Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr Google Plus
News Archive

Thursday, April 11, 2013 - Business honor society celebrates 25 years at OU

The Oakland University School of Business Administration chapter of the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) honor society celebrates its 25th anniversary this month.

This year also marks Beta Gamma Sigma’s 100th year as an honor society. The organization, founded in 1913, serves business programs accredited by AACSB International -- The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

Beta Gamma Sigma, which encourages and honors academic achievements in the study of business and fosters professional excellence among its members, inducted its newest Oakland University members in April. Chosen by faculty, students are invited into the society and recognized for their business acumen. This year, the SBA chapter also honors George Corona MBA '85, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Kelly Services, for his distinctive achievements in business. (Previous chapter honorees are listed below).

To be eligible, students must be in the top 7 percent of the junior, top 10 percent in senior class, top 20 percent of the graduating master's class, or have completed all requirements to receive a doctorate degree.

“Only the best students at AACSB accredited schools of business are invited to join, so it’s an acknowledgment of their hard work and effort,” says Seth Treptow, communications director for Beta Gamma Sigma. “It is also a signal to others, that they are one of the best students at one of the world’s best business schools.”

The 2013 class will be in prestigious company when they are inducted in April. Worldwide membership to the society is comprised of more than 700,000 business professionals residing in all 50 states and 160 countries. More than 1,100 Oakland University School of Business Administration graduates are included among those.

Past Beta Gamma Sigma Honorees


George H. Seifert


Eugene A. Miller


James R. Wilbert


Michael W. Grieves


Thatcher W. Root


C.S. Bud Kulesza


A. Jacqueline Dout


Dale E. Greene


Tommi A. White


Rebecca R. Smith


Stuart D. Doyle


Lynne Ellyn


Mark J. Mendola


Craig Stinson


Joseph R. Angileri


Edward Eickhoff


Robert Dutkiewicz


Donald A. Pietrowski


Robert J. Manilla


Michael G. Bickers


George Corona


AcademicsUndergraduate AdmissionsGraduate AdmissionsOnline ProgramsSchool of MedicineProfessional & Continuing EducationHousingFinancial Aid & ScholarshipsTuitionAbout OUCurrent Student ResourcesAcademic DepartmentsAcademic AdvisingEmergenciesFinancial ServicesGeneral EducationGet InvolvedGraduate StudiesGraduation & CommencementKresge LibraryOU BookstoreRegistrationAthleticsGive to OUGrizzlinkAlumni EngagementCommunity ResourcesDepartment of Music, Theatre & DanceMeadow Brook HallMeadow Brook TheatreOU Art GalleryPawley InstituteGolf and Learning CenterRecreation CenterUniversity Human ResourcesAdministrationCenter for Excellence in Teaching & LearningInstitutional Research & AssessmentInformation TechnologyReport a Behavioral ConcernTrainingAcademic Human Resources
Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309-4401 | (248) 370-2100 | Contact OU | OU-Macomb
Coordinate map of Auburn Hills Entrance