Office Assistant jkfiorin@oakland.edu 
Megan HeraldAssistant Production and Facilities Manager meherald@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3012
Terry HeraldTechnical Coordinator, Sound Technician herald@oakland.edu 
Christa Koerner Costume Shop Supervisorkoerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3011
Collaborative Pianists
Laura BlanchardCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrelblanchard@oakland.edu
Cat DacpanoCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrecdacpano@oakland.edu
Frank PittsCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrefepitts@oakland.edu
Vladimir KalmskyCollaborative Pianist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
Aran KimCollaborative Pianist for Vocal Musicarankim@oakland.edu
Alissa HetznerCollaborative Pianist for Musical Theatrehetzner@oakland.edu
Mike ListCollaborative Pianist for Dance
Amanda Sabelhaus Collaborative Pianist for Vocal Music
Coordinator of Collaborative Piano, Voice
sabelhau@oakland.edu
Amy SauveCollaborative Pianist for Vocal Musicsauve@oakland.edu
Won Kyung ShinCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Musicwonshin@oakland.edu
Philip SolomonickCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Marina StojanovskaCollaborative Pianist for Vocal Musicmstojanovska@oakland.edu
Hannah WatsonCollaborative Pianist for Vocal Musichannahwatson@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Collaborative Piano, Instrumental
yeh@oakland.edu
Undergraduate Advisors
Jim BilinskiUndergraduate Academic Advisor
Matt PrenticeUndergraduate Academic Advisormwprenti@oakland.edu
Music Ensemble Staff
Joan HovdaOrchestra Librarian, OSO
Sherri MartillaOrchestra Manager, OSO
Michele SorokaOrchestra Management Assistantmrsoroka@oakland.edu
Department of Music
NameTitleContact Information
Deborah VanderLinde, Ph.D.Interim Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Associate Professor of Music
Coordinator, Graduate Music Education
vanderlinde@oakland.edu

Jeffrey Heisler, D.M.A.Chair, Department of Music
Associate Professor of Music
Applied Saxophone
jaheisle@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2871
Jay Shankar BalanApplied Instructor, Indian Ragajbalan@oakland.edu
Cat Bennett, Ph.D.Assistant Professor of Music
Music Education Field Services Coordinator
catherinebennet@oakland.edu
Timothy Blackmon, M.M.Special Lecturer
Applied Instructor, Jazz Trumpet
blackmon@oakland.edu
Laura Blanchard, M.M.Lecturer, Musiclblanchard@oakland.edu
Barbara Bland, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice blbland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4309
Alta Marie Boover, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Music
Applied Voice
altadantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Regina CarterArtist-in-Residence, Jazz 
Gregory Cunningham, Ed. D.Professor of Music
Instrumental Conducting
Instrumental Program Coordinator
cunningh@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3015
Dennis Curry, M.M.Applied Instructor, Carillondncurry@oakland.edu
Drake Dantzler, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Applied Voice
Opera Program Coordinator
dantzler@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2042
David Denniston, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Horndennisto@oakland.edu
Edith Diggory, D.M.A.Adjunct Assistant Professor, Voicediggory@oakland.edu 
(248) 370-3019
Elise Eden, D.M.A.Lecturer, Musiceden@oakland.edu
Patrick Fitzgibbon, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
World Music
pwfitzgi@oakland.edu
Ben Fuhrman, D.M.A.Lecturer, Music
Music Technology and Composition
bfuhrman@oakland.edu
Scott Gwinnell, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Applied Instructor, Jazz Piano
gwinnell@oakland.edu
Rebecca Happel, D.M.A.Applied Instructor, Piano
Lecturer, Music
happel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4152
Marion Hayden, B.A.Applied Instructor, Jazz Bassmtgardner@oakland.edu
Terry Herald, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Audio Technology
herald@oakland.edu
Bret Hoag, M.M.Applied Instructor, Guitar
Special Lecturer, Music
hoag2@oakland.edu
Melissa Hoag, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music
Music Theory Program Coordinator
Master's Program Coordinator
hoag@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4153
Lauri A. Hogle, Ph.D.

Lecturer, Music
Music Education

laurihogle@oakland.edu
248-370-2763
Stacey Jamison, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Applied Bassoon
sljamiso@oakland.edu
Sam JeyasinghamApplied Instructor, Carnatic Percussionjeyasing@oakland.edu
Lois Kaarre, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Keyboard Classes
kaarre@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2913
John Kennedy, M.M.Lecturer, Applied Double Bassjckennedy2@oakland.edu
David Kidger, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
kidger@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4308
Mark KiemeApplied Instructor, Jazz Saxophonekieme@oakland.edu
Pamela L. Klena, D.M.A.Assistant Professor of Musicpamelaklena@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2287
Sarah Komer, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Music Theory
sarahkomer@oakland.edu
Stephen Komer, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music
Music Theory
smkomer@oakland.edu
Roman KosarevApplied Instructor, Violakosarev@oakland.edu
Kenneth Kroesche, D.M.A.Professor of Music
Applied Brass, Brass Band and Ensembles
Brass Program Coordinator
kroesche@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4303
Brandon LePageApplied Instructor, Flute
Flute Ensemble
blepage@oakland.edu
James Long, M.M.Lecturer, Musicjalong@oakland.edu
Melissa Maloney, M.M.Applied Instructor, Voice maloney@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2943
Dan Maslanka, M.M.Applied Instructor, Percussion
Lecturer, Music
maslanka@oakland.edu 
Gayelynn McKinneyApplied Instructor, Jazz Percussiongmckinney@oakland.edu
Timothy Michling, M.M. M.P.A.Applied Instructor, Oboe michling@oakland.edu 
Zeljko (Bill) Milicevic, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Chamber Orchestra
milicevi@oakland.edu 
Michael Mitchell, D.M.A Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities
mmitchel@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2002
Constantine Novotny, M.M.Lecturer, Musicccnovotny@oakland.edu
Úna O'RiordanDSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Cellouoriordan@oakland.edu
Jessica Payette, Ph.D.Associate Professor of Music, Musicology 
Music History Program Co-Coordinator
payette@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3148
Enrique Rios-Ellis, D.M.A.Visiting Professor of Musiceriosellis@oakland.edu
Niki Rose, M.Ed.Lecturer, Musicdarose@oakland.edu
Amanda Ross, D.M.A.Visiting Assistant Professor of Music
Applied Trumpet
aross2@oakland.edu
Elizabeth Rowin, M.M.Applied Instructor, Violin
Lecturer, Music
Coordinator, Chamber Music
rowin@oakland.edu 
Alex Sellers, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Applied Saxophone
fasellers@oakland.edu
Joseph Shively, Ed.D.Associate Professor of Music
Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
shively@oakland.edu
Victoria Shively, M.M.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music Theory and History, Opera Coach
Music Director, opera production
shively2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3321
Ralph Skiano, B.M.DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Clarinetrdskiano@oakland.edu
Jaquain Sloan, Perf. Cert.DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Bassoonsloan@oakland.edu
Mark Stone, M.M.Professor of Music
World Music and Percussion
Coordinator, World Music and Percussion
stone@oakland.edu 
Kristen Tait, D.M.A. Special Lecturer, Music
Music for the Non-Major
tait@oakland.edu
Michelle Tschirhart, M.M.Lecturer, Applied Clarinetmtschirhart@oakland.edu
Tian Tian, D.M.A.Associate Professor of Music
Piano Performance and Pedagogy
ttian@oakland.edu
Carly Uhrig, M.A. Lecturer, Music
Foundations of Rock 
uhrig@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2032
Katrina VanMaanen, MMLecturer, Musickvanmaanen@oakland.edu
P. David Visnaw II, M.M.Lecturer, Music
Music Education
pdvisnaw@oakland.edu
John-Paul White, Perf. Cert. Distinguished Professor of Music
Voice Program Coordinator
jpwhite@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2040
Phyllis White, Ph.D.Special Lecturer, Music 
Music for the Non-Major
pwhite@oakland.edu 
I-Chen Yeh, D.M.A. Applied Instructor, Piano
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
Jeffery Zook, M.M. DSO Affiliate Applied Faculty, Flute zook@oakland.edu 
Collaborative Pianists
Amanda SabelhausCollaborative Pianist accompanying Voice
Coordinator of Vocal Accompanying
sabelhau@oakland.edu
I-Chen YehCollaborative Pianist for Instrumental Music
Coordinator of Instrumental Accompanying
yeh@oakland.edu
OU Community Music
Elizabeth Medvinsky, M.M.Directormedvinsky@oakland.edu
Department of Theatre
Name Title Contact Information
Jeremy Barnett, M.F.A.Interim Chair, Department of Theatre
Doris and Paul Travis Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre Design and Technology Program Coordinator
Scenic Design
barnett@oakland.edu

Joseph Beck, M.F.A.Technical Director
Lecturer, Theatre
Stagecraft
jbeck@oakland.edu
Laura Blanchard, M.M.Vocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
lblanchard@oakland.edu
Rick Carver, B.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Mime, Acting for Non-Theatre Majors
carver@oakland.edu
Kelli Crump, M.F.A.Visiting Assistant Professor of Theatrekcrump@oakland.edu
Cat Dacpano, B.M.Vocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
cdacpano@oakland.edu
Kitty Dubin, M.A.Lecturer, Theatre
Playwriting
dubin@oakland.edu
Dana Gamarra, B.F.A. Lecturer, Theatre
Stage Management
danagamarra@oakland.edu 
Milica Govich, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre
Acting Coach
Acting for the Camera
vukasovi@oakland.edu 
David Gram, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing
dgram@oakland.edu
Anthony Guest, M.F.A.Associate Professor of Theatre
Acting, Directing 
aguest@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3023
Beth Guest, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre 
Musical Theatre History
bguest@oakland.edu
Alissa HetznerVocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
hetzner@oakland.edu
Lisa Kander, Ph.D.Lecturer, Theatre
Theatre History
lhkander@oakland.edu 
Christa Koerner, M.F.A.Costume Shop Supervisor
Lecturer, Theatre
Costume Construction
koerner@oakland.edu
Kerro Knox 3, M.F.A. Associate Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance
Associate Professor of Theatre

Lighting Design, History
knox@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3025
Karen Kozlowski, MFALecturer, Theatre
Scenic Painting, Computer Design
kmkozlowski@oakland.edu
Lynnae Lehfeldt, M.F.A. Doris & Paul Travis Associate Professor of Theatre 
Stage Voice, Acting
lehfeld2@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2956
Whitney Locher, M.F.A.Assistant Professor of Theatre
Costume Design, Stage Makeup
whitneylocher@oakland.edu
Thomas Mahard, B.A.Special Lecturer, Theatre 
Theatre for Non-Majors
mahard@oakland.edu 
Emily Padgett-YoungVocal Coachemilyyoung@oakland.edu
Frank Pitts, B.A.Vocal Coach
Collaborative Pianist for Musical Theatre
fepitts@oakland.edu
Karen Sheridan, M.F.A. Distinguished Professor of Theatre
Co-founder, Classical Theatre Study in Greece Program
Acting, Directing
sheridan@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2045 
Rachel Stevens, M.F.A.Visiting Assistant Professor of Theatrerachelstevens@oakland.edu
Josh Young, B.F.A. Assistant Professor of Theatre
Program Coordinator, Musical Theatre
joshuayoung@oakland.edu
(
248) 370-2605
Sara Catheryn Wolf, M.F.A.Lecturer, Theatrescwolf@oakland.edu
Department of Dance
NameTitle Contact Information 
Gregory Patterson, M.F.A.

Chair, Department of Dance
Associate Professor of Dance

patterso@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3009
Deavondre Jones

Lecturer, Dance

Eliza Lanham Jones, B.F.A.

Lecturer, Dance

elizajones@oakland.edu
Thayer Jonutz, M.F.A.

Associate Professor of Dance
Director, OU Repertory Dance Company

jonutz@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2804
Elizabeth Kattner, Ph.D.

Assistant Director, School of Music, Theatre and Dance: Coordinator of Assessment and Evaluation
Doris and Paul Travis Associate Professor of Dance
Dance History and Dance in Culture
Dance Education Program Coordinator

kattneru@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2917
Amanda LehmanLecturer, Dance
Dance for Musical Theatre
alehman@oakland.edu
Roberta A. Lucas, M.A.Special Lecturer, Dancerlucas@oakland.edu
Mary Murphy, M.A.T.Lecturer, Dancemarymurphy@oakland.edu
Teresa Muller, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Dancetmuller@oakland.edu
Renee Petkovski, B.A.Lecturer, Dancereneepetkovski@oakland.edu
Elizabeth Riga, M.F.A.Special Lecturer, Dance
Director, Oakland Dance Theatre
elizabethriga@oakland.edu
Christina Tasco, M.S. Special Lecturer in Dancetasco@oakland.edu 
Ali Woerner, M.F.A. Associate Professor of Dance
Director/Founder of Take Root
woerner@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3604
Production Staff
Jeremy BarnettSet Designbarnett@oakland.edu
Joseph BeckSet Construction jbeck@oakland.edu
Kerro KnoxLighting Designknox@oakland.edu
Christa KoernerCostume Constructionkoerner@oakland.edu
Dance Accompanists
Vladimir KalmskyAccompanist for Dancekalmsky@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2049
Mike ListAccompanist for Dance
Faculty Advisers
ProgramNameEmail
Jazz StudiesEnrique Rios-Ellisstone@oakland.edu
 World Music StudiesMark Stonestone@oakland.edu
BAMusicMelissa Hoag, Jessica Payette, Mark Stonehoag@oakland.edu, payette@oakland.edu, stone@oakland.edu
Instrumental PerformanceJeff Heisler, Ken Kroesche, George Stoffanjaheisle@oakland.edu, kroesche@oakland.edu, stoffan@oakland.edu
BMPiano Performance and PedagogyTian Tianttian@oakland.edu
BMVoice PerformanceJohn-Paul White, Drake Dantzler, Alta Booverjpwhite@oakland.edu, dantzler@oakland.edu
BMChoral Music EducationMike Mitchell, Deb VanderLindemmitchel@oakland.edu, vanderlinde@oakland.edu
BMInstrumental Music EducationPam Klenashively@oakland.edu
BMGeneral Music EducationDeb VanderLindevanderlinde@oakland.edu
MMChoral ConductingMike Mitchellmmitchel@oakland.edu
MMInstrumental ConductingGreg Cunninghamcunningh@oakland.edu
MMInstrumental PerformanceJeff Heisler, Ken Kroesche, George Stoffanjaheisle@oakland.edu, kroesche@oakland.edu, stoffan@oakland.edu
MMPiano Performance & Piano PedagogyTian Tianttian@oakland.edu
MMVoice Performance & Vocal PedagogyDrake Dantzler, John-Paul White, Alta Booverdantzler@oakland.edu, jpwhite@oakland.edu
MMWorld Music PerformanceMark Stonestone@oakland.edu
MMMusic EducationDeborah VanderLindevanderlinde@oakland.edu
MMGraduate Program CoordinatorMelissa Hoaghoag@oakland.edu
PhDMusic EducationDeborah VanderLindevanderlinde@oakland.edu
MinorsTheatreLynnae Lehfeldtlehfeldt@oakland.edu
TransfersTheatreJeremy Barnettbarnett@oakland.edu
BATheatreLynnae Lehfeldtlehfeldt@oakland.edu
BFAActingDavid Gram
Karen Sheridan
dgram@oakland.edu
sheridan@oakland.edu
BFAMusical Theatre

David Gram
Anthony Guest
Josh Young

dgram@oakland.edu
aguest@oakland.edu
joshuayoung@oakland.edu
BFATheatre Design & TechnologyWhitney Locherwhitnerlocher@oakland.edu
BA, BFA, & minorsDance and Dance EducationElizabeth Kattner, Gregory Patterson, Thayer Jonutz, Ali Woernerkattneru@oakland.edu, patterso@oakland.edu, jonutz@oakland.edu, woerner@oakland.edu
Emeriti
Laurie EisenhowerProfessor Emerita of Dance
Robert FackoProfessor Emeritus of Music
Michael GillespieProfessor Emeritus of Theatre
Adeline G. Hirschfeld-MedaliaProfessor Emerita of Theatre
Marvin D. HolladayProfessor Emeritus of Music
Flavio VaraniProfessor Emeritus of Music
Jackie WigginsDistinguished Professor Emerita of Music