The Research Office

Wilson Hall
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, Michigan 48309-4486
(location map)
(248) 370-2762
(248) 370-4111
research@oakland.edu
#OaklandResearch

David Stone, smiling at the camera.

Contact Us

The Research Office is dedicated to the highest level of timely service to researchers, administrators, external sponsors and support staff. To contact someone in our office, locate the general area of interest and contact the responsible Research Office official. If you need additional assistance with determining who to contact, call the general office number (248) 370-2762 or (248) 370-4111, email research@oakland.edu or fax (248) 370-2973 and someone will respond to your inquiry.

David Stone, Ph.D.
Chief Research Officer
dstone@oakland.edu

Andrea Buford
Director of Sponsored Programs
abuford@oakland.edu
248-370-3789

Contact Andrea for information about:

  • Proposal submissions if you are in Nursing or Health Sciences
  • Research development opportunities or assistance if you are in Nursing or Health Sciences
  • Grant and Contract Awards
  • Time & Effort Reporting
  • Progress Reports

Caity Conley
Administrative Assistant
conley@oakland.edu
248-370-2753

Contact Caity for information about:

  • General inquiries
  • Scheduling Dr. Stone
  • Cayuse for IBC and IACUC

Adeline Gonzales
Grant & Contract Officer
gonzales@oakland.edu
248-370-2753

Contact Adeline for information about:

  • Proposal compilation & submission – CAS, SEHS, SBA
  • Grant budgets

Judette Haddad
Regulatory Compliance Coordinator
haddad@oakland.edu
248-370-4898

Contact Judette for information about:

  • Human subjects research rules and regulations
  • IRB application submission process
  • Cayuse IRB training
  • Human subject research training
  • Collaborative research and IRB reliance agreements

Jacqueline Hencsie
Grant & Contract Officer
hencsie@oakland.edu
248-370-4898

Contact Jacqui for information about:

  • Post award management
  • Grant and Contract awards
  • Time & Effort Reporting

Michael Long
Director, Research Compliance and Integrity
mwlong@oakland.edu
248-370-2552

Contact Michael for information about:

  • I2B Program
  • Technology Transfer
  • Incubators
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Research Misconduct
  • Conflicts of Interest
  • OU & Economic Development Projects

Shamon Murdock
Business Manager
smurdock@oakland.edu
248-370-2557

Contact Shamon for information about:

  • Budget / Accounting
  • Purchase Orders
  • Check deposits
  • GReAT awards

Leanne Papke (DeVreugd)
Program Coordinator
ldevreug@oakland.edu
248-370-4516

Contact Leanne for information about:

  • Faculty Development and Training
  • PI Academy
  • WISER/Allies
  • Sounding Series
  • Oakland Counts

Janet Schofding
Biomedical Research Support Facility Manager
schofdin@oakland.edu
248-370-4440

Contact Janet for information about:

  • BRSF information

Lori Simoes
Research Development Officer
lorisimoes@oakland.edu
248-370-2778

Contact Lori for information about:

  • Proposal Development - Engineering

Michael Spires
Research Development Officer
mspires@oakland.edu
248-370-2207

Contact Michael for information about:

  • Research, budget, and proposal development in the physical, mathematical, and life sciences; the social sciences; the arts and humanities (CAS); business (SBA); education (SEHS); medicine (OUWB); and the Eye Research Institute (ERI).

Susan Willner
Program Coordinator
willner@oakland.edu
248-370-4111

Contact Sue for information about:

  • URC Awards
  • I2B Events
  • Graduate Student Research Conference
  • Provost Student Awards

Kate Wydeven
Regulatory Compliance Specialist
kwydeven@oakland.edu
248-370-4306

Contact Kate for information about:

  • Cayuse IRB access
  • IRB submissions: Initial, Modifications, Renewals and Closures
  • Not Research and Not Human subject research letters.
  • General Questions about the IRB process

Ying Zhang
Grant & Contract Officer
yingzhang@oakland.edu
248-370-4110

Contact Ying for information about:

  • Proposal compilation & submission – SECS 
  • Grant budgets