Menu Menu

News Archive

Monday, April 15, 2013 - Annual Faculty Recognition awards honor excellence
By Katie Land, news editor

Oakland University is home to diverse group of dedicated and renowned faculty who bring real-world research and expertise to the classroom. Each year, the university honors and celebrates academic excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service with the annual Faculty Recognition Luncheon.

The luncheon is traditionally held on Founder’s Day, which honors the memory of university benefactors Alfred and Matilda Dodge Wilson and celebrates the university’s founding in 1957.

“This recognition of the outstanding work that Oakland University faculty perform is one of the most important activities of the university,” said Dr. Susan Awbrey, Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.

“It is through the work of our knowledgeable and dedicated faculty that our students succeed, research goals are met, we serve the needs of our communities, and Oakland University’s reputation grows in distinction. Congratulations to all being honored.”

This year’s event will take place at 11:30 a.m. on Tuesday, April 16, in the Oakland Center Banquet Rooms.

Andrei Slavin
2013 Distinguished Professor

Andrei Slavin, Ph.D.
Department of Physics

Andrei Slavin’s ground-breaking research, outstanding productivity, pre-eminence in scholarship and commitment to mentoring students has brought distinction to Oakland University and merit the rank of Distinguished Professor. He has five publications with more than 100 citations each.

Dr. Slavin’s research focuses on a growing field of physics called “spintronics,” an emerging technology based on the intrinsic spin of the electron and its magnetic moment. In particular, he studies nonlinear excitations in magnetic films called spin waves, which have potential applications in microwave signal processing.

One hallmark of Dr. Slavin’s success in supporting his research is his ability to find a variety of funding sources. he has been awarded more than $1 million from the Department of Defense, including grants from the Army Research office; U.S. Army Tank, Automotive Research, Development, and engineering center (TARDEC); and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).

Read more about Dr. Slavin in the News at OU story

The 2013 honorees include (Honorees are listed in alphabetical order by name within each unit):

College of Arts and Sciences

Kevin Andrews, Ph.D.
Professor of Mathematics
Area of Recognition: Service

Jennifer Vonk, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Psychology
Area of Recognition: Research

Cody Vanderkaay, MFA
Assistant Professor of Art
Area of Recognition: Research and Service

Edward Haworth Hoeppner, Ph.D.
Professor of English
Area of Recognition: Research/Creative Endeavor

Paul Kubicek, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
Area of Recognition: Service

David Garfinkle, Ph.D.
Professor of Physics
Area of Recognition: Research

Elizabeth (Beth) Talbert, M.A.
Special Instructor of Communication
Area of Recognition: Teaching and Service

Dana Driscoll, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Rhetoric
Area of Recognition: Scholarship

Garry Gilbert, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor of Journalism
Area of Recognition: Service

Michael Mitchell, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Music
Area of Recognition: Scholarship

Eye Research Institute

Kenneth Mitton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences
Area of Recognition: Research

School of Business Administration

Austin Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor of Finance
Area of Recognition: Research

Gene Fliedner, D.B.A.
Associate Professor of Production and Operations Management
Area of Recognition: Research

John Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marketing
Area of Recognition: Service

School of Education and Human Services

C. Suzanne Klein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Area of Recognition: Service

S. Rebecca Leigh, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Area of Recognition: Teaching

Michael Macdonald, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Education
Area of Recognition: Research

School of Engineering and Computer Science

Dae-Kyoo Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering
Area of Recognition: Research

Christian Wagner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering
Area of Recognition: Service and Teaching

School of Health Sciences

Tamara Hew, D.P.M., Ph.D., FACSM
Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
Area of Recognition: Research

School of Nursing

Barbara Penprase, Ph.D., RN
Crittenton Endowed Associate Professor of Nursing
Area of Recognition: Teaching and Research

School of Medicine

David Bloom, M.D.
Associate Professor, Radiology and Pediatrics
Area of Recognition: Teaching and Service

2013 Excellence Award Winners

Each year, the Oakland University Senate Teaching and Learning Committee and the University Research Committee honor faculty members whose teaching and research efforts have achieved singular praise or recognition. These individuals receive the Teaching Excellence Award, Research Excellence Award, New Investigator Research Excellence Award or Excellence in Teaching Award for their work. Recipients are chosen based on nominations submitted by Oakland students, faculty and staff, student letters of recommendation, and materials provided by the nominee.

Excellence in Teaching Award

MARK S. Doman, J.D.
Special Instructor of Education
Human Resource Development

Teaching Excellence Award

Barbara Oakley, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering
Industrial and Systems Engineering

Research Excellence Award

Hoda Abdel-Aty Zohdy
Professor of Engineering
School of Engineering and Computer Science

New Investigator Research Excellence Award

Libin Rong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics

Oakland University is a vibrant academic community with nearly 20,000 students and more than 260 degree and certificate programs. To learn more about academics, achievements, and events at OU, visit the news site at and follow the news team on Twitter at @OaklandU_News.