Menu Menu

News Archive

Thursday, March 14, 2013 - OU's student radio station queues up numerous awards
Students from Oakland University’s campus radio station WXOU 88.3 FM collected numerous awards on Wednesday, March 13, at the Great Lakes Broadcasting Conference in Lansing, including the College Station of the Year Award for the second year running. Presented by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters, the awards were announced in January.

Oakland students were recognized in nearly every category. Patrick Cymbalski and Sean Varicalli took first and second place for Air Check, and the team of Sean Varicalli, Ashley Allison, and Don Tottingham took second place in the Daily Newscast/News Feature category.

Ashley Allison and Nicholas Rolling took first place for MIARNG Current Events Program, and the team of Sean Varicalli, Ashley Allison, and Josh Nagy received an honorable mention for Public Service Announcement.

In the Sports Play-by-Play category, Matt Pocket and Bryan Everson took first place while Don Tottingham and Marc Jacobs received an honorable mention. OU students dominated the Promotional Announcement category, with Sean Varicalli and Josh Nagy in second place, and Christina Venditti and Josh Nagy tied with Kyle Bauer for honorable mention.

Lastly, Sean Varicalli and Ashley Allison took second place for the Station Activities Report.

For more on WXOU-FM (88.3), visit the website at