Department of History
Varner Hall, Room 416
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(map)
(248) 370-3510
fax: (248) 370-3528

History Faculty & Staff

Faculty
NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
FAXEMAIL
Associate Professor
Modern Africa, Environment and Development, Identity, Conflict Studies
406 Varner Hall(248) 370-3517(248) 370-3528
Associate Professor
Early Modern France and Europe, Early French Colonial History
412 Varner Hall(248) 370-3526(248) 370-3528
Daniel Clark
Associate Professor
American Labor History, 20th-Century U.S. Social History
407 Varner Hall(248) 370-3532(248) 370-3528djclark@oakland.edu
Erin Dwyer
Assistant Professor
19th-Century U.S., African-American History, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gender and Sexuality, Public History
409 Varner Hall (248) 370-3519 (248) 370-3528 dwyer@oakland.edu
De Witt S. Dykes Jr.
Associate Professor
African-American History, U.S. Urban History, Gender and Family History
414 Varner Hall(248) 370-3522 (248) 370-3528
Todd Estes
Professor and Chair 
American Revolution, Early National Period, Jacksonian America
402 Varner Hall(248) 370-3534(248) 370-3528estes@oakland.edu
Ian Greenspan
Special Lecturer
Early Modern and Modern Europe, Religious and Ethnic Conflict, Antisemitism, Propaganda
455 Varner Hall(248) 370-3518(248) 370-3528
Derek Hastings
Associate Professor
Modern Europe, Germany, Nationalism, Religion and Society
405 Varner Hall(248) 370-3535(248) 370-3528hastings@oakland.edu
Robert Holland
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Modern Europe
455 Varner Hall(248) 370-3518(248) 370-3528holland@oakland.edu
Assistant Professor
Modern China, Sino-Soviet Relations, East Asia
410B Varner Hall(248) 370-3536(248) 370-3528yli23458@oakland.edu
William Londo
Special Lecturer
East Asia, Japan, Religion and Society
453 Varner Hall(248) 370-3516(248) 370-3528londo@oakland.edu
Craig Martin
Professor
Renaissance Europe, History of Science
403 Varner Hall(248) 370-3527(248) 370-3528martin@oakland.edu
Weldon C. Matthews
Associate Professor
Modern Middle East, Nationalism
404 Varner Hall(248) 370-3525(248) 370-3528matthews@oakland.edu
Mary Jo Miles
Special Lecturer
U.S. History
455 Varner Hall(248) 370-3518(248) 370-3528miles@oakland.edu
Karen Miller
Associate Professor
U.S. Public Policy, Diplomatic and Economic History
413 Varner Hall(248) 370-3512(248) 370-3528 kjmiller@oakland.edu
George Milne
Associate Professor
Early American History, Native American History
415 Varner Hall(248) 370-3530(248) 370-3528milne@oakland.edu
Seán Farrell Moran
Associate Professor
Modern Britain, Ireland, History of Ideas, 20th-Century Europe
408 Varner Hall(248) 370-3533 (248) 370-3528moran@oakland.edu
James Naus
Associate Professor
Medieval Europe
402 Varner Hall(248) 370-3531(248) 370-3528naus@oakland.edu
Jeffrey Powell
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Early America, Modern Europe
468 Varner Hall(248) 370-3521(248) 370-3528powell2@oakland.edu
Dale Prentiss
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Economic and Social History
468 Varner Hall(248) 370-3521(248) 370-3528prentiss@oakland.edu
Cara Shelly
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Michigan History
453 Varner Hall(248) 370-3516(248) 370-3528shelly@oakland.edu
Elizabeth Shesko
Assistant Professor
Latin American History, Race and Ethnicity
403 Varner Hall (248) 370-3529 (248)) 370-3528 shesko@oakland.edu 
Bruce Zellers
Special Lecturer
U.S. History, Military History, Korean War
453 Varner Hall(248) 370-3516(248) 370-3528
Staff
NAME/TITLEOFFICE
PHONE
FAXEMAIL
Janet Chandler
Administrative Secretary
416A Varner Hall(248) 370-3510(248) 370-3528chandler@oakland.edu
Johanna McReynolds
Secretary 
416 Varner Hall(248) 370-3511(248) 370-3528jkessler@oakland.edu
Michael Leskoviansky
Graduate Assistant
453 Varner Hall(248) 370-3516(248) 370-3528mjleskoviansky@oakland.edu
Professors Emeriti and In Memoriam

Professors Emeriti

Linda Benson
Professor Emerita
Carl Osthaus
Professor Emeritus
James D. Graham
Professor Emeritus
S. Bernard Thomas
Professor Emeritus 
Mary Karasch
Professor Emerita
Richard Tucker
Professor Emeritus 
Roy Kotynek
Professor Emeritus
 

In Memoriam

Charles W. Akers
Professor Emeritus
Leonardas Gerulaitis
Professor Emeritus
V. John Barnard
Professor Emeritus
W. Patrick Strauss
Professor Emeritus 
Jace Crouch
Special Lecturer
Anne Tripp
Professor Emerita 
Ronald C. Finucane
Distinguished Professor