Menu Menu

April 2014

Wednesday, April 30
   OU hosts 350 area teens for leadership conference (Oakland Press)
   ‘Psychic Surgeons’ Say They Can Operate With Bare Hands (Epoch Times)

Tuesday, April 29
   Local physicians urge parents to have infants and children vaccinated (Oakland Press)
   OU Brings “L’incoronazione di Poppea” To Stage May 8 And 10 (WWJ-CBS)
   Oakland University to Present L'INCORONAZIONE DI POPPEA, 5/8 & 10 (Broadway World)
   MBT in drag with patriotic musical “Andrews Brothers” (Royal Oak Daily Tribune)
   OU Honors College student wins prestigious Fulbright Award (Automation Alley)

Monday, April 28
   Business Experts, Consumers Disagree on Raising Minimum Wage (dBsuiness)
   Oakland University School of Education faculty make the honor roll (Patch)

Saturday, April 26
   Michigan Earth Day Fest this weekend in Rochester (WXYZ)

Friday, April 25
   March of Dimes fund-raising walks set for Sunday across metro Detroit (Free Press)
   Oakland University hosts Student Leadership Conference for 350+ students from 50+ Oakland County schools (Automation Alley)
   Independent 8th District candidate proposes end to zero sum political solutions (WKAR)

Wednesday, April 23
   WSU researchers tackle 'virtually ignored' psychological study of spite (Sciene Codex)
   Partnership teaches medical students to interact with patients with disabilities (Automation Alley)
   From diploma to résumé (C&G News)
   Creative Edge Nutrition Inc. Appoints Dr. David L. Felten, M.D., Ph.D. to Board of Directors (Wall Street Journal)

Tuesday, April 22
   Supreme Court upholds affirmative action ban (Royal Oak Daily Tribune)

Monday, April 21
   Detroit workers speak out against water shutoffs (World Socialist Web Site)
   Seaholm H.S. students explore simulation software with OU's ISE professionals (Noodls)
   OU's Brass Band wins chance to compete in England (Oakland Press)
   Research explores health care support for young adults with ASD (Medical XPress)

Sunday, April 20
   ‘Freckleface Strawberry’ Set To Hit The Stage At Oakland University (WWJ-CBS)

Friday, April 18
   Dearborn-based health program targets obesity prevention in Arab youth (Arab American News)

Thursday, April 17
   Arab-American youth focus of Oakland U nursing school grant (Metro Media)

Wednesday, April 16
   Birmingham high school students learn engineering concepts at Oakland University (Oakland Press)

Tuesday, April 15
   More schools open special programs to students from other districts (Oakland Press)

Monday, April 14
   Oakland University School of Nursing awarded nearly $73,000 for Arab American health project (Automation Alley)
   OU Brass Band brings home awards in international competitions (Noodls)

Sunday, April 13
   Internship shouldn't be a learning experience for company (Crain's)

Saturday, April 12
   Oakland University co-founder honored during Women in History Month (Oakland Press)

Friday, April 11
   OU professor’s iBook series promotes inclusion in music class (

Thursday, April 10
   Oakland Symphony Orchestra to perform “Carmina Burana” during final concert of the season (Noodls)

Wednesday, April 9
   Orion builds business with Beaumont (Clarkston News)
   OU students prepare for medical mission to Nicaragua (Oakland Press)

Tuesday, April 8
   Dearborn man exemplifies excellence in nursing (Dearborn Press & Guide)
   Oakland University Music, Theatre and Dance MaTilDa Awards Set for this Weekend (Broadway World)

Wednesday, April 2
   Car plunges into Bear Lake at Oakland University (Oakland Press)
   Female Congress members toughest on GM CEO Barra (Detroit News)
   6 questions you SHOULD ask about her ex (
   Best of the best: Fun things to do April 3-9 (Free Press)
   Special workshops for the film industry (My20)