School of Nursing

Oakland University to recognize nurses offering exceptional care at 31st Annual Nightingale Awards

Fox 2 anchors Amy Andrews and Roop Raj to co-emcee awards ceremony on May 9.

The Nightingale Awards highlight exemplary nurses from across the profession.

Fox 2 anchors Amy Andrews and Roop Raj will host the 2019 Nightingale Awards.

Oakland University's School of Nursing dean Judy Didion addresses the gathering during the 2018 ceremony.

nightingale, nursing, amy andrews, roop raj, oakland university, school, college

icon of a calendarApril 12, 2019

Share this story

Oakland University to recognize nurses offering exceptional care at 31st Annual Nightingale Awards

Oakland University’s School of Nursing and its Board of Visitors are celebrating 31 years of honoring Michigan’s top nurses at its annual Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence.®

The only event of its kind in the state, this prestigious awards ceremony will be held on May 9, 2019 at the San Marino Club in Troy. The awards were created to spotlight nurses from a variety of clinical specialties who go above and beyond in their care for their patients and their families.

More than 700 nurses, physicians and administrators, as well as family members and nursing supporters will attend this year’s awards ceremony.  This esteemed event includes an elegant sit down dinner, a fifty-fifty raffle and fish-bowl style raffle. Raffle winners have the opportunity go home with a iPad Pro, golf and spa certificates, a gift card extravaganza basket and other unique packages. Fox 2 News anchors Amy Andrews and Roop Raj will once again co-emcee this year’s awards ceremony.

Each of ten winning recipients receives a check for $1,000, a solid bronze statue of Florence Nightingale and a special Nightingale ceremonial pin. Runners-up each receive a commemorative plaque and Nightingale ceremonial pin. Nominees were nominated by their peers, supervisors, friends and patients in recognition for their superior service and expertise.

The 2019 Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence® is presented by Ascension Michigan. Other sponsors include Beaumont Health, St. Joseph Mercy Health System, Detroit Medical Center, Oakland University Credit Union, Busche Performance Group, McLaren Oakland & McLaren Macomb, Henry Ford Health System, Merrill Lynch, J & B Medical Supply, Priority Health, Barnes & Thornburg LLP, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, PLLC.

For more information, or for tickets to the event, please contact Barb Shea Pote in the School of Nursing at (248) 364-8723, via email at [email protected] or by visiting

2019 Award Winners

Advanced Nurse Practice & Research
Winner: Katherine M. Turner, WHNP-BC, MSN from Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak
Runner Up: Carole Ann Bauer, MSN, RN, ANP-BC, OCN, CWOCN from Beaumont Hospital, Troy

Distinguished Alumni
Winner: Amy Hamilton, RN, BSN, MSN from McLaren Oakland

Excellence in Education
Winner: Donna Seeley, RN, BSN from St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea
Runner Up: Ann DePetris, MSA, BSN, RN from Ascension Providence

Emerging Nurse Leader
Winner: Rebecca Sue Avers, RN, BSN from McLaren Macomb
Runner Up: Heather Grein, MSN, RN, AGACNP-BC from Beaumont Hospital - Dearborn

Executive Administration
Winner: Doug Dascenzo, MSN, RN from St. Joseph Mercy Oakland
Runner Up: Maureen Kelly-Nichols, RN, MSA, NE-BC from Ascension Providence Southfield & Novi

Nursing in the Community
Winner: Vanessa Mier, RN, BSN from Ascension Providence Southfield
Runner Up: Anita Marie Barksdale, BSN, RN from St. Joseph Mercy Oakland

Post-Acute Care & Specialty Nursing
Winner: Sara Chung, BSN, RN, CNRN, SCRN from Beaumont Hospital, Troy
Runner Up: Janet Sexton, BSN, RN from St. Joseph Mercy Chelsea

Staff Nurse
Winner:  Ashley A. Kaake, BSN, CCRN from Karmanos Cancer Center
Winner:  Ibtihal Alghanimi, BSN, RN from Harper University Hospital at DMC
Runner-Up:  Manuela Miron, BSN, RN from St. Joseph Mercy Oakland
Runner-Up:  Mark Mayberry, BSN, RN from St. Mary Mercy Hospital 

People’s Choice Award
Winner:  Corey Owczarzak, RN from Beaumont Hospital - Troy
Runner-Up:  Erik Enerson, BSN, RN from Reverence Home Health and Hospice

Legacy Award
Winner: Kathleen Ryan, RN, MSHSA

# # #

Share this story