Menu Menu

News Archive

Friday, January 04, 2013 - Nominations accepted for the 2013 Phyllis Law Googasian Award
Phyllis Law Googasian (left) and 2012 recipient Dr. Laila Guessous.
The Oakland University chapter of the American Council on Education Network for Women Leaders is accepting nominations for the 2013 Phyllis Law Googasian Award. 

Given annually since 1992, the award recognizes a member of the Oakland University community who has contributed to the advancement of women at OU and beyond through distinguished leadership, scholarship, advocacy, mentoring, program development or other activities. 

Recent honorees include Dr. Laila Guessous, Dr. Sandra Packard, Dr. Dawn Pickard, Dr. Barbara Hamilton and Jean Ann Miller.

Any member of the OU faculty, including special instructors and lecturers, and administrative professionals or other staff, is eligible for the award. Nominations are welcome from any university employee and must be submitted by Friday, Jan. 25. 

The Googasian Award was created to honor Phyllis Law Googasian, trustee emerita, for her exceptional commitment to the university and to the advancement of women. The 2013 award will be presented at the Googasian Award Luncheon in March.

The Googasian Award nomination form can be downloaded from the website.

Questions regarding the award or the nomination process can be directed to Dr. Jennifer Heisler at (248) 370-4139 or