College of Arts and Sciences
Varner Hall, Room 217
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(map)
(248) 370-2140
Fax: (248) 370-4280
cas@oakland.edu
CAS Advising
Varner Hall, Room 221
371 Varner Drive
Rochester, MI 48309-4485
(map)
(248) 370-4567
casadv@oakland.edu

Committees and Membership

Standing
Committees
BGS Faculty Council
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Commencement Committee
NameE-mailDepartment
Robert Stewartstewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Appointment and Promotion 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Fay Hansen
Mathematics/Sciences
hansensm@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Sean Moran
Humanities
moran@oakland.edu
History
Jennifer Law-Sullivan
Languages/Literatures
law@oakland.edu
Modern Languages and Literatures
Brad Roth
Mathematics/Sciences
roth@oakland.eduPhysics
Kellie Hay
At-Large
hay@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Dorothy Nelson
Social Sciences
danelson@oakland.edu
Sociology, Anthropology, Criminal
Justice and Social Work
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Committee on Instruction 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Sandy Dykstra
Ex Officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Robert Stewart
Ex Officio
stewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Lori Ostergaard
Languages/Literatures
ostergaa@oakland.eduWriting and Rhetoric
Robert Sidelinger
At-Large
sideling@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Melissa Hoag
Humanities
hoag@oakland.eduMusic, Theatre and Dance
Kapila Castoldi
At-Large
castoldi@oakland.eduPhysics
Amy Banes-Bercelli
Mathematics/Sciences
banesber@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Graham Cassano
Social Science
cassano@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Elections Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Sam Srauysrauy@oakland.eduCommunication
Angela Kaiserkaiser@oakland.edu
Social Work
Kuniko Nielsennielsen@oakland.eduLinguistics
Executive Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Anna Spagnuolo
Mathematics/Sciences
spagnuol@oakland.eduMathematics & Statistics
Henri Gooren
Social Science
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work and Criminal Justice
Kathleen Battles
Languages/Literatures
battles@oakland.eduCommunication & Journalism
Karen Miller
Humanities
kjmiller@oakland.eduHistory
Keith Berven
At Large
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Kevin J. Corcoran
Ex-Officio
corcoran@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Graduate Council Representative
NameE-mailDepartment
There are no members entered for this committee
Graduate Studies Committee 2017-18
NameE-mailDepartment
Adina Schneeweis
Languages/Literatures
schneewe@oakland.eduCommunication and Journalism
Wendy Johnson
Social Sciences
wljohnson@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Sandy Dykstra
Ex officio
dykstra@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Robert Stewart
Ex-officio
stewart@oakland.eduCollege of Arts & Sciences
Don Matthews
Social Sciences
matthews@oakland.eduHistory
Lan Jiang
Mathematics/Sciences
jiang23@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Melissa McDonald
Social Sciences
mmmcdonald@oakland.eduPsychology
Evan Trivedi
Mathematics/Sciences
trivedi@oakland.eduChemistry
University Senate 2015-18 CAS membership
NameE-mailDepartment
Arik Dvir
Mathematics/Sciences
dvir@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Eddie Cheng
Mathematics/Sciences
echeng@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Keith Berven
Mathematics/Sciences
berven@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Mary Craig
Mathematics/Sciences
mecraig@oakland.eduBiological Sciences
Amy Banes-Bercelli
Mathematics/Sciences
banesber@oakland.eduMathematics and Statistics
Brad Roth
Mathematics/Sciences
roth@oakland.eduPhysics
Natalie Cole
Languages/Literatures
cole@oakland.eduEnglish
Jeffrey Insko
Languages/Literatures
insko@oakland.eduEnglish
Andrea Eis
Languages/Literatures
eis@oakland.eduEnglish
Niels Herold
Languages/Literatures
herold@oakland.eduEnglish
Dikka Berven    
Languages/Literatures
dberven@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Jennifer Law Sullivan
Languages/Literatures
law@oakland.eduModern Languages and Literatures
Mark Navin
Humanities
navin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
John Corso
Humanities
corso@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Ami Harbin
Humanities
aharbin@oakland.edu
Philosophy
Mark Rigstad
Humanities
rigstad@oakland.eduArt & Art History
Todd Estes
Humanities
estes@oakland.eduHistory
Henri Gooren
Social Sciences
gooren@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
David Dulio
Social Sciences
ddulio@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Jo Reger
Social Sciences
reger@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Jay Meehan
Social Sciences
meehan@oakland.eduSociology, Anthropology,
Social Work & Criminal Justice
Alan Epstein
Political Science
epstein@oakland.eduPolitical Science
Committee
on Instruction
COI Minutes #3, September 28, 2016
COI Minutes #2, September 21, 2016
COI Minutes #1, September 14, 2016


COI Minutes #16, January 29, 2016
COI Minutes #15, January 22, 2016
COI Minutes #14, January 15, 2016
COI Minutes #13, January 8, 2016
COI Minutes #12, December 8, 2015
COI Minutes #11, November 30, 2015
COI Minutes #10, November 23, 2015
COI Minutes #7, November 2, 2015
COI Minutes #6, October 26, 2015
COI Minutes #5, October 19, 2015
COI Minutes #4, October 12, 2015
COI Minutes #3, October 5, 2015
COI Minutes #16, February 19, 2015
COI Minutes #15, February 12, 2015
COI Minutes #14, January 29, 2015
COI Minutes #13, January 22, 2015
COI Minutes #12, January 15, 2015
COI Minutes #11, December 1, 2014
COI Minutes #10, November 24, 2014
COI Minutes #9, November 18, 2014
COI Minutes #8, November 10, 2014
COI Minutes #7, November 3, 2014
COI Minutes #6, October 27, 2014
COI Minutes #5, October 20, 2014
COI Minutes #4, October 13, 2014
COI Minutes #3, October 6, 2014
COI Minutes #2, September 29, 2014
COI Minutes #1, September 22, 2014

COI Minutes 2013-14
COI Minutes #14 April 10, 2014
COI Minutes #13, March 27, 2014
COI Minutes #12, February 6, 2014
COI Minutes #11, January 30, 2014
COI Minutes #10, January 23, 2014
COI Minutes #9, January 16, 2014
COI Minutes #8, December 6, 2013
COI Minutes #7, November 22, 2013
COI Minutes #6, November 15, 2013
COI Minutes #5, November 8, 2013
COI Minutes #4, November 1, 2013
COI Minutes #3, October 25, 2013
COI Minutes #2, October 18, 2013
COI Minutes #1, October 11, 2013

COI Minutes 2012-13
COI Minutes #17, April 11, 2013
COI Minutes #16, April 4, 2013
COI Minutes #15, March 21, 2013
COI Minutes #14, March 7, 2013
COI Minutes #13, January 31, 2013
COI Minutes #12, December 24, 2012
COI Minutes #11, December 6, 2012
COI Minutes #10, November 29, 2012
COI Minutes #9, November 15, 2012
COI Minutes #8, November 8, 2012
COI Minutes #7, November 1, 2012
COI Minutes #6, October 25, 2012
COI Minutes #5, October 18, 2012
COI Minutes #4, October 11, 2012
COI Minutes #3, October 4, 2012
COI Minutes #2, September 27, 2012
COI Minutes #1, September 20, 2012

COI Minutes 2011-12
COI Minutes #20, April 18, 2012
COI Minutes #19, April 11, 2012
COI Minutes #18, April 4, 2012
COI Minutes #17, March 28, 2012
COI Minutes #16, March 21, 2012
COI Minutes #15, February 15, 2012
COI Minutes #14, February 8, 2012
COI Minutes #13, January 25, 2012
COI Minutes #12, January 11, 2012
COI Minutes #11, December 2, 2011
COI Minutes #10, November 18, 2011
COI Minutes #9, November 11, 2011
COI Minutes #8, November 4, 2011
COI Minutes #7, October 28, 2011
COI Minutes #6, October 21, 2011
COI Minutes #5, October 14, 2011
COI Minutes #4, September 30, 2011
COI Minutes #3, September 23, 2011
COI Minutes #2, September 16, 2011
COI Minutes #1, September 9, 2011 

 

Exemplary Syllabi Samples

The following course syllabi were reviewed by the College of Arts and Sciences Committee on Instruction in conjunction with new course proposals and were determined to be exemplary in their design and adherence to the College’s new course guidelines.

HST 379 Islamic Empires, 600-1600

CIN 368 Experimental Filmmaking

New Course Proposal Guidelines

Graduate Studies
Committee
Graduate Studies Committee Minutes 2016-2017
Graduate Committee Minutes #4, March 29, 2017 (Awaiting Approval)
Graduate Committee Minutes #3, February 8, 2017
Graduate Committee Minutes #2, December 5, 2016
Graduate Committee Minutes #1, October 31, 2016
Graduate Studies Committee Minutes 2015-2016