Department of Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work & Criminal Justice

Fitzgerald House, Room 211
614 Pioneer Dr.
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2420
fax: (248) 370-4608

Social Work
Fitzgerald House, Room 251
614 Pioneer Dr.
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(248) 370-2371

Student and Faculty Awards

Student and Faculty Awards

Student Awards
The department recognizes outstanding student achievements in scholarship and leadership with three annual awards, described below. All department majors are eligible for these awards, which are presented each spring at the department's annual awards luncheon.
The Laura Robinson Kuzniar Memorial Student Award honors student(s) exhibiting compassion and dedication to helping people and promoting a more just and fair society.

The Donald I. Warren Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement honors the student(s) exhibiting the greatest intellectual growth and commitment to academic excellence.

The Student Paper Award honors outstanding student-authored research paper(s) in Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, or Criminal Justice.
The Student-Faculty Research Collaboration Award honors a research collaboration between a Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work or Criminal Justice instructor and student. Submissions can come from the faculty member in the Soc/An/SW/CJ department who has collaborated on a research project with a student, or can be nominated by another faculty member. Please upload a paper describing the details of the student-faculty research.  

Criteria for Selection

Student award application materials are to be submitted electronically.

All application materials are due by March 19th.

To nominate yourself or someone else for the  Kuzniar and Warren  awards, please upload a statement of support (approximately 1 page in length) outlining why the nominee is deserving of the award. Please note that the Warren award requires a faculty letter of support.

To submit an entry for the Student Paper Award, please upload a student-authored paper meeting the following criteria:
  • Must have been written for a Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, or Criminal Justice class in the previous calendar (not academic) year.
  • Must be a minimum of 5 pages in length
  • Must be a research or application paper
  • Must include the COURSE NUMBER and PROFESSOR that the paper was written for on the first page
Kuzniar Award
Warren Award  
Student Paper Award

Christopher Merchant

Chelsea Holmes

Jared Barnett

Hannah Wilson
Adrianna St. George

Tyler Maddock

Travis Harrington

Allison Mercer

Bianca Kallabat
Lisa Holtz
Lisa Ball

Tiara Cruz

Sandy Hanna

Susan Mickhail

Kayla Jones

Kristin Seitz

Allison Mercer

2017Theresa WrightKaitlin Yarbrough

Anna Tori

Brianna Kenny

Jennifer Gifford

Audra Balcarcel
Farha Hanif,
Amanda Sosnowski
Marcella Bolen
2015Emily HubenkaAlaina BurAlaina Bur,
Grace Smith
2014N/ARyan FlukerElena Durnbaugh,
Meghan Tripp
2013N/AJames Van NadaLouise Haven
Nathan Collins
Alana Nicolazzo
Christopher Urban
Michael Henson
Steven Knox
Mazen Sarwar
Mary Schultz
Stephanie Paetzke
Krysta Hand
2009 Tara Forbes Marlene Edge Jennifer Rivera
Renee Blackburn
Alexa Frye
2008 Allison Prell Erica Sharon Barbara Elliott
Ashley Phifer
2007 Kathryn SanfordAnn Schrier   Steph Turner
Dan Davis
2006 Carol George
Suzanne LaBlatt
Renee Blackburn  Sandra Smith
Jamie Stafford
Faculty Awards

The department recognizes outstanding faculty achievements in teaching, scholarship, service and mentoring with four annual awards.  Recipients of the Outstanding Teaching Award and the Outstanding Scholarship Award are determined by a vote of the full-time faculty, while the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award is selected by the Department Chair.  Our department is proud to honor excellence among its faculty with these awards.

Academic  Year
 Teaching  Award
 Scholarship Award  
 Service  Award
Mentoring Award
2017-18Maria PainoMatt MayAmanda Burgess-ProctorJo Reger
2016-17Jon CarrollKareen TonsingHeidi LyonsTerri Orbuch
2015-16Suzanne Spencer-WoodErin Comartin, Maria PainoJacob Becker,  Scott SmithDennis Condron
2014-15Lori BurringtonHeidi LyonsAmanda Burgess-ProctorSuzanne Spencer-Wood
2013-14Heidi LyonsGeorge SandersRay Liedka-
2012-13Graham CassanoDennis Condron,
Jo Reger
George Sanders,
Scott Smith
Scott Smith
Henri Gooren
Jo Reger
 Amanda Burgess-Proctor
Terri Orbuch, 
Suzanne Spencer-Wood
 Richard Stamps
 2009-10George Sanders 
Graham Cassano
Dalton Connally,
Jo Reger