Department of Biological Sciences

Dodge Hall Rm 375
118 Library Dr
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3550
fax: (248) 370-4225
biology@oakland.edu

A woman wearing an ID badge, standing in front of a screen, presenting to a group.

Seminars

Departmental Seminars are open to the public. Please contact Renee Gabriel for more information. She may also be reached by calling (248) 370-3550.

Upcoming Seminars

Freshwater Ecology Candidate #1
Biogeochemical impacts of global change drivers across a temperate freshwater continuum
Tuesday, Oct. 26, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Vitoria Abreu Ruozzi
Master’s Thesis Seminar
Mentor: Dr. Thomas Raffel
Effects of Temperature And Thermal Acclimation on Host-Disease Interactions Between Batrachochytrium Dendrobatidis (Bd) and Xenopus Laevis (African-Clawed Frog)
Thursday, Oct 27, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
172 MSC

Freshwater Ecology Candidate #2
TBA
Thursday, Oct 28, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Suraj Timilsina
Doctoral Dissertation Defense
Mentor: Dr. Luis Villa- Diaz
The role of CD49f - Integrin alpha6- in Human Stem Cells Biology
Friday, October 29, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Zoom

Christina Cormier
Doctoral Dissertation Defense
Mentor: Dr. Rasul Chaudhry
Potential of Mesenchymal Stem Cells to Treat Retinal Degenerative Disease and Multiple Sclerosis in Animal Models
Monday, November 1, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Zoom

Freshwater Ecology Candidate #3
TBA
Tuesday, Nov 2, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Freshwater Ecology Candidate #4
TBA
Thursday, Nov 4, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Sang Rhee
C.4 Review
The gut inflammatory mechanism and gut-brain interaction
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Freshwater Ecology Candidate #5
TBA
Thursday, Nov 11, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Luis Villa-Diaz
C.4 Review
TBA
Tuesday, December 2, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Casey Boucher
Doctoral Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Dr. Andrew Goldberg
Functional characterization of Rom1, a tetraspanin component of the photoreceptor outer segment disk rim complex
Tuesday, December 2, 2021
3:30-5:00 PM
TBA

Elizabeth Delorme-Axford
C.1 Review
TBA
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Aditya Bhalerao
Doctoral Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Dr. Luca Cucullo
A microfluidic neurovascular unit model to investigate the contribution of smoking and vaping on neuroinflammation and resulting neurotoxicity
Friday, December 10, 2021
12:00-1:00PM
TBA

Farzane Sivandzade
Doctoral Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Dr. Luca Cucullo
Traumatic Brain Injury: Assessing the Pathogenic Impact of Chronic Smoking and Potential Countermeasures
Thursday, December 14, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
TBA







Previous Seminars

Dakota Redshaw
Master’s Thesis Seminar
Mentor: Dr. Randal Westrick
Factor V Dependent Mechanistic Effects on Thrombosis and Hemostasis
Thursday, Oct 21, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Zoom

Barbara Manfredi
Penn State in Hershey PA
Effects of Schweinfurhin Analougue 3114(TTI-3114) on Malignant Plasma cells
Tuesday, Oct 19, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC

Sigma Xi Seminar
Valance Washington
Professor, Biological Sciences
Oakland University
New Insights into the Platelet's role during Atherosclerosis: A Scientific Journey with the Platelet Receptor TREM-Like Transcript-1
Tuesday, Oct 12, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
120 MSC & Zoom

Emily Biernat
PhD Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Chhabi Govind
Mechanisms that modulate RSC activities to regulate transcription and chromatin structure in Saccharomyces cerevisiae
Thursday, May 13, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Zoom

Physiology Candidate #5
Endothelial cells are not all alike: an in vivo approach to study endothelial heterogeneity
Tuesday, April 27, 2021
11:00AM-12:00PM
Zoom

Khrystyna Shchubelka
PhD Dissertation Proposal
Mentor: Taras Oleksyk
Medically Relevant Genome Diversity in Ukraine
Friday, April 23, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Zoom

Physiology Candidate #4
Epigenetic and Transcriptional Regulation of Cardiomyopathy
Thursday, April 22, 2021
11:00AM-12:00PM
Zoom

Physiology Candidate #3
Stroke and Autism Spectrum Disorder: From Genetics, Epigenetics and Chemogenetics to Therapeutics.
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
11:00AM-12:00PM
Zoom

Physiology Candidate #2
Defining a role for astrocytes in mammalian sleep and sleep regulation
Tuesday, April 20, 2021
11:00AM-12:00PM
Zoom

Physiology Candidate #1
How do bacteria regulate “gut tasting”
Thursday, April 15, 2021
12:00-1:00PM
Zoom

Luca Cucullo, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Foundational Medical Studies
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
Impact of Chronic Smoking and Vaping on the Cerebrovascular System: Mechanistic Insights and Biological Targets
Tuesday, April 6, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Dominic Mier
Masters Thesis
Mentor: Shailesh Lal
Conserved Interactions of Minor Spliceosomal Factors are Essential for Proper Growth and Development in Both Plants and Animals
Monday, March 15, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Kyla Scherr
PhD Dissertation
Mentor: Mary Jamieson
Genetic and Environmental Factors Influencing Strawberry Production, Pollination, and Pathogens
Friday, March 12, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Tyler Parsons
PhD Dissertation
Mentor: Gerard Madlambayan
The Role of Intratumoral Hematopoietic Stem and Progenitor Cells in Solid Tumor Response to Radiation Therapy
Thursday, March 11, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Asma Khan
PhD Dissertation
Mentor: Sara Blumer-Schuette
Caldicellulosiruptor bescii uses its Type IV Pilus and associated proteins to adhere to plant biomass
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Marisa Brake
PhD Dissertation
Mentor: Randal Westrick
Identification of Genomic Thrombosis Regulatory Regions Using Lethal Mouse Models
Monday, March 8, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Jeremy Geist

PhD Dissertation
Mentor: Scott Tiegs
The New Zealand Mud Snail (Potamopyrgus antipodarum): Ecology and Management of a Global Invader
Friday, March 5, 2021
12:00-1:00 PM
Google Meet

Sigma Xi Seminar

Colin Wu
Assistant Professor
Oakland University
Chemistry
Cardiovascular risks of oxidative DNA damage
Thursday, November 19, 2020
12:00-1:00 PM

Dr. Wu's seminar on YouTube