Menu Menu

Economics

An Economics major is a flexible and relevant option for students who don’t want to narrow their field of specialization. In OU’s SBA, Economics majors learn how economic analysis applies to major problems facing individuals, businesses, the nation and the world. While preparing students for the workplace, this major also provides an excellent foundation for law school or master’s degrees in public administration, economics or business administration.

The Economics Department has established a strong academic record and tradition. A scholarly journal, Economic Inquiry, ranked it fourth overall in producing the most published works among economics professors in universities across Michigan. Nationally, Oakland University was ranked seventh among comparable schools that offer undergraduate economics degrees.
ACADEMIC
PROGRAMS
ADVISORY
BOARD
FACULTY

Name Title Company
Edward A. Eickhoff Vice President Development/Redevelopment Ramco-Gershenson
Alfredo Casab Attorney Dawda, Mann, Mulcahy & Sadler, PLC
Allen C. Goodman Professor of Economics Wayne State University
Julie Granthen Professor Oakland Community College
Daniel P. Hunter Manager Oakland County Planning & Economic Development
Dennis Janowski Senior Vice President Comerica Bank
Jeffrey Phillips Chief Investment Officer Rehmann Financial
George Seifert Principal Seifert & Associates
Horst Sherriff Vice President, Corporate Banking PNC Bank
Paul Swanson Vice President, Human Resources Trinity Health
Paul Traub  Economist Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, Detroit Branch


Edit tab Direct link
Please see the School of Business Administration faculty/staff directory for more information, including office location, link to personal web pages and more.

 
Anandi Sahu, Chair
sahu@oakland.edu (248) 370-3537
Addington Coppin
coppin@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3541
Sherman Folland
folland@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4086
Oded Izraeli
izraeli@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3524
Nivedita Mukherji
mukherji@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2707
Kevin Murphy
murphy@oakland.edu
(248) 370-3294
Ram Orzach
orzach@oakland.edu (248) 370-4965
Jonathan Silberman
silberma@oakland.edu
(248) 370-4966
Miron Stano
stano@oakland.edu (248) 370-3291
Kasaundra Tomlin
tomlin@oakland.edu (248) 370-4975
Ronald Tracy
tracy@oakland.edu (248) 370-3514
Xie Zhu
zhu@oakland.edu (248) 370-2505


Edit tab Direct link


Contact Us

Anandi Sahu
Department Chair
447 Elliott Hall
(248) 370-3537
sahu@oakland.edu

Maggie Parker
Office Assistant
440 Elliott Hall
(248) 370-3283
parker@oakland.edu