Mathematics and Science Center
118 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)

1st Midwest Conference on Stem Cell Biology & Therapy

1st Midwest Conference on Stem Cell Biology & Therapy

May 9th-11th, 2008

The SCBT conference was held at the historical Meadow Brook Hall on Oakland University’s campus. The SCBT conference addressed the latest advancements in research on stem cell biology, tissue engineering, and therapy involving embryonic stem cells, adult stem cells, as well as umbilical cord blood stem cells. In addition, the conference provided an opportunity to educate the general public in ethical and scientific issues concerning stem cell research and clinical applications.
Presentations were given by: (speakers in alphabetical order)

Kameswara Badri, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Thomas Bauer, Ph.D., NCI, NIH, DHHS
Jaime Brozowski, B.S., Oakland University
Asamoah Bosomtwi, M.S., Oakland University

Michael Chancellor, M.D., Beaumont Hospitals
C.C. Chang, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Chong Chen, B.S., University of Michigan
Michael Chopp, Ph.D., Henry Ford Hospital/OU
Mick Perez-Cruet, M.D., M.S. Providence Hospital

Luis Villa Diaz, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Thomas Diekwisch, D.M.D., Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
Kimberly Drenser, M.D., Beaumont Hospitals
Gregory Dressler, Ph.D., University of Michigan

William Fairbrother, Ph.D., Brown University
Christopher Fecek, B.S., Oakland University
Shannon McKinney-Freeman, Ph.D., Harvard Medical School & Children’s Hospital
Mark Furth, Ph.D., Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine

Christine Gorka, Ph.D., Providence Hospital
Theresa Gratsch, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Deborah Gumucio, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Vilma Yuzbasiyan-Gurkan, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Gary Hammer, M.D., Ph.D., University of Michigan
Ales Hampl, D.V.M , Ph.D., Institute of Experimental Medicine & Masaryk University, Czech Republic

Ibrahim Ibrahim, M.D., M.P.H, Ph.D., Beaumont Hospitals

Omar Khan, M.D., Wayne State University Medical School

Senator Carl Levin, D-Michigan
Tenneille Ludwig, Ph.D., University of Madison-Wisconsin
Domenico Luongo, M.S., C.H.M.M., Oakland University

Ivan Maillard, M.D., Ph.D., University of Michigan
Representative Andy Meisner, D-Ferndale, Michigan
Jack Mosher, Ph.D., University of Michigan

Andras Nagy, PhD., Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto

Jack Parent, M.D., University of Michigan
Graham Parker, Ph.D., Children’s Hospital of Michigan
Bruno Peault, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh & Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
José Garcia Perez, Ph.D., University of Michigan

Pamela G. Robey, Ph.D., NIDCR, NIH

Peter Sartipy, Ph.D., Cellartis AB, Sweden
Jill Slater, B.S, Wayne State University
David Svinarich, Ph.D., Providence Hospital

Shuichi Takayama, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Dean Tantin, Ph.D., University of Utah
Barbara Tigges, Ph.D., BioE, Inc. Research and Development

Donggang Yao, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Sichang Zhou, B.S., Wayne State University
Jointly sponsored by:
Oakland University Logo    Beaumont Hospitals Logo

In cooperation with:

Providence Logo

Platinum Sponsors:

Sigma Logo
Oakland University College of Arts and Sciences Oakland University School of Health Sciences

Gold Sponsors:

Oakland University School of Nursing

Silver Sponsors:

BioSpherix Logo     Blackstone Med Picture

Bronze Sponsors:

Organic Genesis Logo    ATCC Logo