Menu Menu

Harold and Pearl Cafone Graduate Studies Award

Professor Emeritus Harold Cafone came to the Reading and Language Arts Department in 1966 and was a leader in SEHS for more than two decades. He was committed to community service, and was a reading tutor and mentor in the Pontiac schools. Dr. Cafone was instrumental in the development of the Ph.D. program in Reading and is also remembered for his early involvement in the Guizhou Education Exchange Program. He was one of the founders of the SEHS China Summer English Language Institute, which sends OU-trained volunteers to China every summer. Through this unique program, Chinese graduate students come to OU to earn their MAT in Reading and Language Arts. Dr. Cafone, along with his wife, Pearl, was known for his thoughtfulness and generosity in reaching out to these guests, often entertaining the Chinese students at their home for the holidays. He is remembered by friends and colleagues as a kind and generous man and an exceptional teacher with a great sense of humor.

Award Information
Awards may vary from year to year with a maximum of $1,500 being awarded annually. Awards may be used to support tuition and other costs of the Guizhou - Oakland University Education Exchange program.

Eligible students for the Harold and Pearl Cafone Graduate Studies Award are

  • graduate students in the Reading and Language Arts department
  • have outstanding scholarly achievement and financial need
  • part of the Guizhou - Oakland University Education Exchange program

Cafone recipients Ying Yu and Yuyang Xie

If you would like to help the Cafone Award grow, you can give online or contact the School of Education and Human Services development office at or (248) 370-4233.

To request a paper application, email or contact the Reading and Language Arts department at (248) 370-3054.

Application Deadline: To Be Announced

For further information, contact:
Department Chair, Reading and Language Arts 
490A Pawley Hall
Oakland University
Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370-3054

2013 Yongjiao He
Ning Ma
Defeng Chen 
2012 Mei An
Xiangqun Li
Deqi Sun
Yuyang Xie
Ying Yu
2010 Tao Chen
Chaoqi Jin
Yadan Jiang
2009 Li Pei
Yao Zhang