Human Resources

Wilson Hall, Room 401
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)
(248) 370-3480

Office hours:
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
and by appointment

Meet the Staff

Office of
the AVP
Primary Duties:
  • AVP Human Resources for the University
  • Ensure that the University is in compliance with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, contracts and other legal documents related to the university human resources function.
  • To collaborate with the University management to ensure productive and positive employee relations.
  • To effectively manage labor relations, including the negotiations of bargaining unit contracts, language interpretation and implementation of agreements, and arbitration and grievance proceedings.
Staff
Emily Block

Emily Block
Human Resources Assistant
418 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3486
emilyblock@oakland.edu


Ron Watson
AVP of Human Resources
418A Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3487
rwatson@oakland.edu
Benefits &
Compensation
401 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4207

Primary Duties:
  • Benefit eligibility and communications
  • Health Care (medical, dental, optical, etc)
  • Life and Accidental Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) 
  • Long Term Disability
  • Flexible Spending Accounts
  • Met Law (pre paid legal plan)
  • Long Term Care
  • Retirement Plans
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
  • Disability management
  • Benefit surveys
  • FLSA compliance
  • Reclassification and position reviews
  • Compensation surveys
  • Merit Increase process

Staff

  

Eric Herppich

Director of Benefits and Compensation
414 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4166
eherppich@oakland.edu



Corey Brittingham
Benefit and Compensation Services Analyst
403 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3484
britting@oakland.edu



Monica Haines
Benefit and Compensation Services Analyst
404 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4951
haines@oakland.edu

headshot of Kara Petrancosta

Kara Petrancosta
Office Assistant III
401 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4207
kpetrancosta@oakland.edu

Employment
Services
431 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3480

Primary Duties:
  • Recruitment services for administrative, clerical, service, police, casual and temporary positions
  • New employee processing of non-faculty personnel
  • Employee recognition programs
  • New employee orientation
  • Performance Management
 Staff


Kim Crawford
Office Assistant II
430 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3489
crawford@oakland.edu


Nancy Murphy
Office Assistant II
431 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3499
nmrumph@oakland.edu
Gail Ryckman

Tracey Zang
Employment Services Manager
429 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3481
zang@oakland.edu

Monique Smith

Monique Smith
Recruiting, Onboarding & HRIS Specialist
428 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3479
smith210@oakland.edu

Labor & Employee
Relations
Primary Duties:
  • Contract interpretation
  • Grievance investigations 
  • Employee and labor relations management
  • Unemployment compensation
  • Performance improvement process
Staff


Kay Armstrong
Director of Labor and Employee Relations
415 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3498
armstro2@oakland.edu
HRIS &
Personnel Records
408 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3482

Primary Duties:
  • Human Resources Information Systems
  • Employee data processing
  • Accruals: usage payoff, accumulation, etc.
  • Employment verification
  • Longevity
  • Requests to see personnel files
  • Requests to locate employees
  • Overtime rates
  • Termination/retirement/leave processing procedures
Staff

Chitra Krishnan
Sr. HRIS Analyst
413 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3477
    ckrishnan@oakland.edu
   



Pamela Stewart
Personnel Records Coordinator - Staff
405 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-3482
stewart2@oakland.edu

Janet Tull
Personnel Records Coordinator - Faculty
407 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-2195
tull@oakland.edu

Learning &
Org Dev
427 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4579

Primary Duties:
  • Technical training
  • Needs analysis and custom training
  • Professional development
Staff

headshot of Cissie Patterson

Cissie Patterson
Training Coordinator
427 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4579
cmpatterson@oakland.edu

Willie Dorsey

Willie Tuggle

Learning & Organizational Development Manager
426 Wilson Hall
(248) 370-4601
wdorsey@oakland.edu