Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(location map)
(248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

Meet the Faculty and Staff

Department Chair
& Staff

Department Office

Phone: (248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Oakland University
Rochester, Michigan 48309-4482

Department Chairperson

Prof. Stephen Filler 
375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2070
filler@oakland.edu

Administrative Staff

Ms. Marilyn Uban
Administrative Secretary
373 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2061
uban@oakland.edu
Arabic

FACULTY IN ARABIC

Malik Balla
Adjunct Associate professor
balla@oakland.edu
310 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4604
Dunya Mikhail
Special Lecturer
mikhail@oakland.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
Chinese

FACULTY IN CHINESE

Hsiang-Hua (Melanie) Chang, Ph.D. 张相华

Associate Professor
Advisor for "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University, and GEO and CIEE programs in China, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan

chang23@oakland.edu
368 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4248

Mingming Liu, Ph.D. 刘明明

Assistant Professor
Director of "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University

mingmingliu@oakland.edu
354 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4357

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Yun Anoop Lee, Ph.D. 李韵婕
Special Lecturer
yunanoop@oakland.eduHonors College &
Modern Languages
372 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060
Xue Jiang, M.A. 姜雪
Special Lecturer
xjiang@oakland.eduModern Languages
372 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060
Han Zhang, M.A. 张菡
Lecturer

Honors College


ASIAN PROFESSORS EMERITI


Carlo Coppola
Professor Emerita of Hindi-Urdu
Munibur Rahman
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Hindi-Urdu
Amitendranath Tagore
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chinese

Interested in Becoming a Chinese Tutor?  Chinese Tutor Recommendation Policy
French

FACULTY IN FRENCH

Dikka Berven

Special Instructor
Advisor for GEO program in Angers, France,
and CIEE programs in Toulouse, Rennes and Paris, France
dberven@oakland.edu
353 O'Dowd Hall

(248) 370-2043
Stacey Hahn

Professor
Director of University of Orléans / Oakland University Exchange Program
shahn@oakland.edu
350 O’Dowd Hall

(248) 370-2062
Rebecca Josephy

Assistant Professor
rjosephy@oakland.edu
352 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2081
Jennifer Law-Sullivan

Associate Professor
Advisor for study abroad program in Montréal, Canada
law@oakland.edu
366 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2080

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Bernadette Donohue
Special Lecturer
donohue@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Jamila Doppke
Special Lecturer
doppke@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Christine Mouawad-Azzi
Lecturer
cmouawadazzi@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Maissa Saker
Special Lecturer
msaker@oakland.edu
(248) 370-2060
Emily Stow
Special Lecturer
stow@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060


PROFESSORS EMERITI

Dolores Burdick
Professor Emerita
Don R. Iodice (in memoriam)
Professor Emeritus
David Jaymes
Professor Emeritus
German

FACULTY IN GERMAN

Angineh Djavadghazaryans

Assistant Professor

357 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2063
Robert E. Mottram

Visiting Assistant Professor

mottram@oakland.edu
351 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-3991

Anja Wieden

Assistant Professor
Director of the Universität Oldenburg / Oakland University Student Exchange Program
Director of the Summer Study Abroad Program at Kapito in Münster

wieden@oakland.edu
358 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2071

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Tanita Ey
Lecturer
ey@oakland.edu133 O'Dowd Hall
Cornelia Schaible
Special Lecturer
echaible@oakalnd.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
Ulrike Treder
Special Lecturer
treder@oakland.edu133 O'Dowd Hall

PROFESSORS EMERITI

Jack Barthel
Professor Emeritus
Christopher Clason
Professor Emeritus
Renate Gerulatitis
Professor Emerita
Barbara Mabee
Professor Emerita
Jack R. Moeller
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Robert Simmons
Professor Emeritus
Hebrew

FACULTY IN HEBREW

Nira Lev
Lecturer
lev@oakland.edu376 O'Dowd Hall
Italian

FACULTY IN ITALIAN

Caterina Pieri

Special Lecturer
Advisor for Italian Study Abroad Programs
pieri@oakland.edu(248) 370-4304109 O'Dowd Hall
Gregory Tokarski

Special Lecturer
tokarski@oakland.edu(248) 370-4304122 O'Dowd Hall
Japanese

FACULTY IN JAPANESE

Stephen Filler

Associate Professor
Director of Nanzan University / Oakland University Exchange Program,
Advisor for Japan Center for Michigan Universities (JCMU) and CIEE study-in-Japan programs
filler@oakland.edu
375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2070
Akiko Kashiwagi-Wood

Associate Professor
kashiwag@oakland.edu
360 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4565
Artem Vorobiev

Visiting Assistant Professor
avorobiev@oakland.ed

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Yukiko Aigbedo
Special Lecturer
aigbedo@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Masako Hirokawa
Special Lecturer
mhirokaw@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Michele Plattenberger
Special Lecturer
plattenb@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Robert Thompson
Lecturer
rethompson@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall

PROFESSORS EMERITI

Seigo Nakao
Professor Emeritus
Spanish

FACULTY IN SPANISH

Adolfo Campoy-Cubillo

Associate Professor
campoycu@oakland.edu314 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2073
Mary Hartson

Associate Professor
hartson@oakland.edu312 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2001
Daniel Lorca

Associate Professor

lorca@oakland.edu

359 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2007
Juan Martínez Millán

Visiting Assistant Professor
martinezmillan@oakland.edu370 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2068
Aldona Pobutsky

Associate Professor
pobutsky@oakland.edu356 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2069
Raquel Prieta

Assistant Professor of Foreign Language Education
rprieta@oakland.edu370 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2153
Cecilia Saenz-Roby

Associate Professor
saenzrob@oakland.edu364 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2072
Julia Urla

Special Instructor
Advisor for GEO and CIEE programs in Spain, Mexico,
Central America, the Caribbean and Latin America
355 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2057


PROFESSORS EMERITI

Estela Moreno-Mazolli
Associate Professor Emerita
Frances Meuser
Associate Professor Emerita
Ronald F. Rapin
Associate Professor Emeritus
Carmen Urla
Professor Emerita


ADJUNCT FACULTY

Elizabeth Anderson
Lecturer
eanderso@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129
Fatima Ferreira
Special Lecturer
ferreira@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129 
Tara Gardner
Special Lecturer
gardner@oakland.edu(248) 370-2735
Angela Milliken
Special Lecturer
milliken@oakland.edu(248) 370-2735
Lisa Montes
Lecturer
(248) 370-2060
Maria Ploof
Special Lecturer
ploof@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Jose Saenz
Special Lecturer
saenz@oakland.edu(248) 370-2072
Karliana Sakas
Special Lecturer
sakas@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Mayra Schmalzried
Special Lecturer
schmalzr@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129
Emily Stow
Special Lecturer
stow@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Eyda Vaughn
Lecturer of Spanish
eevaughn@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Holly Walker-Cote
Special Lecturer
walker2@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129