Menu Menu

Department Awards


The department recognizes outstanding student achievements in scholarship and leadership with three annual awards, described below. All department majors are eligible for these awards, which are presented each spring at the department's annual awards luncheon.

The Laura Robinson Kuzniar Memorial Student Award honors student(s) exhibiting compassion and dedication to helping people and promoting a more just and fair society.

The Donald I. Warren Memorial Award for Outstanding Academic Achievement honors the student(s) exhibiting the greatest intellectual growth and commitment to academic excellence.

The Student Paper Award honors outstanding student-authored research paper(s) in Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, or Criminal Justice.

Kuzniar Award
Warren Award 
Student Paper Award
Ryan Fluker
Elena Durnbaugh,
Meghan Tripp
James Van Nada
Louise Haven
Nathan Collins
Alana Nicolazzo
Christopher Urban
Michael Henson
Steven Knox
Mazen Sarwar
Mary Schultz
Stephanie Paetzke
Krysta Hand
 Tara Forbes  Marlene Edge  Jennifer Rivera
Renee Blackburn
Alexa Frye
2008  Allison Prell  Erica Sharon  Barbara Elliott
Ashley Phifer
2007  Kathryn Sanford Ann Schrier    Steph Turner
Dan Davis
2006  Carol George
Suzanne LaBlatt
Renee Blackburn   Sandra Smith
Jamie Stafford

All student award application materials are to be submitted electronically using this link.

To nominate yourself or someone else for the
Kuzniar and Warren awards, please upload a statement of support (approximately 1 page in length) outlining why the nominee is deserving of the award. Please note that the Warren award requires a faculty letter of support.

To submit an entry for the Student Paper Award, please upload a student-authored paper meeting the following criteria:
  • Must have been written for a Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, or Criminal Justice class in the previous calendar (not academic) year.
  • Must be a minimum of 5 pages in length
  • Must be a research or application paper (i.e., uses scholarly sources, contains a "References" or "Works Cited" page)


The Scherer Scholarship has been established to honor Jacqueline Scherer, longtime colleague, friend, and professor of sociology at Oakland University (1971-1999). The scholarship will be in the amount of $1000, and the department hopes to award a scholarship to a Sociology, Anthropology, Social work, or Criminal Justice major entering their junior or senior year.

Eligible students must:
  • Be an Oakland University student in good standing
  • Be a major in Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work, or Criminal Justice
  • Have at least sophomore class standing at the time of application 
  • Have at least a 3.0 GPA
  • Demonstrate financial need

All Scherer Scholarship application materials are to be submitted electronically using this link.

To apply, students must prepare a written statement describing their financial need and answering the following questions:
  • Why are you in school?
  • Why did you choose a Sociology/Anthropology/Social Work/Criminal Justice major?
  • What are your plans after graduation?


The department recognizes outstanding faculty achievements in teaching, scholarship, and service with three annual awards.  Recipients of the Outstanding Teaching Award and the Outstanding Scholarship Award are determined by a vote of the full-time faculty, while the recipient of the Outstanding Service Award is selected by the Department Chair.  Our department is proud to honor excellence among its faculty with these awards.

 Teaching Award
 Scholarship Award 
 Service Award
Heidi Lyons
George Sanders
Ray Liedka
Graham Cassano
Dennis Condron
Jo Reger

George Sanders
Scott Smith
Scott Smith
Henri Gooren
Jo Reger
 Amanda Burgess-Proctor
Terri Orbuch
Suzanne Spencer-Wood
 Richard Stamps
George Sanders
Graham Cassano
Dalton Connaly
Jo Reger