Menu Menu

Contact OUPD

911 AT
OU
OUPD
DIRECTORY
MAP TO
OUPD
CONTACT OUPD
BY CELL PHONE
CONTACT OUPD
BY TEXT MESSAGE

   
The OUPD operates a state-of-the-art dispatch operations center staffed by highly trained police personnel. These individuals handle emergency calls for police, fire and emergency medical assistance, as well as non-emergency calls and inquires. 
 

How do I reach OUPD in an emergency?

  • Dial 911 from a campus phone
  • Dial 248-370-3331 from a cell phone
  • Send a text message to 67283.  Include "OUPD" at the beginning of your message.

What if I dial 911 by mistake?

DO NOT hang up the telephone. Instead, wait on the line until you make contact with the Dispatcher.  If you hang up, the Dispatcher is required to call you back.  If you cannot be contacted a Police Officer will be dispatched to your location.



Edit tab Direct link

Oakland University Police
2200 North Squirrel Road          (Map)
Rochester, Michigan 48309

police@oakland.edu

Police / Fire / Medical Emergency: 911 or Text "OUPD + Message" to 67283
Dispatch Operations Center: 248-370-3331
Police Fax: 248-370-3341
School Closing Hotline: 248-370-2000
Parking Enforcement Office: 248-370-2826
TDD: 248-370-3337
Oakland University Switchboard: 248-370-2100
  
 
  T. Armstrong Dispatcher 248-370-3331 armstrong@oakland.edu
  A. Basin Police Officer 248-370-3331 basin@oakland.edu
  B. Beldo Police Officer 248-370-3331 beldo@oakland.edu
  D. Birkholz Police Officer 248-370-3331 birkholz@oakland.edu
  D. Blalock Sergeant 248-370-3334 blalock@oakland.edu
  R. Brown Police Officer 248-370-3331 rabrown@oakland.edu
  S. Collins Detective 248-370-2564 collins2@oakland.edu
  T. DeMeritt Sergeant 248-370-3334 demeritt@oakland.edu
  D. Dennard Police Officer 248-370-3331 dennard@oakland.edu
  L. Dugan Police Officer 248-370-3331 dugan@oakland.edu
  M. Gordon Chief of Police 248-370-3000 mbgordon@oakland.edu

A. Haywood Dispatcher 248-370-3331 akhaywoo@oakland.edu

K. Kiley IT Administrator 248-370-2565 kiley@oakland.edu
  T. Landry Parking Enforcement Administration 248-370-2826 landry@oakland.edu

K. McWain Assistant to the Chief of Police 248-370-3000 mcwain@oakland.edu
  S. O'Neill Sergeant 248-370-3334 oneill@oakland.edu
  K. Romstad IT Specialist 248-370-3407 romstad@oupolice.com
  C. Roscano Sergeant 248-370-3334 roscano@oakland.edu

T. Ross Operations Lieutenant 248-370-3339 ross@oakland.edu
  R. Sampson Police Officer 248-370-3331 sampson@oakland.edu

A. Spencer Police Officer 248-370-3331 spencer@oakland.edu
  N. Thompson Administrative Lieutenant 248-370-2721 teske@oakland.edu
  B. Vanderford Police Officer 248-370-3331 vanderfo@oakland.edu
  J. Wyatt Dispatcher 248-370-3331 wyatt@oakland.edu
  R. Zettel Police Officer 248-370-3331 zettel@oakland.edu


Edit tab Direct link
 


Edit tab Direct link

Getting a hold of the Oakland University Police has never been easier. From any campus phone, just dial 911. But if you’re using a cell phone, 911 may not be the quickest way to reach us. It’s best to store us as a contact in your cell phone before you need to call us. If you find yourself in an emergency, you may not have the time to look our number up. 

Start by creating a new contact. If you place a “1” before our name, we will always appear at the top of your contacts list so you can find us quickly. Add 248-370-3331 as our phone number. 

Now, enter 67283 as a second phone number. This will allow you to text message us if you can’t call.  Remember, you must always start every text message to us with the letters "OUPD." 

Even though we can receive text message, it is always best to call and speak directly to the OUPD. This will ensure the fastest response during an emergency. 

Due to text message limitations, the OUPD may not be able to respond to your specific message, so it is imperative that you send enough information to initiate police response.  Lastly, remember to silence your mobile device during an emergency if you think the sound may hinder your ability to stay safe.

For more information on text messaging the OUPD, please call our Dispatch Operations Center at 248-370-3331. 





Edit tab Direct link

To text message the OUPD, send "OUPD" plus your message to 67283.  Even though we can receive text message, it is always best to call and speak directly to the OUPD. This will ensure the fastest response during an emergency. 

Due to text message limitations, the OUPD may not be able to respond to your specific message, so it is imperative that you send enough information to initiate police response.  Lastly, remember to silence your mobile device during an emergency if you think the sound may hinder your ability to stay safe.

For more information on text messaging the OUPD, please call our Dispatch Operations Center at 248-370-3331. 

Please Note:  The OUPD cannot receive messages that include pictures.





Edit tab Direct link