Menu Menu

News Archive


Friday, June 28, 2013 - Campus community advised of important summer dates

By Kathleen Williams, student writer

As the first summer semester draws to a close, the Oakland University campus community is advised of several important dates. 

Professors must submit Summer I grades by 5 p.m. on Friday, June 28. SAIL will be unavailable due to regular maintenance from 5:30 p.m. Sunday, June 30, through 7:30 a.m. on Monday, July 1. 

Summer II classes begin Monday, July 1. The final day to register online for the Summer II semester is Wednesday, July 3. 

The summer semester is divided into three sessions. Click here for a list of all important dates for summer 2013. Dates for the primary summer sessions are as follows:

  • Session 1: (8 weeks) Monday, May 6, through Saturday, June 22. Final exams run June 24-26.
  • Session 2: (8 weeks) Monday, July 1, through Saturday, August 17. Final exams run August 19-21.
  • Session 3: (16 weeks) Monday, May 6, through Saturday, August 17. Final exams run August 19-24.

There will be no classes and the campus will be closed Thursday, July 4, through Saturday, July 6, for holiday recess. 

The Oakland Center will close at 6 p.m. Wednesday, July 3, and will reopen at 7 a.m. on Monday, July 8. The Recreation Center will be open from 5:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Friday, July 5. 

Oakland University is a vibrant academic community with nearly 20,000 students and more than 260 degree and certificate programs. To learn more about academics, achievements, and events at OU, visit the news site at oakland.edu/newsatou and follow the news team on Twitter at @OaklandU_News.