Menu Menu

Sidney W. Graber Memorial Award

Dr. Sidney W. Graber devoted his career to helping students with learning disabilities and emotional impairments. Prior to coming to Oakland University, he served 23 years as the first director of Children’s Orthogenic Center, a school for emotionally and mentally handicapped children. In 1970, Dr. Graber founded the area of Special Education at Oakland University and became the first Area Chair, a position he held until 1986. In addition to his passion for children, he loved cooking, gardening, the arts — theatre, symphony and oil painting — and the Detroit Lions.

Dr. Graber’s legacy of passionate concern for students with special needs is perpetuated through this award established by his family in 1996 after his passing. The Dr. Sidney W. Graber Memorial Award was permanently endowed in 2004 so that the scholarship may be given in perpetuity to students pursuing a career in special education.

Award Information
This non-renewable award is approximately $1,000 and may vary from year to year. The scholarship may be used for tuition.

Eligibility criteria for the Dr. Sidney Graber Memorial Award are

  • graduate students in the Human Development and Child Studies department pursuing a degree in Special Education
  • a GPA of 3.0 or higher
  • preference given to those students who have completed at least 12 hours of his or her graduate coursework
  • financial need is not required, but may be considered

2013 recipients Randy DeRyckere and Iman Jaradi with Jeffrey Graber, Bob Graber, Donna Mitchell, Interim Dean Maxfield and Associate Dean Brown

donate online
If you would like to help the Graber Scholarship grow, you can give online or contact the School of Education and Human Services development office at or (248) 370-4233.

Dr. Sidney Graber's children, who established the Sidney W. Graber Memorial Award: Jeffrey Graber, Donna Mitchell, Ruth Shelley Pickney and Robert Graber
apply now

To request a paper application, email or contact the Human Development and Child Studies department at (248) 370-3077.

Application Deadline
February 6, 2015

Applicants are notified at the end of the term prior to term in which award is to be used.

For further information, contact:
Department Chair, Human Development and Child Studies
405B Pawley Hall
Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-3077

2014 Tammy Daigneau
Maureen Lynch
2013 Iman Jaradi
Randy DeRyckere
Erin Osgood
2012 Carolyn Bellingar
Lindsey Nader
Judith Runco
Sara Zimmerman
2010 Brett Ceriotti, Jr
Amy Granger
Barbara Lienemann
Justin Luce
2009 Eric Rossler
2008 Marissa Brown
Sara VanNostrand
Susan Dropiewski
Susan Fascio-Vereen
Jan Graetz
Laurie Hyde
Julie Ricks-Doneen
Erica Ruegg
2006 Timothy Finkel
Laurie Hyde
Heather Midkiff
2005 Christina Harding
Susan Husken
Brian Spitsbergen
2004 Amy Corda
2002 Terese Dillon
Bonnie Bailey
Thomas Tomich
2000 M. Davi Chandrasekaran