Departments, Programs, Centers

Departments, Programs & Centers

The largest academic unit at Oakland, the college encompasses the arts, humanities and natural, mathematical, and social sciences. In addition, students may select from a wide range of concentrations such as American studies, applied statistics, archaeology, criminal justice, environmental studies, film studies, French studies, religious studies, social work and urban studies to enhance and complement their primary focus.


While each of its 16 departments represents a unique field of study, the college is united by its desire and dedication to educate every student to become a rational and ethical human being, able to engage in critical thinking, utilize analytical skills, and communicate effectively.

 

DEPARTMENTS
Art and Art History307 Wilson Hall(248) 370-3375
art@oakland.edu
Biological Sciences375 Dodge Hall(248) 370-3550
Chemistry260 Science and Engineering Building(248) 370-2320
(248) 370-2321 (Fax)
Communication and Journalism316 Wilson Hall248) 370-4120
(248) 370-4208 (Fax)
English544 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2250
(248) 370-4429 (Fax)
History416 Varner Hall(248) 370-3510
(248) 370-3528 (Fax)
Linguistics320 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2175
(248) 370-3144 (Fax)
Mathematics and Statistics368 Science and Engineering Building(248) 370-3430
(248) 370-4184 (Fax)
Modern Languages and Literatures372 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2060
Music, Theatre and Dance207 Varner Hall(248) 370-2030
(248) 370-2041 (Fax)
Philosophy341 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-3390
(248) 370-3144 (Fax)
Physics190 Science and Engineering Building(248) 370-3416
(248) 370-3408 (Fax)
Political Science418 Varner Hall(248) 370-2352
(248) 370-4299 (Fax)
Psychology111 Pryale Hall(248) 370-2300
(248) 370-4612 (Fax)
Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice

518 Varner Hall(248) 370-2420
(248) 370-4608 (Fax)
Writing and Rhetoric
378 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2746

CENTERS
Center for Applied Research in Musical Understanding (CARMU)308 Varner HallJoseph Shively
(248)-370-2287
carmu@oakland.edu
Center for Biomedical Research166 Hannah HallBrad Roth
(248) 370-4871
(248) 370-2321 (Fax) 
roth@oakland.edu
Center for English as a Second Language319 O'Dowd HallSam Rosenthall
(248) 370-2163
(248) 370-3144 (Fax)
rosenth@oakland.edu
International Studies Program217 Varner HallPaul Kubicek
(248) 370-2363
kubicek@oakland.edu
SPECIAL ACADEMIC PROGRAMS
Biochemistry Program
(Offered by Biological Sciences and Chemistry)
201 Science and Engineering BuildingArt Bull
(248) 370-2347
(248) 370-2321 (Fax)
abull@oakland.edu
Cinema Studies Program 506 O'Dowd Hall     Kyle Edwards
(248) 370-4118
edwards2@oakland.edu
Environmental Science Program289 Science and Engineering BuildingLinda Schweitzer
(248) 370-2092
(248) 370-2321 (Fax)
schweitz@oakland.edu
ESL Endorsement Program320 O'Dowd HallSam Rosenthall
(248) 370-2163
(248) 370-3144 (Fax)
rosenth@oakland.edu
Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies217 Varner HallCynthia Sifonis
(248) 370-2949
sifonis@oakland.edu
Master of Arts in Liberal Studies217 Varner HallSeán Farrell Moran
(248) 370-3533
moran@oakland.edu
Masters in Public Administration421 Varner Hall                         Diane Hartmus
(248) 370-2375
hartmus@oakland.edu
Women and Gender Studies Program217 Varner HallJo Reger
(248) 370-3221
(248) 370-4608 (Fax)
reger@oakland.edu
OUTREACH PROGRAMS
Hispanic Outreach320 O'Dowd Hall(248) 370-2175
(248) 370-3144 (Fax)
CONCENTRATIONS
American Studies523 Wilson HallKathleen Pfeiffer
(248) 370-2255
pfeiffer@oakland.edu
Applied Statistics344 Science and Engineering BuildingRobert Kushler
(248) 370-3445
kushler@oakland.edu
Archaeology526 Varner HallRichard Stamps
(248) 370-2425
stamps@oakland.edu
Criminal Justice518 Varner HallJay Meehan
(248) 370-2420
meehan@oakland.edu
Environmental Studies289 Science and Engineering BuildingLinda Schwietzer
(248) 370-2092
schweitz@oakland.edu
Cinema Studies506 O'Dowd HallKyle Edwards
(248) 370-4118
edwards2@oakland.edu
French Studies419 Wilson HallStacey Hahn
(248) 370-2062
shahn@oakland.edu
Pre-Law425 Varner HallJulie Walters
(248) 370-2352
(248) 370-4299 (Fax)
walters@oakland.edu
Preprofessional Studies in Medicine, Dentistry, Optometry and Veterinary350 Dodge HallKeith Berven
(248) 370-3581
berven@oakland.edu
Religious Studies217 Varner HallAlan Epstein
(248) 370-2358
epstein@oakland.edu
Social Work512 Varner HallLisa Dalton
(248) 370-2426
dalton@oakland.edu
Urban Studies416 Varner HallDe Witt Dykes
(248) 370-3522
dykes@oakland.edu