Menu Menu

Writing Excellence Award 2014

 Writing Excellence Awards 2016

As an undergraduate student currently enrolled at Oakland University, you are invited to submit your writing for the Writing Excellence Awards sponsored by the Department of Writing and Rhetoric. The current competition covers Winter, Summer and Fall 2015.

Papers are accepted in eight categories:

First Year Writing (WRT 102, 150, or 160)

  • Category 1: Rhetorical Essay (Rhetorical Analysis)

  • Category 2: Analytical Essay
  • Category 3: Research Essay

    Upper-level WRT or Writing Intensive

    • Category 4: Research Project

    • Category 5: Creative Non-Fiction
    •  Category 6: Professional Writing

      All Courses

      • Category 7: Multi-media Project 
      • Category 8:  Reflective Project 

      Recommended Submission Periods

      • 2015 Submissions: by January 15, 2016


                  First Place:       $100

                  Second Place:  $75

                  Third Place:       $50

      Submission Guidelines

      Complete and submit the form below. Remove your name and your instructor’s name from the project and send an electronic copy to In the subject line, type Writing Excellence 2016.  

      First Name
      Last Name
      Address 1
      Address 2
      Title of submission
      (Allowed extensions: *.doc, *.docx, *.gif, *.jpeg, *.jpg, *.pdf, *.png, *.ppt, *.pptx, *.rtf, *.txt)
      For online entries such as Youtube videos or web sites, please paste the link:
      By submitting this essay, I certify that it is my own original work and was submitted to the above named course during the semester listed. I also agree that my submission may be reproduced, with minor editorial corrections if necessary, to be shared with faculty and other students.