Division of Student Affairs & Diversity

Oakland Center, Suite 150
312 Meadow Brook Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4452
(location map)
(248) 370-4200
studentaffairs@oakland.edu

Hours:
Monday - Friday: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Wednesdays with extended hours: 8 a.m. - 6:30 p.m.

Uniting Urban Achievement and Academic Excellence, Pontiac Michigan

Pontiac Initiative

Oakland University is committed to working with its neighbors, especially Pontiac, to determine potential areas of meaningful partnership that will benefit both the community and Oakland’s students. Oakland University and Pontiac joined forces for a broad-reaching partnership that emphasizes community engagement and mutually beneficial relationships -- we call it the OU/Pontiac Initiative.

In fall 2014, and again three more times since, more than 150 representatives from Oakland University and the Pontiac community met via Town Hall meetings. Attendees included OU faculty and staff, Pontiac business owners, representatives from non-profit agencies, Pontiac schools, hospitals and the Mayor’s office as well as Pontiac residents and enthusiasts. Through these interactive meetings, we shared needs and concerns and brainstormed ideas of how we could work together to solve issues of public concern.

 Community Engagement at OU  Photo Gallery

PILLAR LEADERS

2019-2020

 

ARTS & CULTURE

 

COMMUNITY PARTNER

Pontiac Arts Commission

dlyons@pontiac.mi.us

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEAD

Dwayne Lyons

Community Relations Specialist, Arts Commissioner

dlyons@pontiac.mi.us

 

OU LEAD

Mark Stone

Professor of Music, Theater & Dance  

stone@oakland.edu

 

BUILDING CAPACITY FOR NON-PROFITS & NEIGHBORHOODS

 

COMMUNITY PARTNERS

Rick David

CEO Emeritus, Lighthouse          

rdavidmichigan@gmail.com

 

Susan Harding

CEO, OLHSA

susanh@olhsa.org

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEAD

Alexandria Riley

Chief Development Officer, Fundraising, Contract Grant Compliance

atr@alexandriatriley.com

 

OU LEADS

Suzanne Rossi

Program Coordinator, MPA

ssrossi@oakland.edu

 

Jean Ann Miller

Senior Director of Office for Student Involvement

jam@oakland.ed

 

 CIVIC ENGAGEMENT

 

COMMUNITY PARTNERS

Vernita Duvall

Co-Chair of the Committee of 50 and Pontiac Public Library Board of Trustees

vduvall@pattersonbryant.com   

 

Angela Powell

Oakland County Commissioner, Director of Operations, PAL

angelapowell12@gmail.com

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEAD

Thomas Kimble

President Emeritus, AARP Michigan

thomaskimble@aol.com

 

OU LEAD

Dr. Dave Dulio

Chair of Political Science

ddulio@oakland.edu

 

ECONOMIC & WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT

 

COMMUNITY PARTNERS

Doug Smith

Executive Director Government & Community Relations, OCC

djsmith@oaklandcc.edu 

 

Bret Rasegan

Manager of Planning Oakland County Economic Development & Community Affairs

raseganb@oakgov.com

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEAD

Rachel Loughrin

Director of Economic Development, City of Pontiac

rloughrin@pontiac.mi.us

 

OU LEADS

Dr. Michael Mazzeo

Dean of the School of Business Administration   

mazzeo@oakland.edu       

 

Wayne Thibodeau

Senior Director of Career Services

thibodea@oakland.edu

 

HEALTH CARE & WELLNESS

 

COMMUNITY PARTNER

David Bowman

Director of Community Health,

St. Joseph Mercy Oakland

david.bowman001@stjoeshealth.org

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEADS

Jason Crute

Manager, Pontiac Youth Recreation & Enrichment Center

jcrute@pontiac.mi.us

 

Robert Burch

Assistant Manager, Pontiac Youth Recreation & Enrichment Center

rburch@pontiac.mi.us

 

OU LEADS

Dr. Jennifer Lucarelli

Chair of Healthy Pontiac, We Can!

lucarell@oakland.edu                   

 

Dr. Rose Wedemeyer

Director of Education Training, OUWB SOM

ragutier@oakland.edu

 

PK-16 EDUCATION

 

COMMUNITY PARTNER

Kelley Williams

Superintendent,

Pontiac School District

kelley.williams@pontiacschools.org                                                         

 

CITY OF PONTIAC LEAD

Jane Bais-DiSessa

Deputy Mayor, City of Pontiac

jbais-disessa@pontiac.mi.us

 

OU LEAD

Dr. Jon Margerum-Leys

Dean of the School of Education & Human Services  

jmargerumleys@oakland.edu