Menu Menu

Business students inducted into business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma

Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Business students inducted into business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma

The Oakland University business school held its Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony this month where 38 business students and recent graduates were officially welcomed into the honorary business society.


The business school congratulates:
Recent graduates: Brad Blaker, Stephanie Darkangelo, Shannon Dunneback, Betsy Felton, William Jusela, Shilpa Konkani, Michael Moritz, James Mors, Stephan Nofzinger, Coreen Szadyr, Nineetha Turaka, Brett Wilson and Danying Zing.


Seniors: Anna Brady, Brittani Bridger, Adam Coddington, Richard Crane, Cody Dunbar, Lauren Dunnigan, Courtney Dziewit, Daniel Galgoul, Eldari Gogiashvili, William Gross, Brittany Johnson, Michael Lotito, Josh Super and Kevin VanGenderen.



Juniors: Shawna Boyd, Bradley Garrigues, Thomas Oriet, Elena Popkey, David Sullivant, Ha Tran, , Brandon Tutak, Tyler Wonsowicz, Michelle Wycoff and Kolten Zak.


Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business). Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.


The 2014 class is in prestigious company. Worldwide membership to the society is comprised of more than 700,000 business professionals residing in all 50 states and 160 countries. More than 1,100 Oakland University business school graduates are included among those.


To be eligible, students must be in the top 7 percent of the junior, top 10 percent in senior class, top 20 percent of the graduating master's class, or have completed all requirements to receive a doctorate degree. Its mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to foster personal and professional excellence, to advance the values of the Society, and to serve its lifelong members. 



This year, the Oakland University chapter presented its Chapter Honoree award to Dr. Michael A. Mazzeo, dean, Oakland University business school. The Chapter Honoree award is conferred upon those who have furthered the ideals of the Society through outstanding business and managerial leadership. Any person who has achieved distinction primarily in business and administration, and who possesses those qualities that Beta Gamma Sigma fosters.