Menu Menu

Lewis Pino Memorial Scholarship in Science Education

The Lewis Pino Memorial Scholarship in Science Education is in memory of Dr. Lewis N. Pino, professor emeritus at Oakland University. Dr. Pino taught organic chemistry from 1966-1986, and served as director of Research Studies at Oakland University. 

John and Marie Pino established this fund in 2006 to support teachers going into the field of chemistry, physics or integrated science, and have continued their support every year since. The Pinos are longtime supporters of OU and the School of Education and Human Services, volunteering their time in addition to their scholarships for future teachers. Their business, the Pino Insurance Agency in downtown Rochester, Michigan, even has a display of OU. For more information about Marie and John Pino, click here to view an article written about them in 2010.

Award Information

In order to qualify for the $1,000 (amount may vary) award, you must be an Elementary or Secondary Education student at Oakland University with an endorsement in Chemistry, Physics or Integrated Science. An award committee will select the awardee and notify the recipient. Recipients are eligible to reapply in subsequent years.

Additional requirements include:

  • Application neatly and legibly completed
  • Cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0
  • An essay of 500 or more words describing your interest in the field of Chemistry Education, Physics Education, or Integrated Science Education

2013 Pino recipient Joseph Case with Mr. and Mrs. Pino, Interim Dean Bob Maxfield and Associate Dean Nancy Brown

donate online

If you would like to help scholarships in the School of Education and Human Services grow, you can give online or contact the School of Education and Human Services development office at or (248) 370-4233. 

Marie and John Pino
apply now

To request a paper application, email or contact the Education Advising office at (248) 370-4182.

Application Deadline
February 6, 2015

Applicants are notified at the end of term prior to term in which award is to be used.

For further information, contact:

Education Advising Office
363 Pawley Hall
Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-4182

2014 Carly Einsenhardt
2013 Joseph Case 
2012 Anna Falcon 
2010 Lauren Gardner
2009 Emily Sutherland
2008 Christine Hager
2007 Katherine O'Donnell
2006 Heather Rejc