Department of Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work & Criminal Justice

Varner Hall, Room 518
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(location map)
(248) 370-2420
fax: (248) 370-4608

Social Work
512 Varner Hall
(248) 370-2371

SOCAN home banner
Dr. Burgess-Proctor was awarded the 2019 Herbert Bloch Award from the American Society of Criminology. The Herbert Bloch Award recognizes outstanding service contributions to the American Society of Criminology and to the professional interests of criminology. She received the award from ASC President Meda Chesney-Lind last week at the annual meeting in San Francisco. During that meeting she also was awarded the Sarah Hall Service Award from the Division on Women & Crime.

Dr. Maria Paino is working with a team of researchers who were recently awarded a $2.1 million dollar grant from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) entitled, "Cannabis Legalization: Assessing its Impact on Treatment for Substance Use Disorders."

Dr. Jon Carroll (OU) and Dr.'s April Frake and Brad Peter (Michigan State University) traveled to Malawi, East Africa to use drones in understanding the relationships between irrigation systems, mosquito populations, and malaria rates. The trip was  funded by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) under the grant  Precision Agriculture for Smallholder Systems in Africa.

Dr. Mike Pytlik, Dr. Jon Carroll, and all of their study abroad students were featured in the Oakland Press and on Fox 2 News for their unearthing of an ancient biblical city.

Professor Kim Byrd, the Director of Field Services and Student Support, has developed a partnership with Velocity Hub in which several students are recognized in the news for their training in the cybersecurity field.

Professor Amanda Burgess-Proctor has been appointed by Governor Whitmer to lead the Michigan Criminal Justice Policy Commission. Additionally, she is the 2019 recipient of the Herbert Bloch Award bestowed by the American Society of Criminology which recognizes outstanding service contributions to ASC and the professional interests of criminology.

Professor Mike Pytlik has been named the Director of the Cis Maisel Center for Judaic Studies and Community Engagament.

Professor Jon Carroll attended the 2019 Annual Meeting for the "Feed the Future" Innovation Lab for Collaborative Research on Sustainable Intensification in Saly, Senegal. There he discussed his work toward sustainable agriculture in Malawi.

Professor Lori Burrington was recently recognized by the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) with the 2019 Donal MacNamara Award for Outstanding Journal Publication for her paper, " Neighborhood Advantage, Relative Status, and Violence Among Foreign-Born Adolescents," published in Justice Quarterly.


Department of Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice

A unit of the College of Arts and Sciences, the department is home to four major programs: sociology, anthropology, social work, and criminal justice.

The sociology, anthropology, and criminal justice majors lead to a Bachelor of Arts (BA) degree, while the social work major leads to a Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degree. The department offers open minors in sociology, anthropology, and criminal justice, as well as a minor in child welfare for social work students. The department also houses three interdisciplinary concentrations open to all majors: archaeology, gerontology, and addiction studies.

Ours is a dynamic and collegial department consisting of sociologists, anthropologists, social workers, and criminologists. Our faculty embrace both quantitative and qualitative research methodologies and have solid yet diverse theoretical orientations.