Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
Louise Coallier Memorial Endowed Award
Louise Coallier earned two degrees from Oakland University. In 1973, she completed her Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Elementary Education and Social Science. In 1990, she received her Education Specialist degree in School Administration. Louise worked as a teacher and administrator for the Chippewa Valley Schools in Macomb County. She was assistant principal at Cheyenne Elementary School when cancer took her life in October of 2005.

Louiseā€™s colleagues remember her as a leader who championed literacy and brought out the best in students through her nurturing care. She loved reading and was passionate about teaching children the joys of literature. She also enjoyed traveling and made trips to many foreign countries, including England, Japan, Mexico, and the Canary Islands. She loved spending time with her six grandchildren and enjoyed gardening as well. 

The family and friends of Louise Coallier made a generous gift to provide an annual award to a student enrolled in Elementary Education at Oakland University.

Award Information

Non-renewable awards of approximately $1,000 will be given annually, although this may vary year to year. To qualify for this award, you must be enrolled in Elementary Education specializing in Language Arts, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Integrated Science or Social Studies.

Additional requirements include:

  • Enrolled in Elementary Education specializing in Language Arts, Mathematics, Modern Languages, Integrated Science or Social Studies
  • Minimum GPA of 3.0
  • An essay describing the development of your interest in Elementary Education

Coallier recipient Nicole Moses with Dean Gallien

donate online
If you would like to help the Louise A. Coallier Memorial Endowment grow, donate online or contact the School of Education and Human Services development office at sehs@oakland.edu or (248) 370-4233.

apply now

To request a paper application, email sehs@oakland.edu or contact the Education Advising office at (248) 370-4182.

Application Deadline

February 6, 2015

Applicants are notified by the end of the term prior to which the award is to be used.

For further information, contact:

TDES Advising Office
363 Pawley Hall
Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-4182
2013 Nicole Kudialis 
2012 Nicole Moses 
2011 Kathryn Rinke 
2010 Sarah Kolar
2009 Nicole Fahey
2008 Ashley Haugh 
2006 Jennifer Brown

donate to the Coallier Award

AcademicsUndergraduate AdmissionsGraduate AdmissionsOnline ProgramsSchool of MedicineProfessional & Continuing EducationHousingFinancial Aid & ScholarshipsTuitionAbout OUCurrent Student ResourcesAcademic DepartmentsAcademic AdvisingEmergenciesFinancial ServicesGeneral EducationGet InvolvedGraduate StudiesGraduation & CommencementKresge LibraryOU BookstoreRegistrationAthleticsGive to OUGrizzlinkAlumni EngagementCommunity ResourcesDepartment of Music, Theatre & DanceMeadow Brook HallMeadow Brook TheatreOU Art GalleryPawley InstituteGolf and Learning CenterRecreation CenterUniversity Human ResourcesAdministrationCenter for Excellence in Teaching & LearningInstitutional Research & AssessmentInformation TechnologyReport a Behavioral ConcernTrainingAcademic Human Resources
Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4401 | (248) 370-2100 | Contact OU | OU-Macomb
Coordinate map of Auburn Hills Entrance