Office of the Provost

Wilson Hall, Room 205
371 Wilson Boulevard
Rochester, MI 48309-4486
(location map)
(248) 370-2190

Distinguished Professors

In 1988, the Oakland University Board of Trustees established the rank of Distinguished Professor to be conferred on eminent faculty members for the duration of their service at Oakland. According to the criteria for Distinguished Professor status, the individual must be preeminent in at least one of three categories: scholarship, teaching, or public or professional service. This distinction has been conferred on a small and highly select group of outstanding individuals. Honorees are selected by the Provost and the Distinguished Professor Advisory Committee.

Past Distinguished Professors:




2001 and priorGertrude M. WhiteEnglish
 Venkat N. ReddyBiomedical Sciences
Jack R. MoellerGerman Language
Laszlo J. HetenyiEducation
Karl D. GregoryEconomics and Management
2002Jane D. EberweinEnglish
Ronald L. CramerEducation
Sheldon L. AppletonPolitical Science
2003Paul TomboulianChemistry
2004Robert T. EberweinEnglish
Michael ChoppPhysics
2005Michael D. SevillaChemistry
2006Not Awarded
2007Robert C. FinucaneHistory
2008Not Awarded
2009Judith K. BrownAnthropology
2010Gopalan SrinivasanPhysics
2011Eddie ChengMathematics and Statistics
2012Sayed NassarMechanical Engineering
2013Andrei SlavinPhysics
2014Not Awarded
2015Jacqueline WigginsMusic, Theatre and Dance
Edward HoeppnerEnglish
Meir ShillorMathematics and Statistics
2016Todd ShackelfordPsychology
Maria BryantChemistry
2017Yang XiaPhysics
2018Frank GiblinBiomedical Sciences and Director, Eye Research Institute
Terri L. OrbuchSociology
2019John-Paul WhiteMusic
Lianxiang YangEngineering
Xiangqun ZengChemistry
2020Linda PavonettiEducation
Karen SheridanTheatre
Vijayan SugumaranDecision and Information Science