Menu Menu

Communications and Marketing
Anibal House
2200 N. Squirrel Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4401 (map)
Fax: (248) 370-3182

Press: (248) 370-4346


Faculty & Staff

Monday, October 05, 2015

Road construction update near OU campus.

Friday, October 02, 2015

The university’s total enrollment set a new record of 20,711 students, an increase of nearly 200 students over the previous year.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

As part of its mission, the Center will enhance learning opportunities at OU, as well as promote religious literacy in the surrounding community.

Monday, September 28, 2015

A new Rochester-themed collaboration brings OU's Honors College together with a school in Rochester, Kent, England.

Friday, September 25, 2015

Jean Ann Miller, OU's director for student activities and leadership development, demonstrates her dedication through a $25,000 commitment that will go toward scholarships and student organizations.

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Actress and LGBT advocate Laverne Cox will speak on campus on Oct. 8.

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Elliott Tower wins “The Michigan Plaque” from the Keep Michigan Beautiful Annual Awards contest.

Thursday, September 10, 2015

This year's freshman class is remarkable for its size and strong academic profile.

Tuesday, September 08, 2015

OU achieved the silver-level designation on the Michigan Veterans Affairs Agency's 2015-2016 list of Veteran-Friendly Schools.

Thursday, September 03, 2015

We look forward to another year of growth and achievement! This is Oakland University, where the aspiring can rise.

Thursday, August 20, 2015

"As I enter my “sophomore” year at OU, I am committed to enhancing Oakland’s status as a first-choice destination for college-bound high school graduates in the metropolitan area we serve."

Wednesday, August 05, 2015

One of only two barns left standing on campus, the historic Meadow Brook barn was restored using reclaimed lumber and painted a bright yellow.

Monday, August 03, 2015

The new dean will serve as chief academic and administrative officer of the libraries, while providing vision, leadership and planning for library staff.

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

The new BS to MPA '4+1' program allows students to obtain a bachelor's and master's degree in public administration in 5 years.

Friday, July 24, 2015

Doris Plantus wrote a novella, "Sihastrul: The Hermit," in Romanian and English. The story invites readers to reimagine the history of the world.

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

English professor Jeffrey Chapman and alumnus Kahn Santori Davison each received a $25,000 fellowship from the Troy-based Kresge Foundation.

Tuesday, July 07, 2015

Board votes to increase base tuition for the 2015-2016 school year by $30 per credit hour for incoming resident freshmen, or 8.48 percent.

Wednesday, July 01, 2015

"Comcast Newsmakers" featuring OU leaders will air between local programming over the next several months.

Monday, June 29, 2015

The Galileo Institute for Teacher Leadership at OU is one of nearly 70 sponsor organizations helping teachers develop and lead innovative programs for students in their districts.

Thursday, June 25, 2015

Garry Gilbert’s feature about an OU employee’s road to recovery after a severe car accident has earned local and national praise

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Crystal VanKooten recently received the Hugh Burns Best Dissertation Award from the journal "Computers and Composition."

Friday, June 12, 2015

Keith Berven and Scott Tiegs surveyed amphibian and reptile populations in northern Ecuador. Dr. Berven first surveyed the area in 1971.

Thursday, June 11, 2015

Dr. Petrescu will begin her tenure officially on Monday, Aug. 10, 2015.

Friday, June 05, 2015

The minor combines historical, social science, interpersonal and institutional investigations of sexualities, sexual identities and gender identities in U.S. and global contexts.

Wednesday, June 03, 2015

Several OU alumni and faculty members worked on the feature film "Beyond the Mask," which opens in theaters this weekend.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Mark Stone performs with the Bernard Woma Ensemble on May 21 in South Africa as part of a world music concert series.

Friday, May 08, 2015

Dr. Barbara Oakley, who teaches in OU's Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, won top honors from the American Society of Engineering Education.

Monday, May 04, 2015

OU seniors Spencer Marentette and Kayla Fike received the Alfred G. and Matilda R. Wilson awards respectively, while senior Brittany Hall won the Human Relations Award.

Friday, May 01, 2015

Ceremonies will be held on Friday, May 1 and Saturday, May 2 in the O'rena. Event and traffic updates will be posted to the Oakland University Police Department Twitter @OUPD.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Dr. Richard Rozek carries the symbolic mace at all Oakland University commencements and convocations. As the University marshal, Rozek will also lead the procession at the April 29 inauguration of OU's 6th president, George W. Hynd.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

More than 200 academic advisors from 38 institutions across Michigan are expected to participate in the event.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Competing against the region's professional publications, The Oakland Post brings home awards from the Detroit Society of Professional Journalists.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Faculty members honored for their scholarly achievements, dedication, path-breaking discoveries in research and critical teaching roles in educating the leaders of tomorrow.

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Assistant Professor of Psychology Dr. Kanako Taku and her students are studying the personal growth that happens after a person recovers from trauma.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

This 2015 Student Leadership Conference brings together students, faculty and administrators from Oakland University, Oakland Schools and Oakland County high schools.

Wednesday, April 08, 2015

The inauguration will be immediately followed by a community reception – faculty, staff, students, alumni, community members and university delegates from across the country will be attending.

Tuesday, April 07, 2015

When faculty bring new ideas and innovation to market, Oakland University shares the spotlight, fortifying its reputation for research and attracting enterprising students.

Friday, April 03, 2015

With an eye toward cultivating knowledge and spurring dialogue, OU's second annual TEDx Conference is themed "Aspire to Rise."

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Merry Ellen Scofield, Ph.D., CAS ’02, landed her dream job as assistant editor on the Jefferson Papers project at Princeton University.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

To celebrate and encourage academic progress, sophomores can obtain their shirt during an academic advising appointment and then wear it to the April 7 event to win prizes.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Terrance McCain, a visiting professor in OU's Department of Counseling, looked at the social dynamics influencing academic achievement in African American male students.

Friday, March 20, 2015

Assistant professor Dr. Jason Goldstick and his collaborators will use a $100,000 grant to continue a long-term study of drug use in Flint, Michigan.

Thursday, March 19, 2015

OU senior Laura Tack is working with Professor Jonathan Silberman on monthly economic reports for the School of Business Administration's Data Center website.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

The talk was led by Drs. Janet E. Graetz and Chaturi Edrisinha, both of whom teach in OU’s Department of Human Development and Child Studies.

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

Faculty and staff will learn from leading experts on creating a culture of inclusion at OU at the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Conference. Register by Friday, March 20.

Friday, March 13, 2015

Michael Ross, professor of political science at the University of California Los Angeles, will visit OU for a lecture at 7 p.m. March 26, in Meadow Brook Hall.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

Students in the Model UN student org can earn credits in political science while developing research and communication skills and competing around the country.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

President Hynd, along with OU students, faculty, staff and alumni spent the day at Michigan’s Capitol building.

Tuesday, March 03, 2015

A panel discussion on March 9 will share insights on how women can excel in STEM fields by participating in research and with a gender studies approach.

Friday, February 27, 2015

Infrastructure and courses help build morale towards energy efficiency, from the power supplied to the campus to the School of Engineering and Computer Science itself.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Laurie Shano, an advisor in the School of Education and Human Services, works with OU students at the Macomb University Center in Clinton Township.

Monday, February 16, 2015

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra is offering the Oakland University campus community discounted tickets for acclaimed organist Cameron Carpenter's Monday, Feb. 23, performance featuring the International Touring Organ.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

Deborah (Blair) VanderLinde, associate professor of music education, releases the latest installment in her "Songs for You and Me" series.

Thursday, February 12, 2015

According to Dr. Hew-Butler, recommendations such as drinking 8 oz. every 20 minutes are not only unnecessary, but can be life-threatening.

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Oakland University's online M.Ed. in Special Education degree ranked among the best by

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

American Society of Engineering Education ranks OU among national leaders, following national trend of growing percentages of women engineering faculty.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

This five-year accreditation fulfills a promise to build an innovative new medical school in Oakland County committed to providing exceptional training for new physicians.

Friday, February 06, 2015

A total of 786 faculty, staff and retirees contributed $388,814, surpassing the campaign’s goal and beating last year’s total by more than $34,000.

Friday, January 30, 2015

Dr. Chopp's research focuses on developing treatments for stroke, uncovering therapeutic approaches for injured brain tissue that can significantly reduce neurological damage.

Friday, January 30, 2015

Community outreach program connects Oakland University nursing students with area homeless to offer health assessments and tips for healthy living.

Friday, January 30, 2015

University systems in Spain and Sweden adopt Oakland University’s Orthopedic Manual Physical Therapy (OMPT) methods for instruction.

Monday, January 26, 2015

Kerro Knox has earned the prestigious Kennedy Center Gold Medallion Award from the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Luke Fleer, regional director of development, was named to this year’s class, which recognizes outstanding professionals who live or work in Oakland County.

Monday, January 19, 2015

After a 40 year career, retired counselor Camille Klimecki challenges alums to start a new tradition of donating first and last paychecks.

Friday, January 16, 2015

The Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Initiative of OU's School of Education and Human Services will host the Michigan SOGI Education Conference on Friday, Feb. 6.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Jonathan Silberman, Ph.D., suggests structural reforms such as bringing innovation to sectors that are isolated from global competition, like government, education and healthcare.

Monday, January 12, 2015

In his new position, Dr. Crabill will oversee academic advising and work with faculty on curriculum development, among other duties.

Monday, January 05, 2015

Students in Dr. Per-Erik Milam’s introduction to ethics in science and engineering class had the unique opportunity to dialogue with members of NASA’s HI-SEAS Mission 3 crew.