Menu Menu

News Archive

Tuesday, December 10, 2013 - OU commencement ceremonies set for Dec. 14
By Eric Reikowski, media relations assistant

Commencement for August and December degree candidates will take place on Saturday, Dec. 14 in the Oakland Athletic O’rena. The ceremony schedule is as follows:

9 a.m.
  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • School of Engineering and Computer Science
  • Bachelor of Integrative Studies
1 p.m.
  • All masters and doctoral candidates
5 p.m.
  • School of Business Administration
  • School of Education and Human Services
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Health Sciences

Speakers for the 9 a.m. ceremony will be student Dana Parke and alumnus John Hruska, CAS ’86 and SBA ’89. Graduating with a triple major in International Relations, African Studies and French, Parke is the recipient of the Meritorious Achievement Award for her dedication to academic excellence and invaluable contribution to the university community. Hruska currently chairs the Oakland University Alumni Association Board of Trustees.

For the 1 p.m. ceremony, the speakers will be Robert Gebbie and Nancy Susick. Gebbie is co-founder and president of Natural Bridge Group, a merchant banking company, and co-founder of EBM Care, Inc., a healthcare informatics firm in New York. In addition, Gebbie currently serves on the Board of Advisors in Oakland University’s College of Arts and Sciences. A 1976 OU graduate, Gebbie has also received the university’s Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award. Susick earned a Master of Science in Nursing from OU in 1997. She currently serves as a senior vice president of Beaumont Health System and president of Beaumont Hospital, Troy.

Speakers for the 5 p.m. ceremony will be Ashley Bryan and Dr. Steven Tunnicliff. A renowned author and scholar, Bryan’s books for young people have won numerous state and national awards for both text and illustrations. In 2003, Bryan received the Oakland University honorary degree of Doctor of Humanities. Dr. Tunnicliff, SEHS ‘04 and ’10, is the superintendent of Carman-Ainsworth School District in the Flint area.

Before each ceremony, the national anthem will be performed by OU vocal performance majors: Timothy Brown at 9 a.m., Kelsey Szymanski at 1 p.m. and Amanda Lynne Walker at 5 p.m.

Web users can view the live commencement stream online at The camera will be active only during commencement exercises.

Doors to the O’rena will be open for guests half an hour before each ceremony. All guests must have tickets and should be seated 15 minutes prior to the processional.

Those planning to attend graduation should review the campus map and parking information. Parking is free and open to the public, except where indicated. In case of inclement weather, information will be available by calling (248) 370-2000 or by tuning in to WWJ or WJR radio stations or Fox2, WDIV-TV or WXYZ-TV.

Each ceremony will be interpreted in sign language. Guests with other special needs should call the Office of the Provost at (248) 370-2190.

For additional information regarding commencement ceremonies, call (248) 370-2190 or view the website at