Department of Modern Languages and Literatures
O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4482
(map)
(248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

Meet the Faculty and Staff

Department Chair
& Staff

Department Office

Phone: (248) 370-2060
Fax: (248) 370-3170

O'Dowd Hall, Room 372
586 Pioneer Drive
Oakland University
Rochester, Michigan 48309-4482

Department Chairperson

Prof. Jennifer Law-Sullivan 
375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060
law@oakland.edu

Administrative Staff

Ms. Marilyn Uban
Administrative Secretary
373 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2061
uban@oakland.edu
Arabic

FACULTY IN ARABIC

Malik Balla

Adjunct Associate professor
balla@oakland.edu
310 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4604
Dunya Mikhail

Special Lecturer
mikhail@oakland.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
Chinese

FACULTY IN CHINESE

Hsiang-Hua (Melanie) Chang, Ph.D., 张相华

Associate Professor
Advisor for "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University, and GEO and CIEE programs in China, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Taiwan

chang23@oakland.edu
368 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4248

Mingming Liu, Ph.D.刘明明

Assistant Professor
Director of "Spring in Beijing" and Exchange Program at China Foreign Affairs University

mingmingliu@oakland.edu
359 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4357

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Yun Anoop Lee, Ph.D. 李韵婕
Lecturer

yunanoop@oakland.edu

Honors College &
Modern Languages
372 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060

Xue Jiang, M.A. 姜雪
Special Lecturer

xjiang@oakland.edu

Modern Languages
372 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060

Yu (Louis) Liu, M.A. 刘羽
Lecturer
yliu23@oakland.edu

School of Education

Wendy Shyu, Ph.D. 徐黄温玲
Special Lecturer

shyu@oakland.edu

Modern Languages
372 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060


ASIAN PROFESSORS EMERITI


Carlo Coppola
Professor Emerita of Hindi-Urdu
Munibur Rahman
Professor Emeritus of Hindi-Urdu
Amitendranath Tagore
Professor Emeritus of Chinese

Interested in Becoming a Chinese Tutor?  Chinese Tutor Recommendation Policy
French

FACULTY IN FRENCH

Dikka Berven

Special Instructor
Advisor for GEO program in Angers, France,
and CIEE programs in Toulouse, Rennes and Paris, France
dberven@oakland.edu353 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2043
Stacey Hahn

Associate Professor
Director of University of Orléans / Oakland University Exchange Program
shahn@oakland.edu350 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2062
Rebecca Josephy

Assistant Professor
rjosephy@oakland.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2081
Jennifer Law-Sullivan

Associate Professor
Advisor for study abroad program in Montréal, Canada
law@oakland.edu375 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2060

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Bernadette Donohue
Special Lecturer
donohue@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Jamila Doppke
Special Lecturer
doppke@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060
Gina Iafano
Lecturer
iafano@oakland.edu (248) 370-2060 
Elizabeth Williamson
Special Lecturer
williamson@oakland.edu(248) 370-2060 


PROFESSORS EMERITI

Dolores Burdick
Professor Emerita
David Jaymes
Professor Emeritus
German

FACULTY IN GERMAN

Christopher Clason

Professor
Director of the Universität Oldenburg / Oakland University Student Exchange Program

clason@oakland.edu
352 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2063

Anja Wieden

Assistant Professor

wieden@oakland.edu
358 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2071

Robert E. Mottram

Visiting Assistant Professor

mottram@oakland.edu
351 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-3991



ADJUNCT FACULTY

Tanita Ey
Lecturer

ey@oakland.edu133 O'Dowd Hall
Anna Alexander-Marczewski
Lecturer
aalexandermarcz@oakland.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
Cornelia Schaible
Special Lecturer
echaible@oakalnd.edu357 O'Dowd Hall
Ulrike Treder
Special Lecturer
treder@oakland.edu133 O'Dowd Hall

PROFESSORS EMERITI

Jack Barthel
Professor Emerita
Renate Gerulatitis
Professor Emeritus
Barbara Mabee
Professor Emeritus
Jack R. Moeller
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Robert Simmons
Professor Emeritus
Hebrew

FACULTY IN HEBREW

Nira Lev

Lecturer
lev@oakland.edu376 O'Dowd Hall
Italian

FACULTY IN ITALIAN

Caterina Pieri

Special Lecturer
pieri@oakland.edu(248) 370-4304122 O'Dowd Hall
Grzeg Tokarski

Special Lecturer
tokarski@oakland.edu(248) 370-4304122 O'Dowd Hall
Japanese

FACULTY IN JAPANESE

Stephen Filler

Associate Professor
filler@oakland.edu366 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2070
Akiko Kashiwagi-Wood

Assistant Professor
kashiwag@oakland.edu360 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-4565
Seigo Nakao

Associate Professor
Director of Nanzan University / Oakland University Exchange Program,
Advisor for Japan Center for Michigan Universities (JCMU) and CIEE study-in-Japan programs
nakao@oakland.edu354 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2066

ADJUNCT FACULTY

Yukiko Aigbedo
Special Lecturer
aigbedo@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Masako Hirokawa
Special Lecturer
mhirokaw@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Michele Plattenberger
Special Lecturer
plattenb@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Robert Thompson
Lecturer
rethompson@oakland.edu(248) 370-2732111 O'Dowd Hall
Spanish

FACULTY IN SPANISH

Adolfo Campoy-Cubillo

Associate Professor
campoycu@oakland.edu314 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2073
Mary Hartson

Associate Professor
hartson@oakland.edu312 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2001
Daniel Lorca

Associate Professor

lorca@oakland.edu

359 O’Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2007
Juan Martínez Millán

Visiting Assistant Professor
martinezmillan@oakland.edu370 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2068
Aldona Pobutsky

Associate Professor
pobutsky@oakland.edu356 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2069
Raquel Prieta

Assistant Professor of Foreign Language Education
rprieta@oakland.edu370 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2153
Ronald Rapin

Associate Professor
rapin@oakland.edu358 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2074
Cecilia Saenz-Roby

Associate Professor
saenzrob@oakland.edu364 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2072
Julia Urla

Special Instructor
Advisor for GEO and CIEE programs in Spain, Mexico,
Central America, the Caribbean and Latin America
355 O'Dowd Hall
(248) 370-2057


PROFESSORS EMERITI

Estela Moreno-Mazolli
Associate Professor Emerita
Carmen Urla
Professor Emerita


ADJUNCT FACULTY

María Alicandro
Lecturer
mariaalicandro@oakland.edu 
Elizabeth Anderson
Lecturer
eanderso@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129
Fatima Ferreira
Special Lecturer
ferreira@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129 
Tara Gardner
Special Lecturer
gardner@oakland.edu(248) 370-2735
Fernanda Gavaldón
Lecturer
mgavaldon@oakland.edu 
Angela Milliken
Special Lecturer
milliken@oakland.edu(248) 370-2735
Maria Ploof
Special Lecturer
ploof@oakland.edu 
Jose Saenz
Special Lecturer
saenz@oakland.edu(248) 370-2072
Mayra Schmalzried
Special Lecturer
schmalzr@oakland.edu(248) 370-4129
Emily Stow
Special Lecturer
stow@oakland.edu 
Eyda Vaughn
Lecturer of Spanish
eevaughn@oakland.edu 
Holly Walker-Cote
Special Lecturer
walker2@oakland.edu (248) 370-4129