Menu Menu

WXOU earns College Station of the Year — again!

Thursday, February 6, 2014
WXOU earns College Station of the Year — again!
MAB award bash
Oakland University's student radio station will proudly display its third-in-a-row College Station of the Year Award.
By Eric Reikowski, public information specialist

For the third year running, Oakland University’s student radio station WXOU-88.3 FM is set to receive the College Station of the Year Award, among other honors, from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation (MABF). The awards will be announced officially on Wednesday, March 12 at the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference in Lansing.

“This level of success was made possible with the teamwork of every DJ at the station,” said Patrick Cymbalski, WXOU’s general manager.  “We put everything we had into these entries, and when it came time to submit, I couldn’t have been happier with the finished products.  If you look at the names on the awards we won, you can see very few were solo efforts.  Everyone at the station really pulled together to help one another succeed.”

Along with the top overall prize, WXOU students claimed individual accolades in a variety of categories. They swept the Current Events Program category, with Lauren Barthold and Mark Cowan taking first place, Ashley Allison and Nicholas Rolling coming in second place, and Cymbalski and Leila Cotton earning an honorable mention. Cymbalski also won first place in the Air Check category, followed by Sean Varicalli, who finished second.

MAB winners
WXOU takes home the top prize from the Michigan Association of Broadcasters Foundation for the third year in a row, as well as several individual awards.
Related Links: 

Full list of MABF winners
Listen to WXOU
Communication and Journalism programs

In the Daily Newscast/News Feature category, Barthold, Varicalli and Don Tottingham claimed first place and Cymbalski received an honorable mention.  Varicalli also earned an honorable mention in the Public Service Announcement category and teamed with Cymbalski and Barthold for a second place showing in the Promotional Announcement category. Scott Hunter and Briana Carlesimo earned an honorable mention for Promotional Announcement.  

Rounding out the list, Mike Sullivan and Garrett Kolodziej won top honors in the Talk Show category.

The MABF awards gauge the skill and talent of student broadcasters across the state, and are judged by industry professionals and national radio experts. Christine Stover sees the station’s third consecutive Station of the Year honor as a tribute to the increasing quality of students and programs at WXOU.

 “It’s such a great privilege to work with the talented students we have at Oakland,” said Stover, who has served nearly 10 years as WXOU’s faculty advisor. “We have great student leaders and a supportive environment that encourages and applauds creative freedom and expression.  This recognition is truly an honor and belongs to everyone who was ever a part of WXOU, past, present, and future."

For more on WXOU-88.3 FM, visit the website at