Department of Mathematics
and Statistics

Mathematics and Science Center, Room 368
146 Library Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4479
(location map)
phone: (248) 370-3430
fax: (248) 370-4184

Monday–Friday: 8:00–11:59 a.m. and 1:00–5:00 p.m.

Scholarships and Awards

Visit the Student Financial Services website to view all Oakland University scholarships and awards.


Scholarship for Statistics Students

The Deming Scholarship fund was established in the late 1980s by Professors Harvey Arnold and David Downing, and subsequently was augmented with substantial contributions from the Automotive Division of the American Society for Quality. Graduate students in statistics degree programs are eligible for consideration. Selection criteria include academic performance and potential as a practicing statistician.

Past award winners

  • Dawn Proper
  • Mary Pannone
  • Michael Kadar
  • Ileana Gonzalez
  • Nibedita Bandyopadhyay
  • Tracy Wu
  • Feiyi Jia
  • Holly Kielbowicz
  • Gary Radka
  • Jon Oaks
  • Shannon Hunter
  • Greg Koscik

Louis R. Bragg Graduating Senior Award

The award was initiated in 1995 by a gift from Professor Lou Bragg and is intended for graduating seniors in the mathematical sciences.  The award is normally given to one individual in the mathematical sciences (mathematics, mathematics with secondary education, statistics, or actuarial science) per year.  (In rare circumstances, two graduates may share the award, or we may find no one deserving in a given year.) 

As for selection criteria, the awardee should, at the very minimum, qualify for departmental honors.  Beyond that, the Award Committee, consisting of three department faculty members, is permitted to develop its own criteria.  Some possibilities include examining the overall GPA, the GPA in the mathematical science courses, the level of difficulty of the mathematical science courses taken, participation in the Putnam competition, contributions in undergraduate research projects, leadership roles, and possible plans for graduate study.

1996–1997Danielle L. Driscoll
1997–1998Laura K. Anderson and Roxanne M. Feldpausch
1998–1999Darrin Hanna
1999–2000Matt Halfan
2000–2001David Houston
2001–2002Natalie Thomas
2002–2003Robert Dohner
2003–2004Daniel Steffy
2004–2005Mark Rasmussen
2005–2006Nathan Darter and Adam Tucker
2006–2007Elizabeth Cox
2007–2008Kevin Pate
2008–2009Nicholas Fireman
2009–2010Matthew Toeniskoetter
2010–2011Stephen Bodiya and Bruce Pell
2011–2012David King
2012–2013Joseph Meyer
2013–2014Nicole Bramos and Michael Zandi
2014–2015Nicole E. Stawasz
2015-2016Julian Venegas
2016-2017Justin Kelm