MTD's MaTilDa Awards Dinner 2016

MTD's MaTilDa Awards Dinner 2016
Distinguished Professor Jackie Wiggins and Distinguished Community Service Award Winner Dr David DiChiera

The Department of Music, Theatre and Dance held its 17th Annual MaTilDa Awards “red-carpet” dinner in the Oakland Center Banquet Room on Sunday, April 17 2016 to recognize all of this year’s honorees.

The Distinguished Community Service Award was given to Dr David DiChiera, founder and artistic director of Michigan Opera Theatre, who first came to Michigan to join the music faculty of the newly founded Oakland University, which was his base as he launched his drive to establish Detroit as one of the country’s premier opera cities. Both Jackie Wiggins’ introductory remarks about his work and his acceptance speech drew a standing ovation.

Music Alumni Award winner Rob James was introduced by Phyllis White with whom he had once performed in the Meadow Brook Show Choir. Professor James entertained the crowd with a rendition of “My Funny Valentine” on the vibraphone. The Theatre Alumni Award was presented to Jen Price Fick by Kerro Knox. Jen, who is based in New York City, enjoys a flourishing design career.

A special Community Achievement Award in Dance was given to Laurie Eisenhower, founder and director of Eisenhower Dance, which is celebrating its 25th anniversary season. Greg Patterson, once an ED company member, made the presentation.

Music awards were given to students Rhys Burgess, Paige Grider, John Hallman, Mark Hosseini, David Johnson, Michaela Judkins, Garret Klauss, Joshua Kolpak, Renee Kuczeski, Alyssa Primeau, Calvin Retz, Maria Suvak, Kimberly Szarama, Nicole Szarama and Alexander Walker.

(l-r) Mark Hosseini and Dr Drake Dantzler. Mark, the winner of the Distinguished Student in Voice Performance, will continue his studies at the Eastman School of Music in the fall(l-r) Dr Jeffrey Heisler and the members of the Flex Saxophone Quartet, joint winners of the Outstanding Student in Chamber Music Award

Theatre awards were given to students Mitchell Aiello, Kyle Blasius, Jake Daley, Olivia Griffin, Jason Maracani, Sarah McEneaney, Chris O'Meara and Billy Robinson.

Dance awards were given to students Bianca Brengman, Andrea Cheshure, Tess Keesling, Ashley Moffitt and Meghan Schook.

Maggie Allesee (2nd left) and dance program director Greg Patterson (far right) with (l-r) Bianca Brengman and Tess Keesling, winners of the Maggie Allesee Choreography AwardOlivia Griffin, the winner of the Pat and Mercedes Nicosia Meadow Brook Estate Award. Olivia played one of her own compositions for the audience

You can read details about the each award and each honoree in this OU News article.

Theatre students enjoying the evening

To see more fabulous photos from the MaTilDa Awards view our Facebook album.

All photos by JL Boone Photography.