Mobile Navigation Menu Icon. 3 horizontal gold bars.

Department of Biological Sciences

Dodge Hall Rm 375
118 Library Dr
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3550
fax: (248) 370-4225
biology@oakland.edu

Department of Biological Sciences

Dodge Hall Rm 375
118 Library Dr
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3550
fax: (248) 370-4225
biology@oakland.edu

A woman wearing a white lab coat seated at a microscope, smiling at the camera.

Faculty/Staff Directory

The department of Biological Sciences has 27 full-time and 26 part-time faculty members with seven staff members to support more than 800 OU students with a declared major in biology. We maintain an active research environment and are committed to mentoring and assisting students to achieve excellence in the biological sciences.

Faculty
Full-Time Faculty
A head shot of Amy Banes-Berceli
Banes-Berceli, Amy
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, CAS
Office: 217 VAR
(248) 370-2140
banesber@oakland.edu
Headshot of Fabia Battistuzzi
Battistuzzi, Fabia
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 340 DH
(248) 370-3593
Lab: 335 DH
(248) 370-2658
battistu@oakland.edu
A head shot of Keith Berven
Berven, Keith
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 350 DH
(248) 370-3581
Lab: 302 DH, 351 DH
(248) 370-3548
berven@oakland.edu
A head shot of Subha Bhaskara
Bhaskaran, Subha
Special Instructor, Ph.D.
Office: 339 DH
(248) 370-4013
sbhaskar@oakland.edu
Headshot of Sarah Blumer-Schuette
Blumer-Schuette, Sara
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 331 MSC
(248) 370-3168
Lab: 330 MSC
(248) 370-2918
blumerschuette@oakland.edu
A head shot of Rasul Chaudhry
Chaudhry, Rasul
Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 327 MSC
(248) 370-3350
Lab: 328 MSC
(248) 370-3520
chaudhry@oakland.edu
Headshot of Mary Craig
Craig, Mary
Special Instructor, M.S., PCHE
Office: 323 MSC
(248) 370-3566
mecraig@oakland.edu
headshot of Elizabeth Delorme-Axford
Delorme-Axford, Elizabeth
Assistant Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 307 MSC
(248) 370-4906
Lab: 310 MSC
(248) 370-3592
delormeaxford@oakland.edu
A head shot of Chhabi Govind
Govind, Chhabi
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 333 MSC
(248) 370-2027
Lab: 334 MSC
(248) 370-4905
govind@oakland.edu
A head shot of Fay Hansen
Hansen, Fay
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 301 MSC
(248) 370-3574
hansensm@oakland.edu
Headshot of Anne Hitt
Hitt, Anne
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Associate Provost
(248) 370-3804
hitt@oakland.edu
A head shot of Sarah Hosch
Hosch, Sarah
Special Instructor, Ph.D.
Office: 341 DH
(248) 370-3561
hosch@oakland.edu
A head shot of Mary Jamieson
Jamieson, Mary
Assistant Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 327 DH
(248) 370-3576
Lab: 329 DH, 335 DH
(248) 370-3584
mjamieson@oakland.edu
A head shot of Lan Jiang
Jiang, Lan
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 322 DH
(248) 370-3552
Lab: 321 DH, 323 DH
(248) 370-3549
jiang23@oakland.edu
Headshot of Shailesh Lal
Lal, Shailesh
Professor, Ph.D.
Chair, Bioengineering Department
Office: 346 DH
(248) 370-2875
Lab: 347 DH, 349 DH, 353 DH
(248) 370-2517
lal@oakland.edu
A head shot of Zijuan Liu
Liu, Zijuan
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 303 MSC
(248) 370-3554
Lab: 316 MSC
(248) 370-4904
liu2345@oakland.edu

Headshot of Gerard Madlambayan
Madlambayan, Gerard
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 325 DH
(248) 370-3585
Lab: 324 DH, 326 DH
(248) 370-3663
madlamba@oakland.edu
Headshot of Taras Oleksyk
Oleksyk, Taras
Assistant Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 367 DH
(248) 370-3359
Lab: 368 DH
oleksyk@oakland.edu
headshot of Thomas Raffel
Raffel, Thomas
Associate Professor Ph.D.
Office: 354 DH
(248) 370-355
Lab: 355 thru 357 and 361 DH
(248) 370-3547
raffel@oakland.edu
A head shot of Dr. Sang Rhee
Rhee, Sang
Assistant Professor Ph.D .
Office: 330 DH
(248) 370-4162
Lab: 331 DH, 332 DH
(248) 370-3589
srhee@oakland.edu
A head shot of Mi Hye Song
Song, Mi Hye
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 344 DH
(248) 370-3569
Lab: 343 DH
(248) 370-4278
msong2@oakland.edu
A head shot of Mark Sturtevant
Sturtevant, Mark
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 338 DH
(248) 370-3579
sturteva@oakland.edu
A head shot of Scott Tiegs
Tiegs, Scott
Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 366 DH
(248) 370-2695
Lab: 364 DH, 365 DH
(248) 370-3546
tiegs@oakland.edu
Headshot of Luis Villa-Diaz
Villa-Diaz, Luis G.
Assistant Professor, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Office: 305 MSC
(248) 370-2576
Lab: 304 MSC
(248) 370-4903
luisvilladiaz@oakland.edu
A head shot of Satish K. Walia.
Walia, Satish K.
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 318 DH
(248) 370-3583
Lab: 319 DH, 322 DH
walia@oakland.edu
Photo Not Available
Washington, A. Valance
Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 156 DH
(248) 370-4495
avwashington@oakland.edu
A headshot of Doug Wendell
Wendell, Douglas
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Chair, Biological Sciences Department
Office: 375 DH
(248) 370-3580
Lab: 328 DH
(248) 370-2516
wendell@oakland.edu
Headshot of Randal Westrick
Westrick, Randal
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 305 DH
(248) 370-3577
Lab: 304 DH, 307 DH
(248) 370-4243
rjwestrick@oakland.edu
A head shot of Jonathan Yates
Yates, Jonathan
Special Instructor, Ph.D.
Office: 362 DH
(248) 370-2994
yates@oakland.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Bee, Mary
Adjunct Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 163A DH
(248) 370-3578
bee@oakland.edu

Dinda, Sumit
Adjunct Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 3164 HHB
(248) 364-8676
sdinda@oakland.edu

Goldberg, Andrew
Adjunct Professor, Ph.D.
Office: 359 DH
(248) 370-2393
goldberg@oakland.edu

Klausner, Howard
Adjunct Associate Profesor, M.D.
hklausn1@hfhs.org

Kumar, Ashok
Adjunct Associate Professor, Ph.D.
(313) 577-6213
akuma@med.wayne.edu

Otero, Ronny
Adjunct Professor, M.D.
otero@oakland.edu
Part-Time and Special Lecturers
Ahmad, Nisar
Lecturer
Office:164 DH
(248) 370-3684
ahmad3@oakland.edu

Broadbent, Brandy
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
brandybroadbent@oakland.edu

Elsouhag, Dalia
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 163A DH
(248) 370-3578
delsouhag@oakland.edu

Fishwild, Thomas
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 152A DH
(248) 370-3567
tgfishwi@oakland.edu

Greiner-Hallman, Holly 
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 163 DH
(248) 370-3578
hggreine@oakland.edu

Hallauer, Janell
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 152 DH
(248) 370-4926
jdhallau@oakland.edu

Jagannathan, Indu
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 164 DH
(248) 370-3684
ijagannathan@oakland.edu

Jozwiak, Gerard 
Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 155 DH
(248) 370-3163
jozwiak@oakland.edu

Kauhn, Chris
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 34 MSC
(248) 370-3575
cjkauhn@oakland.edu

Majeske, Audrey
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 164 DH
(248) 370-3684
amajeske@oakland.edu

Miller, Gary
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 150 DH
(248) 370-4218
glmille2@oakland.edu

Montante, James
Lecturer
Office: 152A DH
(248) 370-3567
jmontante@oakland.edu

Moyer, Andrea
Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 148 DH
(248) 370-2667
almoyer@oakland.edu

Niedzwiecki, Megan
Special Lecturer, M.S.
Office: 152A DH
(248) 370-3567
mrniedzw@oakland.edu

O'Regan, Michael
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 337 DH
( 248) 370-4497
oregan@oakland.edu

Sabina, Richard
Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 152A DH
(248) 370-3550
sabina@oakland.edu

Sturtevant, Ann
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 325 MSC
(248) 370-3599
sturtev2@oakland.edu

Sil, Sukanya
Special Lecturer, M.D.
Office: 163A DH
(248) 370-3578
ssil@oakland.edu

Troxell-Smith, Sandra
Special Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 307 MSC
(248) 370-4906
stroxellsmith@oakland.edu

Varughese, Bridget
Lecturer, Ph.D.
Office: 148 DH
(248) 370-4926
bvarughese@oakland.edu
Staff
Bills, Jan 
Office Assistant, B.B.A.
Office: 371 DH
(248) 370-4638
bills@oakland.edu

Govind, Sudha
Research Support Assistant
Office: 329 MSC
(248) 370-4758
sgovind2@oakland.edu

Hugger, Sheryl 
Stockroom Manager
Office: 374 DH
(248) 370-3558
hugger@oakland.edu

Lesich, Kathleen 
Research Support Coordinator, M.S.
Office: 300 DH
(248) 370-4662
lesich@oakland.edu

McReynolds, Johanna
Office Assistant
Office: 303 DH
(248) 370-2740
jkessler@oakland.edu

Rasanen, Shawn
Office Assistant
Office: 375 DH
(248) 370-3550
rasanen@oakland.edu

Starnes, Catherine 
Laboratory Manager, M.S.
Office: 370 DH
(248) 370-3556
starnes@oakland.edu
Professors Emeriti
Cowlishaw, John 
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
cowlisha@oakland.edu

Gamboa, George
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
gamboa@oakland.edu

Gordon, Sheldon R.
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
srgordon@oakland.edu

Goudsmit, Esther M. 
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.

Hunter, Doug
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
hunter@oakland.edu

Lindemann, Charles
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
lindeman@oakland.edu

Moudgil, Virinder K.
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.
moudgil@oakland.edu

Reddan, John R.
Professor Emeritus, Ph.D.