Department of English

O'Dowd Hall, Room 544
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2250
fax: (248) 370-4429

Faculty/Staff Directory

English
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL

Robert Anderson
Associate Professor

544D O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2266r2anders@oakland.edu

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer

519 O'Dowd Hallapap@oakland.edu

Susan Lynn Beckwith
Special Lecturer

521 O'Dowd Hallbeckwit2@oakland.edu

Jeff Chapman
Associate Professor

324 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2249chapman4@oakland.edu

Natalie Bell Cole
Professor

521 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2270cole@oakland.edu

Timothy Donahue
Assistant Professor

542 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2254tdonahue@oakland.edu

Kitty Dubin
Lecturer

207 Varner Hall(248) 370-2030dubin@oakland.edu

Cynthia Ferrera
Administrative Secretary

544C O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2251

ferrera@oakland.edu

Joanne Lipson Freed
Assistant Professor

540 O'Dowd Hall (248) 370-2255freed@oakland.edu

Annette Gilson
Associate Professor
Director of Creative Writing

348 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2262gilson@oakland.edu

Jennifer Gower-Toms
Special Lecturer

532 O'Dowd Hallgowertoms@oakland.edu

Kevin T. Grimm
Associate Professor

519 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2257grimm@oakland.edu

Niels Herold
Professor

532 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2261herold@oakland.edu

Jeffrey Insko
Associate Professor\Coordinator of American Studies

544F O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2253insko@oakland.edu

Andrea Knutson
Associate Professor

526 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2258knutson@oakland.edu

Kevin Laam
Associate Professor/Department Chair

538 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2256laam@oakland.edu

Bailey McDaniel
Associate Professor

522 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2008mcdanie2@oakland.edu

Megan Peiser
Assistant Professor

530 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-4186mpeiser@oakland.edu

Rita Perris
Secretary 1

544 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370- 2250perris@oakland.edu

Kathleen Pfeiffer
Professor

544B O'Dowd Hall248) 370-2267pfeiffer@oakland.edu

Doris Plantus
Special Lecturer

521 O'Dowd Hallplantus@oakland.edu

Amy Pollard
Special Lecturer

544B O'Dowd Hallpollard@oakland.edu

Rachel V. Smydra
Special Instructor

322 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2380smydra@oakland.edu

Amanda Stearns-Pfeiffer
Assistant Professor

544G O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2145stearnspfeiffer@oakland.edu
Cinema
Studies
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL

Kevin Ball
Lecturer

169 Dodge Hallkball@oakland.edu

Kyle Edwards
Associate Professor

524 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-4118 edwards2@oakland.edu

Andrea Eis
Professor
Director of Cinema Studies

528 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2987eis@oakland.edu 

Adam Gould
Associate Professor

536 O'Dowd Hall (248) 370-2152

agould@oakland.edu

Joseph Kelley
Program Assistant

josephkelley@oakland.edu

Bridget Kies
Assistant Professor

123 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-3382

bkies@oakland.edu

Brendan Kredell
Associate Professor
 

534 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2259kredell@oakland.edu

Charlie Meyers
Special Lecturer
 

169 DHE meyers2@oakland.edu

Justin Reifert
Assistant Professor

531 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2268reifert@oakland.edu

David Shaerf
Associate Professor

346 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2988shaerf@oakland.edu

Annie Sullivan
Assistant Professor

127 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-4131anniesullivan@oakland.edu

Kaelie Thompson
Lecturer

169 Dodge Hallkrthomps@oakland.edu

Julia Yezbick
Visiting Assistant Professor

349 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2960juliayezbick@oakland.edu
Creative
Writing
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL

Jeff Chapman
Associate Professor

324 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2249 chapman4@oakland.edu

Jonathan Chappell

169 DHEjchappell@oakland.edu

Annette Gilson
Associate Professor
Director of Creative Writing

348 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2262

gilson@oakland.edu

Katie Hartsock
Assistant Professor 

344 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2263hartsock@oakland.edu
Peter Markus
Special Lecturer
 
169 DHEmarkus@oakland.edu

Susan McCarty
Assistant Professor
 

349 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2252smccarty@oakland.edu

Alison Powell
Assistant Professor
 

320 O'Dowd Hall (248) 370-4316powell@oakland.edu

David Shaerf
Assistant Professor

544E O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2988shaerf@oakland.edu
English With
Secondary Ed
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL
Amanda Stearns-Pfeiffer
Assistant Professor
544G O'Dowd Hall (248) 370-2145stearnspfeiffer@oakland.edu
American
Studies
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer

519 O'Dowd Hallapap@oakland.edu

Jeffrey Insko
Associate Professor

Coordinator of American Studies

544F O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2253 insko@oakland.edu 

Andrea Knutson
Associate Professor
 

526 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2258 knutson@oakland.edu

Kathleen Pfeiffer
Professor

544B O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2251pfeiffer@oakland.edu
Honors
College
NAME/TITLE OFFICEPHONEeMAIL

Christopher Apap
Special Lecturer
 

519 O'Dowd Hallapap@oakland.edu

Susan Lynn Beckwith
Special Lecturer
 

521 O'Dowd Hall beckwit2@oakland.edu

Doris Plantus
Special Lecturer

521 O'Dowd Hall plantus@oakland.edu

Hunter Vaughan
Assistant Professor
 

530 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-4131vaughan@oakland.edu
Retired Faculty
& Staff
  • Rosemary Aiello, Administrative Secretary
  • Gladys Cardiff, Professor Emeritus
  • Brian Connery, Professor Emeritus
  • Jane Eberwein, Distinguished Professor
  • Robert Eberwein, Distinguished Professor
  • June Ann Fisher, Administrative Secretary Emerita
  • Thomas Fitzsimmons
  • Martha Hammel, Special Instructor
  • Nigel Hampton, Associate Professor
  • Ed Haworth Hoeppner, Professor Emeritus
  • James F. Hoyle, Professor Emeritus
  • Nancy Joseph, Associate Professor
  • David W. Mascitelli, Associate Professor Emeritus
  • Donald E. Morse, Emeritus Professor
  • Brian F. Murphy, Professor
  • Joan G. Rosen, Associate Professor

In Memoriam

  • Maurice F. Brown II
  • Joseph DeMent
  • Susan E. Hawkins
  • Linda McCloskey
  • Jim McClure
  • Gertrude White