Menu Menu

Honors and Accomplishments






Students

2014

Tuesday, November 18
   Oakland University students earn top 10 finish at MHacks competition for their design of a diabetes app (Patch.com)

Friday, November 14
   Roasting good coffee is a learning experience (Battle Creek Enquirer)

Monday, November 3
   WJBK Names Amy Andrews 11 A.M. Anchor (TV News Check)

Monday, October 27
   Sparky Anderson Award for Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy: Mark Hooven (Crain's Detroit Business)

Wednesday, September 17
   OU Launches Nation's First Student Chapter of the Society of Automotive Analysts (dBusiness)
   OU Launches Nation's First Student Chapter of the Society of Automotive Analysts (dBusiness)

Wednesday, September 3
   Local collegiate teams recognized for more than just athletic feats (C&G Newspapers)

Wednesday, July 16
    Teen singer to release first album (C&G Newspapers)

Friday, June 6
   Student Still In Med School Making Difference In Fight Against Stroke (WWJ-CBS)
   Miss USA 2014 Contestants Pictures: Meet 51 Women Competing For Crown, Spot In Miss Universe Beauty Pageant (Latin Times)

Wednesday, May 28
   RHS grad earns Oakland University's top honor (Romeo Observer)
   Theatre instructor will be on the big screen in 'The Fault in Our Stars' (Fox 2)

Tuesday, May 20
   Novak earns Matilda R. Wilson Award (Oakland Press)

Friday, May 9
    Clubs honor members, community leaders for jobs well done (Macomb Daily)

Wednesday, May 7
   'The Fault in Our Stars' movie features Lorain native (Mining Journal)

Tuesday, April 29
   OU Honors College student wins prestigious Fulbright Award (Automation Alley)

Monday, April 21
    OU's Brass Band wins chance to compete in England (Oakland Press)

Monday, April 14
   OU Brass Band brings home awards in international competitions (Noodls)

Tuesday, April 8
    Oakland University Music, Theatre and Dance MaTilDa Awards Set for this Weekend (Broadway World)

Friday, March 28
   Rochester band Blue Mountain Belle releases debut EP (Oakland Press)
   SABEW honors biz news, Michiganers land MAB awards, and more recognition for pubcasters (Current.org)

Thursday, March 13
   Oakland's Travis Bader an Internet sensation after heady play (Free Press)

Thursday, March 6
  Oakland's Travis Bader an Internet sensation after heady play (Free Press)
  Yashinsky: Oakland U's Travis Bader is Worthy of NBA Consideration (Deadline Detroit)

Saturday, March 1
   2014 Horizon League Championships: Newcomers Make Impactful First Impression, Oakland Sweeps Team Titles (Swim Swam)

Wednesday, Feb. 19
    Former Fraser baseball star gets jersey retired by Oakland University (C&G News)

Monday, Feb. 17
   Canada's Alexandra Paul, Mitchell Islam finish 18th in Olympic ice dancing debut (Yahoo.com)
   Oakland University basketball completes regular-season sweep against University of Detroit Mercy (C&G News)

Tuesday, Feb. 11
   Skaters trained by OU instructors compete in Olympics (Oakland Press)

Saturday, Feb. 8
   Travis Bader Breaks NCAA’s Three-Point Record (WBUR Boston)

Wednesday, Feb. 5
   Winter Olympics ice dancing competition to feature Oakland University political science students (OC Prosper)

Tuesday, Feb. 4
   WXOU takes college station of the year award for 3rd year (Oakland Press)
   Local ice skaters, OU students, head to Winter Olympics (C&G)

Sunday, Feb. 2
   Oakland University's Travis Bader breaks all-time NCAA 3-point record in loss (Oakland Press)

Friday, Jan. 31
   Michigan Olympians hope to realize dreams (Detroit News)
   Oakland’s Bader Closing In On 3-Point Record (CBS Detroit)
   Michigan Olympians hope to realize dreams (Detroit News)

Thursday, Jan. 30
   PGA Tour golfer and Jackson native Brian Stuard eyes his biggest prize: winning a tournament (Mlive)
   Oakland's Bader closing in on 3-point record (Oakland Press)
   Oakland's Bader closing in on 3-point record (ESPN)

Monday, Jan. 27
   Oakland University's Kahlil Felder honored by Horizon League (WXYZ-TV)
   After improbable start to career, Oakland's Travis Bader closing in on NCAA record for three-pointers made (Free Press)

Wednesday, Jan. 22
   Winter Olympics ice dancing competition to feature Oakland University political science students (Noodls)
   OU Students Have Eyes on Gold at Winter Olympics in Sochi (Rochester Hills Patch)

Monday, Jan. 20
   Hollywood Director Honors Students Working for Diversity (MY20-TV)

Wednesday, Jan. 15
   Oakland's Travis Bader is the sharpest of sharpshooters (USA Today)

Tuesday, Jan. 14
   Oakland University students’ car at auto show (Oakland Press)
   Win over rival Detroit steadies Oakland early in Horizon League play (Oakland Press)

Sunday, Jan. 12
   Oakland 77, Detroit Mercy 69: Big second half gives Golden Grizzlies win at Calihan Hall (Free Press)
   Oakland University basketball rallies late to defeat Detroit, 77-69 (Mlive)

Saturday, Jan. 11
   Oakland women get first-ever Horizon win over Detroit (Oakland Press)
   Oakland men's basketball beats the University of Detroit Mercy in first-ever Horizon League clash (C&G News)

Friday, Jan. 3
   Obama Recognizes OU Instructor With Presidential Award for Excellence (Rochester Patch)
   OU prof honored by President Obama (Oakland Press)

Thursday, Jan. 2
   OU's Travis Bader sets NCAA Division 1 career 3-point record against Milwaukee (Mlive)
   Oakland's Travis Bader closing in on NCAA three point record (Free Press)

Wednesday, Jan. 1
   OU’s Nick Kristock earns Senior CLASS Award (Oakland Press)







Faculty

2014

Monday, September 29
   Oakland University leader named among Esteemed Women of Michigan (Patch.com)
   Oakland University senior associate provost named among Esteemed Women of Michigan (Automation Alley)

Tuesday, September 23
   Oakland University: Betty J. Youngblood appointed to VP position (Patch.com)
   Betty J. Youngblood appointed Oakland University's VP for organizational development and strategic planning (Automation Alley)

Thursday, September 18
   People on the move (Oakland Press)

Wednesday, September 3
   Music prof. publishes iBook of songs for kids (Sherman Publications)
   Local collegiate teams recognized for more than just athletic feats (C&G Newspapers)

Tuesday, July 15
   17 Spine Surgeons Receive Leadership Award (Becker's Health Care)

Tuesday, June 10
   “The Fault in Our Stars” actress coming to Birmingham for meet and greet (Oakland Press)

Friday, June 6
   Review: ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ a romance doomed at Day 1 (Oakland Press)
   OU lecturer has her act together in film roles (Detroit News)
   The Fault In Our Stars: An “A+” Moving Love Story (WWJ-CBS)

Thursday, June 5
   5 Things You Didn’t Know About ‘The Fault In Our Stars’ (Amp Radio)

Sunday, June 1
   Oakland University theater teacher plays mother of male lead in 'Stars' (Free Press)
Friday, May 30
   OU Theatre instructor in 'The Fault in Our Stars' (Patch)

Wednesday, May 28

   Theatre instructor will be on the big screen in 'The Fault in Our Stars' (Fox 2)

Tuesday, May 27
   Oakland U. instructor to appear in “The Fault in Our Stars” (Macomb Daily)
   Oakland U. instructor to appear in “The Fault in Our Stars” (Oakland Press)

Wednesday, May 7
    'The Fault in Our Stars' movie features Lorain native (Mining Journal)

Monday, April 28
   Oakland University School of Education faculty make the honor roll (Patch)

Tuesday, Feb. 11
   Skaters trained by OU instructors compete in Olympics (Oakland Press)

Tuesday, Jan. 14
   Regina Carter returns to OU stage Saturday, Jan. 18 (Oakland Press)
   Regina Carter to Play Oakland University, 1/18 (Broadway World)

Wednesday, Jan. 8
    2 Michigan teachers receive presidential honors in math, science (Free Press)

Friday, Jan. 3
   Obama Recognizes OU Instructor With Presidential Award for Excellence (Rochester Patch)
   OU prof honored by President Obama (Oakland Press)







Staff

2014


Friday, December 19
   Oakland University Campus Recreation team members bring home 2014 MIRSA awards (Patch)

Thursday, December 18
   Young promoted to vice president of communications/marketing at Oakland (Midland Daily News)

Wednesday, December 17
   Oakland U promotes John Young to VP of communications, marketing (Crain's)

Friday, December 12
   John O. Young promoted to VP of Communications & Marketing for Oakland University (Automation Alley)

Thursday, December 11
   John O. Young promoted to VP of Communications and Marketing at Oakland University (Patch)
   Auburn Hills DDA member is named new V.P. at OU (Oakland Press)
   Auburn Hills DDA member is named new V.P. at OU (Morning Sun)

Sunday, November 30
   Business leaders in the news (Free Press)

Tuesday, September 2
   Pagel, Utica High grad and basketball standout, returns to coach at OU (C&G Newspapers)

Tuesday, May 13
   Amy Butler of Rochester Hills elected to board of EIBC (Patch)
   OU INC's executive director elected to board of EIBC (Automation Alley)

Monday, Jan. 27
   The Oakland County Executive's Elite 40 under 40 Class of 2014 is Ready - Public Picks the Winner Online (Noodls)







Alumni, Supporters &  Friends

2014


Friday, December 12
   Three finalists named for Saginaw police chief job (Mlive)


Thursday, December 11
   Lighthouse names new CEO (Oakland Press)

Sunday, November 30
   Business leaders in the news (Free Press)

Tuesday, November 25
   Liberia: Will the New Education Minister Change the System? (All Africa.com)

Friday, November 21
   Rochester Hills' natural features lead 30 years of growth (Oakland Press)

Thursday, October 30
   Thursday's roundup: Michigan's Brian Stuard two back (Detroit News)
   Oakland U. Nightingale Scholarships change lives (Patch.com)
   Thursday's roundup: Michigan's Brian Stuard two back (Detroit News)
   Oakland U. Nightingale Scholarships change lives (Patch.com)

Sunday, October 26
   Customer service, voter turnout priorities in Secretary of State race (C&G Newspapers)

Friday, October 3
   Jane Harper, 39 - 40 Under 40 (Crain's Detroit Business)

Wednesday, September 24
   Nominate an outstanding nurse for the Nightingale Awards for Nursing Excellence (Automation Alley)

Tuesday, September 16
   Secretary Of State Ruth Johnson Information (WLNS Lansing)

Friday, September 12
   Auburn Hills names Tom Tanghe city manager (Oakland Press)

Thursday, September 4
   James Schwarz named new superintendent of Avondale Schools (C&G Newspapers)

Thursday, August 28
   Detroit Jazz Festival Music: Walter White's 'Most Triumphant' (WEMU Ypsilanti)

Sunday, August 24
   Robert E. Johnson, president, Becker College (Telegram Towns)

Thursday, August 21
   Kristine M. Wolfe, CAE, Receives NAIFA's 2014 C. Carney Smith Award (Insurance News Net)

Wednesday, August 13
   Romance novelist rekindles writing (C&G Newspapers)

Tuesday, August 12
   Retired engineer's oil paintings at Lawrence Street Gallery in Ferndale (Oakland Press)

Monday, August 4
   Gary Peters Biography (WLNS Lansing)

Wednesday, July 30
   New director, new website, new look (C&G Newspapers)

Monday, July 28
   Congratulations Michael Medvinsky! (Bloomfield Hills Schools)

Tuesday, July 15
   Thomas Boyd Named Dean and Vice President of Kaplan University (Business Wire)

Sunday, July 13
   Business leaders in the news (Free Press)

Monday, July 7
   Lexicon Announces Appointment of Lonnel Coats as President and Chief Executive Officer (Wall Street Journal)

Monday, May 5
   Anton receives honorary doctorate degree from Oakland University (Macomb Daily)

Saturday, April 12
   Oakland University co-founder honored during Women in History Month (Oakland Press)

Friday, Feb. 21
    Martin named marketing director for University Liggett (Macomb Daily)

Thursday, Feb. 20
   Detroit Country Day teacher recognized as Oakland University alumni of the ear (Oakland Press)

Wednesday, Feb. 5
   Jackson golfer Brian Stuard walking with the stars in 2014 (Detroit News)

Thursday, Jan. 30
   PGA Tour golfer and Jackson native Brian Stuard eyes his biggest prize: winning a tournament (Mlive)
   Oakland's Bader closing in on 3-point record (Oakland Press)
   Oakland's Bader closing in on 3-point record (ESPN)

Tuesday, Jan. 14
   Regina Carter returns to OU stage Saturday, Jan. 18 (Oakland Press)
   Regina Carter to Play Oakland University, 1/18 (Broadway World)

Friday, Jan. 10
   Former OU player Stuard takes first round lead at Sony Open (Oakland Press)







University, College, Schools and Departments

2014

Wednesday, November 12
   Chamber honors Sunrise Pinnacle Award winners (C&G Newspapers)

Monday, September 29
   Oakland University Shines! (Auburn Hills.com)
Sunday, June 29
   Southeast Michigan's most innovative companies (Crain's)

Tuesday, May 20
   FEV North America, Inc. Announces Winners of 2014 FEV Powertrain Development Award (WTHR)

Wednesday, May 14
   Meadow Brook Music Festival celebrates 50 years (Patch)

Tuesday, Jan. 21
    OU's School of Business Administration Maintains Dual AACSB Accreditation (Rochester Hills Patch)