Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
Jacqueline I. Lougheed Endowed Scholarship
Jacqueline Lougheed joined Oakland University in 1968 after spending the first 15 years of her career in the Detroit Public Schools as a teacher and principal. She was the third woman in OU’s history to receive a full professorship. Dr. Lougheed received OU’s Teaching Excellence Award in 1994 and the Phyllis Law Googasian Award in 1995 for her many contributions to the advancement of women in higher education. In 2000, the School of Education and Human Services and her department honored her with a special lecture for her outstanding accomplishments.

Dr. Lougheed’s dedication to education and teachers is evident throughout her career. She was instrumental in the development and evolution of the first master’s degree in the School of Education and Human Services. Between 1984 and 1999 Dr. Lougheed founded and directed OU’s Women in Leadership forum, assisting hundreds of women in their quest for leadership positions. From 1999 to 2001 she was the president of Alpha Delta Kappa, an organization representing more than 57,000 international women educators. It is this commitment to education and leadership that led Dr. Lougheed to establish the Jacqueline I. Lougheed Endowed Fund in 2004 in order to provide encouragement and support to students pursuing graduate studies in educational leadership.

Award Information
This non-renewable scholarship is approximately $1,000-$2,000 and may vary year to year. The scholarship may be used for tuition, books, research or attending a professional conference.

Eligible students for the Jacqueline I. Lougheed Endowed Award are

  • graduate students in Educational Leadership
  • students with a 3.0 or higher GPA
  • maintain a GPA at Oakland University of 3.0 or higher

2013 Lougheed Endowed Award recipient Lisa Wujczyk with Interim Dean Bob Maxfield

donate online
If you would like to help the Lougheed Endowed Award grow, you can give online or contact the School of Education and Human Services development office at sehs@oakland.edu or (248) 370-4233.

Dr. Jacqueline I. Lougheed
apply now

To request a paper application, email sehs@oakland.edu or contact the Educational Leadership department at (248) 370-3070.

Application Deadline: February 6, 2015

For further information, contact:

Department Chair of Educational Leadership
480B Pawley Hall
Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-3070

Stephanie Dulmage
Christopher Stanley
Lisa Wujczyk
Stephanie Dulmage
Jamita Lewis
Elenore Glass
Kathryn Murray
Lauren Wells
2010 Donna Malaski
Beverly Brown
Sheryl Ferlito
Kevin Brockberg
Lynne Nagy
2006 June Teisan
2005 Mary Lou Kata

AcademicsUndergraduate AdmissionsGraduate AdmissionsOnline ProgramsSchool of MedicineProfessional & Continuing EducationHousingFinancial Aid & ScholarshipsTuitionAbout OUCurrent Student ResourcesAcademic DepartmentsAcademic AdvisingEmergenciesFinancial ServicesGeneral EducationGet InvolvedGraduate StudiesGraduation & CommencementKresge LibraryOU BookstoreRegistrationAthleticsGive to OUGrizzlinkAlumni EngagementCommunity ResourcesDepartment of Music, Theatre & DanceMeadow Brook HallMeadow Brook TheatreOU Art GalleryPawley InstituteGolf and Learning CenterRecreation CenterUniversity Human ResourcesAdministrationCenter for Excellence in Teaching & LearningInstitutional Research & AssessmentInformation TechnologyReport a Behavioral ConcernTrainingAcademic Human Resources
Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4401 | (248) 370-2100 | Contact OU | OU-Macomb
Coordinate map of Auburn Hills Entrance