Department of Philosophy

Mathematics and Science Center, Room 752
146 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
(248) 370-3390
fax: (248) 370-3157

Philosophy Faculty/Staff Directory

Philosophy Faculty/Staff Directory

Staff

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
 FAXEMAIL

Ann Zimmerman
Administrative Secretary

752 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3390 (248) 370-3144zimmerm2@oakland.edu

 

Full-Time Faculty

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
EMAIL

Joshua Blanchard
Visiting Assistant Professor
Ethics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion

646 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2163jblanchard@oakland.edu

Michael Doan
Associate Professor
Social Epistemology, Social and Political Philosophy, Moral Psychology

650 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3391 doan@oakland.edu

Paul R. Graves
Associate Professor
History of Modern Western Philosophy (especially Locke), Symbolic Logic, Philosophy of Language

651 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3393graves@oakland.edu
John F. Halpin
Associate Professor
thelogiccafe.net
Philosophy of Science, Logic
750 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2264
(248) 370-3144
halpin@oakland.edu

Ami Harbin
Associate Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Bioethics, Moral Psychology

644 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3301aharbin@oakland.edu

Elysa Koppelman-White
Associate Professor
Ethics, Research Ethics, Bioethics, Professional Ethics (e.g., Engineering Ethics)

652 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3395koppelma@oakland.edu

Eric LaRock
Associate Professor
Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Neuroscience (especially consciousness), Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (especially Aristotle)
personal website

751 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-4902larock@oakland.edu

Fritz J. McDonald
Associate Professor
Metaethics

653 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3394mcdonal4@oakland.edu

Mark C. Navin
Professor and Chair
Bioethics (especially Clinical Ethics and Public Health Ethics), Social and Political Philosophy

746 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2716navin@oakland.edu

Daniel Propson
Assistant Professor of Practice
Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Engineering Ethics, Philosophy of Religion

648 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3557propson@oakland.edu

Mark Rigstad
Associate Professor and Interim Chair
JustWarTheory.com
Political Philosophy, Philosophy of International Relations, Philosophy of Law, History of Ethical and Political Thought (especially Early Modern)

753 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2662rigstad@oakland.edu

Phyllis Rooney
Professor
Feminist Philosophy, Epistemology, Philosophy of Science, Logic

748 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-3392rooney@oakland.edu

David A. Stone
Chief Research Officer
Philosophy of Natural and Social Science, Technology, and Medicine; Ethics

The Research Officedstone@oakland.edu

Daniel Thiel
Visiting Assistant Professor

654 Mathematics and Science Centerdbthiel@oakland.edu

Part-Time Faculty 

NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
EMAIL
Special Lecturer
Ethics Bowl
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705llcampbe@oakland.edu
James A. Gromak
Special Lecturer
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705jgromak@oakland.edu
Dovie Jenkins
Special Lecturer
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705doviejenkins@oakland.edu

Timothy Kirschenheiter
Special Lecturer

642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705kirschenheiter@oakland.edu

Drew A. Matzke
Special Lecturer

642 Math and Science Center(248) 370-2705damatzke@oakland.edu
Daniel Yeakel
Special Lecturer
Logic, Epistemology
642 Mathematics and Science Center(248) 370-2705yeakel@oakland.edu

 

Philosophy Faculty Emeritus

NAME/TITLEEMAIL

David C. Bricker
Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Law

brickerscd@yahoo.com