Expand the section navigation mobile menu

Board of Trustees

Wilson Hall, Suite 3000
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)

Robert Schostak - Chair

A headshot of Robert Schostak.

Robert (Bobby) Schostak was appointed to OU’s Board of Trustees in December 2015. In March of 2015, Bobby announced the formation of Templar Baker Group (TBG), where he provides strategic political and business consulting. TBG bridges the divide between business and politics for their clients.

During the 2012 and 2014 election cycle, Bobby served as Michigan Republican Party Chairman and raised more than $30 million dollars each cycle to support Republican candidates across Michigan. His vision helped achieve historic Republican majorities in the Michigan State Senate and State House, re-elect Governor Rick Snyder, Attorney General Bill Schuette, Secretary of State Ruth Johnson and helped maintain a conservative majority on the Michigan Supreme Court.

In addition to Bobby’s time at the Michigan Republican Party, he was and continues to serve as Co-Chief Executive Officer of Schostak Brothers & Company, a leading commercial real estate business in Michigan, where they operate properties in 24 states. Schostak Brothers & Company is also home to the largest privately held, franchised restaurant company in Michigan, with ownership of over 100 restaurants under a partnership known as Team Schostak Family Restaurants (TSFR).

Bobby holds a Bachelor of General Studies with an Economics and Communications Concentration from Oakland University. In 2007, Bobby received the Distinguished Alumni Spirit Award for his exemplary volunteer service to the university. His family established the Schostak Family Foundation Endowed Fund to support the Judaic Studies program at OU as well as pledging support to Oakland University’s William Beaumont School of Medicine. He has participated on the College of Arts and Sciences advisory board, the President’s Campaign Council, and is a past member of the OU Foundation Board.


Date of Appointment and Reappointment: December 10, 2015
Date of Term Expiration: August 11, 2024