Linguistics Department
Human Health Building, Room 1024
433 Meadow Brook Road
Rochester, MI 48309-4452
(map)
(248) 370-2175
Fax: (248) 370-3144

Faculty and Staff

Linguistics Faculty
Faculty
Rebecca Gaydos
Special Instructor
Applied linguistics, ESL individualized instruction
1019 Human Health Building
(248) 370-2176
gaydos@oakland.edu
Headshot of Lisa LevinsonLisa Levinson
Associate Professor, Graduate Advisor
Semantics, Syntax, Morphology, Neurolinguistics
1023 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8806
levinson@oakland.edu
Kuniko Nielsen
Associate Professor
Phonetics, Psycholinguistics, Speech Perception and Production
1025 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8807
nielsen@oakland.edu
Samuel Rosenthall
Associate Professor
Phonology
1022 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8805
srosenth@oakland.edu
Michael B. Smith
Professor, Department Chair
Cognitive Linguistics, Syntax and Semantics, German and Russian Linguistics
1030 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8811
smith@oakland.edu

Matthew A. Tucker
Assistant Professor
Syntactic theory, Semitic linguistics

1018 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8848
matthewtucker@oakland.edu

Part-Time Instructors
Helena Riha

Helena Riha
Special Lecturer

1026 Human Health Building
riha2@oakland.edu

Melissa Vervinck
Special Lecturer

328A O'Dowd Hall
mevervi2@oakland.edu

Rhonda Yates
Special Lecturer

1026 Human Health Building
rmyatesr@oakland.edu

Teaching Assistant
Sara Nicholas
Linguistics Graduate Assistant

1026 Human Health Building
(248) 364-8801
senicholas@oakland.edu 

Emeritus Faculty

Peter J. Binkert
Emeritus
(Linguistics, Classic)
William Schwab
Emeritus
(Linguistics, English)
Daniel H. Fullmer
Emeritus
(Linguistics, English)
ESL Faculty
Melissa Vervinck
ESL Director

O'Dowd Hall, Room 328A
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(248) 370-4164
Steve AmmarSpecial Lecturerammar@oakland.edu
Monique Butler-DickersonSpecial Lecturermlbutler@oakland.edu
Bill ColemanSpecial Lecturerwgcoleman@oakland.edu
Mary DykstraSpecial Lecturermpdykstra@oakland.edu
Anita EssenburgSpecial Lectureressenbur@oakland.edu
Kasandra GallagherSpecial Lecturerklgallag@oakland.edu
Gleice Jones
Special Lecturer
gosilva@oakland.edu
Vida McAndrewSpecial Lecturermcandrew@oakland.edu
Kelly Michiya
Special Lecturer
kmmichiy@oakland.edu
Amy MusicSpecial Lectureraemusic@oakland.edu
Jonothan NemeSpecial Lecturerneme@oakland.edu
Angela SuperSpecial Lecturersuper@oakland.edu
Rhonda Yates
Special Lecturer
rmyatesr@oakland.edu
Felicia SaburESL Graduate Assistant326 O'Dowd Hall

Staff
Linda Hubarth
Linguistics Office Assistant II
1024 Human Health Building
(248) 370-2175
hubarth@oakland.edu
Kathleen Gnau
ESL Program Assistant
326 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 364-8803
gnau@oakland.edu