University Technology Services

Dodge Hall
118 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4401
(location map)
uts@oakland.edu

About UTS

University Technology Services is the central information technology organization serving the entire university community. Our departments and services are described below.

Leadership Mission

Vision and Strategic Plan

Organization

Enterprise Applications

Information Security

IT Services Alliance

Network Communications Services

Technical Support and Services

Meet the Team

Leadership Mission

The leadership of University Technology Services is responsible for the development of and the execution of the information technology mission and strategic plan. The leadership team provides technical direction, systems and network architecture, resource allocation, vendor contacts, risk assessment, capacity planning, budget, project coordination, standards, and staff development. The leadership team is led by the Chief Information Officer and includes directors.

Leadership values are important for our organization to be successful.  The CIO's leadership philosophy has these values:

  • I value the contributions of individuals and teams to achieving our goals, as leadership is a collaborative and participatory process. 
  • I value dedication and commitment to both organizational goals and personal achievement.
  • I value core competencies that include six orientations: technology, service, change, communication, organizational awareness, and strategic thinking. We need to be more than good technologists; we need to develop competencies in all orientations.
  • I value seeking excellence and creativity in every action, task, and project.
  • I value personal accountability: initiative, self-motivation, self-sufficiency, and productivity.
  • I value demonstrated professional ethics and integrity: honesty, respect, civility, fairness, and discretion.
    - Theresa Rowe

Organization

University Technology Services is organized into subject matter expert teams. The teams work in a cross-functional and collaborative way on information technology projects to ensure that all knowledge areas contribute as needed to project success. The organization chart shows the team organization:

University Technology Services Organizational Chart

Enterprise Applications

The Enterprise Applications Team maintains enterprise systems, including Ellucian Banner ERP, uPortal, uMobile, and other database and application systems. Another responsibility is data integration among technology solutions located on premise and in the cloud, including data exchanges with external organizations.  The team creates and maintains the MySAIL mobile experience, including the MySAIL portal and the MySAIL Apple iOS and Android apps.  The team supports process efficiency projects by developing and maintaining online routable forms, online document management, and workflows.  The team is also responsible for applications supporting identity access management.  We maintain technical currency in emerging technologies used to enhance Banner, provide quality mobile services, and integrate third party systems and applications.   We implement technology in ways that serve the greater university community while balancing fiscal constraints.

Information Security

The Information Security team is responsible for the development and management of the information security program, recognizing the need to protect the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of institutional information technology resources and recognizing the requirement to comply with obligations from a number of sources, including federal and state laws and regulations, contracts, and the ethical commitment to protect privacy of data entrusted to the university.  The Information Security team actively engages in information technology risk assessment, information security incident handling and response, reporting, security monitoring and services, training and awareness, threat mitigation, firewall rule management, and compliance.  

The designated security program administrator is the Chief Information Officer.  The security program is developed and managed with the Information Security Officer and the entire security team. The Information Security Officer also leads a cross-functional Security Advisory Group to maintain a consistent security posture across the UTS organization. The Information Security Plan and other security information are available for review.

IT Services Alliance

The IT Services Alliance team was created to best provide services and support to the UTS organization and to the university community from the point of information technology solution procurement through the life of the engagement, contract, and use of the solution.  The team is the primary facilitator of software purchases, whether for on-premise install, in the cloud, or as-a-service.  The team is also responsible for meeting IT accessibility requirements, PCI requirements, and other regulatory requirements, at the point of purchase.  The team coordinates management of the UTS budget and manages central campus software license accounting.

Network Communications Services

The Oakland University Network is designed to be capable of providing any service requiring network connectivity, anytime, anywhere, in a reliable and secure manner.  Network management and operations are designed to be cost effective and predictable.  The Network Communications Services team is also responsible for the IT data center facilities and data center networking.  The Director also coordinates facility access security for all UTS facilities.

The Network Communications Services (NCS) team is responsible for:

  • Wiring and cable plant design and engineering
  • Telecommunications engineering
  • Internet and Internet2 connectivity
  • Wireless initiatives
  • Router, switch, and firewall engineering and operation
  • Network services including domain name services, Internet Protocol addressing, and network time
  • Standards for network attached devices on campus
  • Bandwidth management
  • Network utilization analysis
  • Network access support and security
  • Network security

Operations supports university campus data center facilities:

  • Facilities support and management
  • Host center for departmental servers
  • Maintaining multiple data centers
  • Physical security and integrity

Technical Support and Services

The Technical Support and Services (TSS) team analyzes, sustains, secures, and enhances systems and storage resources. The team maintains  technically current skills in related fields and leads technical innovation by identifying and implementing new technology resources. The team applies technical knowledge to the existing environment in order to find ways to move university systems forward in a highly functional, secure, and fiscally responsible manner. We endeavor to implement technology in ways which serve the greater university community while balancing fiscal constraints. The TSS team is responsible for operating systems, service architecture, and support of technology architecture and services. These services include the Linux and Windows hardware and software environments that provide access to storage, learning, printing, Ellucian Banner, and other systems. Services also include disaster recovery, directory services, and server consultation.

The Technical Services and Support (TSS) team is responsible for:

  • System and server architecture and administration
  • Operating system management: Linux and Windows
  • Communications systems, including mail systems
  • Identity management systems and services: LDAP directory server and CAS service for authentication and access routing on Linux servers
  • Windows Active Directory structure
  • Learning systems server support, including Moodle
  • Ellucian Banner university enterprise environment: database servers, Oracle database management, SAIL Web servers, and MySAIL Portal
  • Print systems and servers
  • University antivirus services
  • University file and storage servers with OakShare and Shares
  • University data disaster backup and recovery servers
  • Departmental Consultation — Microsoft Windows, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, and Ubuntu Linux servers

Meet the Team

Abbo, Teriabbo@oakland.edu2151
Ashaqua, Yahawayashaqua@oakland.edu5090
Bolton, Dennisbolton@oakland.edu4803
Chesnutt, Larrylchesnutt@oakland.edu4328
Cox, Michaelcox@oakland.edu2109
Cromas, Lucycromas@oakland.edu4539
Dhir, Nameetansdhir@oakland.edu2115
Foltz, Leefoltz2@oakland.edu2675
Grant, Aaronasgrant@oakland.edu2556
Hajek, Tomashajek@oakland.edu3505
Hollis, Jamirajhollis@oakland.edu3694
Johnson, Jordanjordanjohnson@oakland.edu3692
Kondek, Loukondek@oakland.edu2547
Maktala, Lakshmiindiresh@oakland.edu3178
Mangold, Matthewmmangold@oakland.edu2542
Mercier, Travistmercier@oakland.edu2651
Morrah, Joeljoelmorrah@oakland.edu3173
Mueller, Ronaldrgmueller@oakland.edu2568
Ngong, Denisdngong@oakland.edu2117
Nowak, Marionowak@oakland.edu2677
Paulus, Michaelmpaulus@oakland.edu4340
Rowe, Theresarowe@oakland.edu4326
Stevens, Ericejsteven@oakland.edu2133
Stevens, Phillippcstevens@oakland.edu3565
Terry-Callahan, Lucyterrycal@oakland.edu5499
Tirpak, Loritirpak@oakland.edu3158
Vargo, Loganvargo@oakland.edu4932
Wargo, Joshwargo@oakland.edu4498
Waters, Denniswaters@oakland.edu3165
Wenner, Debrawenner@oakland.edu3152
Wincek, Zacharyzjwincek@oakland.edu3899
Woodle, Nicknhwoodle@oakland.edu2509
Zimmerman, Bradbzimmerman@oakland.edu4096

October 2018