Office of the President

Wilson Hall, Suite 4000
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)

President Ora Hirsch Pescovitz speaking into a microphone on a podium


Ora Hirsch Pescovitz, M.D., has more than 30 years of experience leading change in academic health centers and universities, delivering innovations in bench-to-bedside discovery, and facilitating collaborations between academic and community partners. Dr. Pescovitz is a renowned pediatric endocrinologist and researcher who has published more than 190 papers and books. She is a sought-after speaker on a range of topics, including healthcare, leadership, diversity and women’s issues. Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, she contributes to positive transformation in American education.

Print CVPrint Bio



  • Strategic planning
  • Collaborations across hospital systems
  • Board governance
  • Physician relations and joint ventures
  • Leadership team development
  • Innovative approaches to problem solving
  • Commitment to diversity 


  • Focus on quality, safety and access
  • Strong operational performance
  • Process improvement
  • Metric driven tactics
  • LEAN implementation
  • Evidence-based delivery
  • Senior Vice President and U.S. Medical Leader, Eli Lilly and Company (2014-2017)
  • Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Michigan, and Chief Executive Officer, University of Michigan Health System (2009-2014)
  • President and CEO, Riley Hospital for Children, Indianapolis, Indiana (2004-2009)
  • Executive Associate Dean for Research Affairs, Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis, Indiana (2000-2009)
  • Interim Vice President for Research Administration, Indiana University, Indianapolis, Indiana (2007-2009)
  • Edwin Letzer Professor of Pediatrics, Indiana University (1998-2009)
  • Director, Section of Pediatric Endocrinology/Diabetology, Department of Pediatrics, Indiana University, Indianapolis, Indiana (1990-2004)
  • Doctor of Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Evanston, Illinois (1976-1979)
  • Bachelor of Medical Science, Honors Program in Medical Education, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois (1974-1978)
  • Hebrew University, Jerusalem, Israel (1973-1974)
  • Medical Staff Fellow, Endocrinology, Developmental Endocrinology Branch, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institutes of Health (1982-1985)
  • Pediatrics Residency, Children’s Hospital National Medical Center, Washington, D.C. (1981-1982)
  • Pediatrics Residency, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota (1979-1981)
Research Focus

The physiologic and molecular mechanisms responsible for disorders of growth and puberty, and the development of novel therapies for these conditions.

Community Service

Dr. Pescovitz currently serves on:

  • Detroit Economic Club, Board of Directors
  • Horizon League, Board of Directors, Vice Chair
  • Michigan Association of State Universities, Chair
  • Member of the Horizon League Investment Committee
  • Priority Health, Board of Directors
  • United Way of Southeastern Michigan, Board of Directors
  • Transformative Limited, Board of Directors
  • Gift of Life, Governing Board
  • Michigan Board of Trustees, Citizens Research Council
  • Detroit Drives Degrees Leadership Council, Vice Chair
  • Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Innovation Ventures Advisory Board
  • MBX BiosciencesInnovation Ventures Advisory Board
  • Michigan Chapter of the International Women’s Forum, Member

Her past involvement includes:

  • Chair, Indiana University Center for Global Health/ AMPATH-Kenya Development Board
  • Chair, March of Dimes Grant Review Committee
  • Strategic Cabinet, University of Florida Health Systems
  • Heart Walk Executive Cabinet, American Heart Association
  • New Presidents’ Academy Advisory Committee, American Association of State Colleges and Universities
  • Board member, Indianapolis Opera
  • Board member, Indiana University Borns Jewish Studies program
  • Board member, Hormone Foundation
  • Board member, National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions (NACHRI)
  • Board member, Children's Miracle Network Hospitals
  • Board member, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Board member, Medical Main Street in Oakland County
  • Strategic cabinet, University of Florida Health System
  • Member, Anthem-Lilly Joint Research Governance Council
  • Member, Advancement Council of the Indiana University Fairbanks School of Public Health
  • Annual fundraising campaign chair, United Way of Washtenaw County, Michigan 
  • Executive committee member, United Way of Central Indiana
  • Co-chair, Health Planning Committee for Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett’s Transition Team
Awards and Recognition

With extensive engagement in academic, medical and business communities for nearly four decades, President Ora Hirsch Pescovitz, M.D., has made substantial and meaningful contributions to the fields of education, healthcare, leadership, diversity and women’s issues. Her accomplishments include hundreds of academic publications and presentations, as well as the awarding of a U.S. patent. She has completed this work while fulfilling academic and leadership appointments at nine universities and health care institutions; membership in seven professional societies; service on scores of boards and committees; and involvement in dozens of community service activities. The following is a select list from more than 60 professional honors and awards President Pescovitz has received throughout her distinguished career.

  • Crain’s Detroit Business Crain’s 100 Most Influential Women (2021)
  • The Community House Bates Street Society “2020 Pillar of Education” Inductee (2020)
  • Ralph Feigin Distinguished College of Medicine Lecturer and Awardee (2019)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Human Growth Foundation (2018)
  • Becker’s Healthcare Leadership Award (2014)
  • One of Twenty Hospital and Health System Leaders to Follow on Twitter, Becker’s Hospital Review (2013)
  • Mentor Recognition Program awardee, American Medical Association, Women Physicians Section
  • Northwestern University Alumni Merit Award (2012)
  • Election to the National Academy of Medicine (2011)
  • Robert H. Williams Distinguished Leadership Award, The Endocrine Society (2011)
  • Crain’s Detroit Business Newsmakers of the Year (2010)
  • Top 25 Women in Healthcare from Modern Healthcare (2009)
  • Sagamore of the Wabash Award for Excellence from Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels (2009)
  • President’s Medal, Indiana University (2009)
  • “Influential Women in Indianapolis,” Indianapolis Business Journal (2007)
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine (2004)
  • Teaching Excellence Recognition Award, Indiana University (1999)
  • “Forty Under Forty,” Indiana Business Journal
  • Research Career Development Award from the NIH (1991-1996)
  • Outstanding Faculty Educator Award, Department of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota (1985 and 1986)